Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by francesco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lyn and Joel from Seattle

Lovely hotel close to the center

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Clara Luna is a very comfortable hotel close to the main park and has been newly remodeled. Our king bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. The shower was not as warm as we would have liked at times but we were told that they were repairing the boiler. The breakfast menu was varied and satisfying. We stayed for six nights and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Montreal

Quiet and well located

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Room size and location of hotel
Location: Not far from zocalo and major restaurants and caf├ęs. Far from Museum of Anthropology (like almost other hotels of Jalapa).
Quiet and well located (not far from zocalo and restaurants). Huge room with recent furnitures. From the room, view on an unused parking lot. Only negative point: strong odor from a disinfectant (need few hours to remove with window open).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerry M. from Santa Cruz, CA

Pretty Good, But Cold

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed 5 nights in a king room. It was November, rainy, with daytime temps in the 50s and low 60s. The lobby and breakfast room are adjacent to a patio that is open to the outdoors. Both were very cold. We wore our coats to breakfast. Our room was a little warmer but what we thought was a heater was actually only an air-conditioner. When we finally asked, we were given a space heater, so the last 2 nights were better. There was hot water in the morning only, not afternoon or evening. Apart from the cold problem, the hotel was comfortable enough. The room was spacious. The staff was very accommodating and nice, and a few of them spoke English. Hot breakfast was very good. The location is on a busy street, but the rooms are quiet. It's a few blocks from the old part of town, which is where you will spend most of your time. Be sure to visit the superb anthropology museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Oakland, CA

Beautiful, quiet retreat near the zocalo

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Safes for valuables in the rooms
Location: Pleasant, safe location in the historic district only 5 minutes walk from the zocalo
Hotel Clara Luna is a jewel--a boutique hotel at a very reasonable price. All the staff go out of their way to make the guest feel at home. The owners have created a unique decor by furnishing a modern and spacious interior with some of their own European antiques.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marina. from TX

Great hotel for the price!

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Rooms were nicely renovated.
Cons: I would recommend them to get small coffee machines for each room. Coffee drinkers need coffee as soon as they wake up!!!
Location: Great location! Only a few miles from the Museum of Anthropology. Walking distance to restaurants.
It was close to everything. Staff was very nice and attentive. Rooms are big, and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Pragmatic from Connecticut

close to all must-see sights

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was extremely clean and very well located. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. The price was also very reasonable for the class of hotel and the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

quality of the room

Posted Feb 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
overall i think was a great experience. I do have something to point out that the air condition wasnt working by the time of my arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricardo from West Hartford, CT. USA

Xalapa stay at downtown.

Posted Nov 17, 2012
All staff very accommodating and helpful. Very clean. A little bit of problem with water pressure in the shower but not awful at all. You will survive this just fine. Another small issue was the dogs barking or housing in the distance to sirens of police cars or ambulances driving by. Besides these small issues, very centric, about 2 blocks away from the town center, where there is much more noise and traffic. It was a great deal with breakfast and parking included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This was one of the best it had great service,

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a great hotel, the rooms were clean it had great art work made my mr lee the owner and his wife ms Martha was so nice they made me feel like home. I really liked the service I received thank you mr and mrs lee