Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay Area

Front desk staff lack training and supervision

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The five star looks
Cons: The second rate front staff lacking basic training and professional education.
Location: Aside from going in and out through front revolving door, you can go around and get to a supermarket nearby if you don't mind the usual local crowd.
Checking in process was a nightmare, as we waited to see the front desk staff who seemed to receive ones got closest to them and ignore the ones waiting in line. We were later interrupted and surrounded by unruly hotel guests. Front desk staff didn't intervene, as they either didn't know what to do or didn't feel it was their business and responsibility on the hotel premise. Supervisor next to them didn't seem to care what was going on and ignored our complaint, and let her inexperience staff act on their own. Guests were forced to go in and out the vast lobby through the only door, the revolving front one. The back entrance and business center were locked during business hours and no explanation was given. The usual greetings and smiles disappeared during the evening hours, as the bell boy and girl standing inside the revolving door stared at you and sized you up, another sign of lacking training and supervision. In general you get a world class hotel feel but when it comes to professionalism of staff, you are reminded of a third world country, and local standards prevail. In the event of emergency, it's hard to imagine getting out safe from the revolving front door (assuming electricity is still there to operated it).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom München

gute Lage für Geschäftsreisende.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: die lage und der schöne Blick aus den oberen Stockwerken-
Cons: Vorschläge wie man Personal trainiert!!
Location: zentrale Lage, Restaurants in der Nähe.
ich komme wegen der Lage immer wieder hier her und es neren immer die gleichen Dinge. Die Reseption ist generell on unprofessionellen Mitarbeitern besetzt, kaum Englisch, langsam und umständlich, man muss viel Zeit und Geduld einkalkulieren.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom München Germany

gute Lage

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: die Lage
Cons: qualifiziertes Personal an der Reseption!!!!!
die Reseption ist mit einem unwissenden Lehrling besetzt, es dauert 20 Minuten um ein im Voraus bezahltes Zimmer zu finden und dann steht man wieder vor der Tür weil der Schlüssel nicht funktioniert. Hotel sieht schön aus, Staff ist recht nervig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shihhsinfrom Taiwan

舒適的酒店

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
舒適的酒店
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shih-hsinfrom Taiwan

舒適的酒店

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
房間舒適度很好,推薦的好飯店。
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marvin Liufrom Taiwan

Very excellent !!!

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is excellent. The room space is nice and clean. The bed is very comfortable!!!!! Coffee machine with coffee in the room that is a nice surprise!! I will come again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lisa. lfrom nyc

West in Xiamen

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel , not great choice for business stay. English only good at front desk, food looks good tastes terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Garryfrom Melbourne

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in China only down side is that sometimes it is hard to get a taxi from.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom China

Sleepless in Xiamen

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Having finished a day of factory tours for work on a saturday the one thing I was looking forward to was a good rest and sleep before a day of tourism at Xiamen. That wonderful thought was brushed to the side the moment I settled into bed after a shower - the sound of clubbing could be heard through the windows of the hotel. Upon asking for a room change, i realized that was the quiet side of the hotel. The other side had more clubbing and the drone from a highway. Unfortunately the staff then failed to see my problem and I moved back to room one. Had the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel and woke the next day with a huge headache only to see black mould on the skirting of a wall in the room. five stars out of five for disappointing experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Toronto

Not good for the price.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Was expensive compared to others. Booked it because it was relatively new and wanted a nice experience. The bathtub had mold around the edges. Yes mold around the edges. And not a small amount. Not sure how that goes unnoticed by housekeeping but it was there. Mirror by the bath was discolored. The tv would blow fuses in the room regularly, and as a result I woke up with my cellphone not charge. Not a great way to start the business day. The wifi didnt work. The staff was what you would expect from a Westin, professional, pleasant and the best part of this hotel. This place would be great if it wasnt the most expensive one in its class. The offered to compensate on the next night but i was done...