Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location (for us)

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Its location is ideal for us visiting family nearby; it is in a quiet, pleasant area and easily accessed.
Having stayed here before the recent changes and during refurbishment work, there were some doubts - these quickly cleared and this visit allayed any concerns. From first contact to departure, everything ran smoothly and staff members were efficient, pleasant and most helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. The recent refurbishment has been carried out to a good standard and our room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

GREAT LOCATION,CAR PARK,CLEAN ROOMS,GOOD VALUE.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Price/Location/Car Park
Cons: Noise Level during Refurb!
Location: Handy for M25,Local restaurants & not too far to tube station
Third time at this Hotel in the last 6 years,currently undergoing some modernisation & refurb.This did cause a little disruption,should be finished in a couple of months.Rooms very Clean,Good Safe car Park,15 minutes easy drive from M25/M11 Junction. 15 minutes comfortable walk to tube station.We paid £26.50 Per person per night in August on a room only basis. 7 Adults in 3 Rooms.Good value at this,would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Happy Camper from Devon

Hidden Surprise

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
SO, I'd read the reviews and it was with some trepidation that I booked at the County Hotel, but it was the most convenient hotel for the event we were attending. I need not have worried. The hotel , having undergone major refurbishment, was a delight. Sure some parts still need a little work, but they are getting there. Check in was efficient. the room was modern, spotless and most importantly comfortable. Facilities in the room were good and the wifi service fast. Breakfast was of a good standard, with a well stocked buffet and a freshly cooked 'full English'. Would I recommend the County Hotel? YES!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

GREAT hotel, but far from he city center

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Staff and room :)
Location: It's pretty close to restaurants and shopping in wood ford but not close at all the the historical sites in London
Really nice large room. Great, friendly and helpful staff. This hotel was on the last underground stop out of town and then it was either a 25-30 minute walk or £5 taxi ride to the hotel from there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carnforth

Pleasant 3day stay.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cons: Showing that breakfasts are available on the menu found in the room. There is no information anywhere.
stayed in room 205,a newly refurbished room, very pleasant decor,but quite noisy at weekend,well it is Essex!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wends from braintree

Very comfortable bed, i loved the sheets.

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was my partners 50th Birthday. We had enjoyed ourselfs. done an excellent job with refurb very high standard of cleanliness apart from the bathroom! that was good and satisfactory. will recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maz_67 from Newport, Wales

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a lovely hotel, we stayed there for our weekend trip into London. It took us about an hour on the tube to get to the places we needed to. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The surrounds were nice, very quite and relaxed. We had a twin room which was clean, spacious and comfortable. We would definatley stay there when we visit again, highly recommend it to other visitors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff were slow, inconsiderate and very rude.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
They gave away my room as I checked in a hour later than their usual check in time. My point to them was regardless if I check in or not, the room should be mine. I had to then go home and return in the morning to which I had to wait a hour and a half before my room was ready. The staff and managers just spew nonsense about terms and conditions. Not helpful. Not considerate. Very selfish as they stop caring after they've taken your "non-refundable" payment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Saqib Deen from Glasgow

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was under refurbishment however this never bothered me as it was priced competively and I never heard much noise from the works getting carried out. Close to where I needed to be so in the ideal location.