Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westcliff on sea

Shabby

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Room was tired shabby dingy .carpet stained bed uncomfortable. Not worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

ok stay at chigwell

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: room decor
Location: not much
Stayed one night here, was looking foreward to it as the pictures looked great, however, the standard room we were given (312) was right at the back somewhere and was just a bit tatty, im sure originally it was 4 star, but not now, reception staff very nice though. Nothing in the surrounding area of particular merit but the ' Ghandi' indian restaurant was ok. Wont stay here again but there again theres not much choice if you have to stay in Chigwell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portugal

Prince Regent Chigwell

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Was overall impressed, staff very friendly and helpful and the facilities and breakfast were good. Only criticism was the sofabed for my daughter was very lumpy so not comfortable would suggest the hotel provide a matress topper for a more confortable sleep!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Must have been a good hotel in the past...........

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Investing some money in maintenance and decor
Location: This was busy business rip and we didn'y have time to experience the local attractions
The hotel was frankly in need of some timely reconditioning, worn paintwork, threadbare carpets, dented lift doors, basically showing it's age. It was clean and it looked as though our room and bath room had been refurbished recently. Restaurant food was not good and choice limited. Breakfast food was good but we had to ask several times for butter (they had run out..!) bacon, and eggs. Staff very friendly and helpful but not in a 4 star hotel way. To be honest it was a disapointing experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Dirty damp smelling room with a broken toilet.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Matt the manager tried very hard to resolve any issues regarding the broken toilet and unhelpful staff. We were given alternative rooms
Cons: Front of house costumer satisfaction warm welcome try to accommodate or at least listen before rattling of pre programmed answer.
Unfortunately our first room was as described in the title. However worse than that was the total lack of help from the receptionist when we tried to upgrade to a family room. she refused to help us and we're told to deal with Expedia directly. Eventually after elevation the issue to senior management we were given the option of a put up bed in a double room. Which was in the older part of the hotel. the room look tired smelt damp and then the toilet broke. When I asked for some reassurance from reception as to the toilet being fixed she said "I don't know I not a Plummer" I tried to get some assurance as we were about to go out but she kept repeating her pre programmed answer " I don't know I'm not a Plummer" ..... Then the taxi that reception ordered for us didn't arrive.... And so on and so on.... Really disappointing and frustrating experience at my expense!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to a friend's wedding I attended

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very nice and clean room. Was a twin bed for 2 people but the beds were pushed together so it looked like a double bed. Not suitable if you are sharing with siblings! Facilities well stocked so no need for additional supplies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short visit to London

Posted Jul 9, 2014
About a 20-25 minute walk, safe, from the Tube. One hour total to get into London. Enjoyable trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballymena

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Terrific staff, comfortable room, excellent food, gracious garden.
Cons: Shelf for toiletries in shower.
Location: Small shopping area and pub nearby. Bus from almost in front of hotel to Woodford tube station.
I would highly recommend this hotel. I was on my own so occupied a single room which was small but well equipped (flat screen TV, iron, safe, tea/coffee making), comfortable and very clean. The hotel specialises in functions but I was never disturbed by jollity or noise. The environs are beautiful, a lovely garden that I enjoyed wandering round. The breakfast is first rate - there is a hot buffet that is really hot with some items cooked to order and a good cold selection - and the restaurant in the evening which I availed of twice is excellent. However the main bonus is the quality of the staff. They are genuinely warm, friendly and helpful, from the management to the receptionists, the restaurant and bar staff and housekeeping they all made my stay a positive pleasure. If I am in the area again I would not stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
staff and location excellent rooms a little dated and small. Would recommend but rooms are 3 star not four
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible water pressure, hot water not hot enough to bathe in, room above kitchen/restaurant doors so constant banging throughout the dinner and breakfast service times, windows opened above patio with people chatting/smoking below all evening. Outdated and tatty decor.