Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Federal Way, WA

Okay but a bit pricey

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Location: Location is excellent
Nice hotel but a bit over priced. Could be about 30 pounds less. But of course you are in the Cotswolds, so I guess they can over charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

A Memorable Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Full of old world charm with great atmosphere, attentive staff and an all round good experience.
Location: The village of Broadway is an interesting place to stay in the Cotswolds and a good base for visiting other surrounding picturesque villages.
What a delightful hotel, full of old world charm situated in the beautiful village of Broadway. Our room was really cosy, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was served in an amazing dining room with an extensive choice of food to suit all tastes; we were pleasantly surprised. A memorable stay, we would recommend it and hope to return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lancashire

Very good hotel shops etc very handy, lovely area

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself was beautiful to look at as it was very old, the bedroom was quite small but it was clean and comfortable and staff helpful.
Cons: Not a lot it just little things that would be more helpful.b
Location: Beautiful location, plenty of history in that area and lots of walks.
Visited quite a few villages in the surrounding are lots of interesting things to see. Broadway itself is beautiful and there are some interesting walks also. We had not been for quite a while so it was lovely to see it hadn' t changed too much.th
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

poor hotel - great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
An incredibly dated property with very rude staff. The only redeeming feature was the location (the village is beautiful).The room I was allocated did not bear any resemblance to any images on the website and there was significant noise from other guests passing by until the early hours of the morning. The Wood Norton approx 5 miles away is a far superior property with exceptional service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gordon Murrayfrom Perth, Australia

Old World Charm and Character

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great, location , Hotel has a lot of character and old world charm. Was disappointed in the size of the room and facilities provided. Food in the restaurant was ordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cardiff, Wales

Lovely oldy-worldy hotel in the Cotswolds

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Only single complaint would be the fact that our double bed had a 'zip and link' mattress which was quite uncomfortable.
Location: Visit numerous Cotswold villages nearby. Recommend Bourton on Water and Lower Slaughter.
Fabulous staff and fabulous facilities. Extremely comfortable and welcoming and makes for a very relaxing short break location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Horsham

Your gateway to the Cotswolds

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Lovely hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms well equipped and comfortable. Delicious food but be prepared to pay a little more for it. Great location to explore the Cotswolds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Malvern

30 years later

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The old fashion charm is not lost in this modern world but still with luxury of today.
Location: Situated right in the middle of a busy Cotswold town. Which was spotless and we'll looked after.
Having toured this hotel 30 years ago while at college I have always wanted to return, which I did with my husband to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary and I must say it lived up to expectations. The weather was with us and we spent a very relaxing few hours sat in the courtyard listening to the water fountain and sampling the bar menu and drinks. I must say the afternoon tea looked really tempting and we already have plans to return to try it. The hotel was spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. Thank you all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Simonfrom Chichester, UK.

It could be a great hotel...

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The positives - an interesting building in a good location, friendly helpful staff, smart communal areas and the pool/spa is a nice bonus. On the downside - our room was nothing like any of the pictures! I'd gone for a 'premium' room which wasn't cheap (admittedly a July Friday) but was extremely disappointed with what we were given (No 26). There was certainly nothing premium about it. To their credit the staff upgraded us to a better room without fuss or charge. Unfortunately however this new room was so hot that neither of us got much sleep - even with windows wide open and two fans going. And it wasn't even an especially warm night outside! We only had breakfast in the hotel and that was ok but nothing special. Perhaps we were just unlucky this time but all in all not what I was hoping for. With some thought and investment The Lygon Arms could be very special. However, for the moment, if asked if I'd stay there again I'd have to say 'no'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Angela Cousinsfrom Oxfordshire

Everytthing we had hoped for

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family party to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday was a real success. Amongst our guests were six young lads under fourteen, who were also made very welcome and said what a great day they had had. The Russell Room suited us very well - food and service excellent....and as for the wonderful birthday cake!!! Thanks to all who helped to create such a happy day for us.