Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales

Lovely oldy-worldy hotel in the Cotswolds

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Only single complaint would be the fact that our double bed had a 'zip and link' mattress which was quite uncomfortable.
Location: Visit numerous Cotswold villages nearby. Recommend Bourton on Water and Lower Slaughter.
Fabulous staff and fabulous facilities. Extremely comfortable and welcoming and makes for a very relaxing short break location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham

Your gateway to the Cotswolds

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Lovely hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms well equipped and comfortable. Delicious food but be prepared to pay a little more for it. Great location to explore the Cotswolds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Malvern

30 years later

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The old fashion charm is not lost in this modern world but still with luxury of today.
Location: Situated right in the middle of a busy Cotswold town. Which was spotless and we'll looked after.
Having toured this hotel 30 years ago while at college I have always wanted to return, which I did with my husband to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary and I must say it lived up to expectations. The weather was with us and we spent a very relaxing few hours sat in the courtyard listening to the water fountain and sampling the bar menu and drinks. I must say the afternoon tea looked really tempting and we already have plans to return to try it. The hotel was spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. Thank you all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Beautiful hotel gorgeous setting

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The restaurant is fantastic the food is beautiful and very reasonable, Luke's next door food fab sat outside in the sunshine perfect ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Tour groups, live by the sword die by the sword.
Location: Broadway is a beautiful village in the Cotswolds. Flower gardens everywhere you turn. Hiking, pubs and restaurants, antiques, shopping.
If you're looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, you might want to pass on the Lygon Arms. I understand air conditioning is not possible in some historic old hotels,so you have to open your balcony door. When a busload of people descend on the reception area, and drag their bags through the stone floored courtyard at some ungodly hour the next morning, you feel the value for price is just not there. Perhaps in cooler weather, when everything is closed up and cozy(hopefully) it's worth it. Staff was full spectrum; from tremendously friendly and helpful, to stuffy and can't be bothered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley

Posted May 27, 2014
Charming hotel, helpful staff and lovely small town for dining and boutique shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gerry from Bucks

Good Location; excellent food and helpful and frie

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable stay. Lovely hotel with excellent staff. Good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East London

Lovely hotel for two day pre-Easter break

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: rooms, staff, gardens, Wisteria and breakfast
Cons: find a way of turning off the radiator in one of our rooms. It was on permanently so we had the windows open - v wasteful of energy
Location: Broadway is a pretty 'honey coloured' Cotswold village but very mono-cultural and 'County Set' . Good for visiting Stratford upon Avon
A traditional English hotel with friendly staff and interesting rooms. Gorgeous gardens, rooms overlooking a courtyard, mullion windows and snugs with flagstone floors. The Wisteria was out so the hotel looked gorgeous. Took 83 year old mother, 15 year old son and 12 year old daughter for two night break to treat my mum. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but breakfast was excellent including the eggs Benedict. Spa and steam room were lovely too though they restricted hours that children could use it (this was not mentioned on website) The rooms were very unusual, comfortable, clean and staff very pleasant. The hotel is clearly aimed at the American market as it promotes a particular aspect of Englishness...something I rail against usually but nice for change....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BPE from Sherington

Still a Classic

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff, Dinner, Wine, Room, Towelling Robe, Character.
Cons: Give more love to the Spa, redecorate the great hall and have music in the there in the evening.
Location: Broadway is just a genuine old classic which can afford to be pricey but you'll still go!
Last visited in Savoy days and it is still such a classic. Okay, so the steam room was out of order and the sauna was not hot enough (in the Spa which needs some love), and reception is full of modern "guests" who expect something for nothing, but basically the Staff are lovely and the food at dinner was delicious (trio of lamb stunning), the wine was good value (really nice Californian Merlot for £23-ish) and we had an old room full of character in one of the prettiest large villages in the world.