Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sammy and Nancy

Beautiful Hotel - Good Location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Cons: Room was a bit small. No where really to put anything
Location: Within walking distance to shopping / tourist area, Bell Tower, Drum Tower and main (south) gate of ancient city wall
There is almost no place to fault the Grand Mercure. Beautiful Hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, and the food is amazing. Our room was a bit small, but all together I don't know how we could have found a better hotel. We stayed 5 nights and were also given access to facilities at Sofitel hotel next door - pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan

Comfortable stay

Posted May 6, 2014
Although this hotel is only a 4 star, it is located in a compound with other 5 star hotels, so there is access to all of the other hotel's amenities and restaurants. The location is a bit further to the main attractions than I expected, we walked about 1.5 km to get to the drum and bell towers and muslim square. We didn't find many local restaurants just outside the compound, so we ate at one of the hotel restaurants. The food was good but pricier than other places locally. The front desk staff were great offered us a free room upgrade as their regular rooms are quite small. The room was comfortable to stay in and clean, and it was nice to have some English channels on the TV. We had breakfast at the hotel buffet one day, which was delicious and had a great selection of food. It would have been great if the front desk staff had let us know that breakfast was included in our stay. We didn't find out until we left so we missed out on one of our breakfasts.
3 out of 5
by reza from FLL

Room was ok but noisy!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The room was clean but it was facing a sports arena which hosted school activities... There was a woman screeching in the speakers the whole time I was there in Chinese and the roar of the crowd intermittently. If you choose this hotel make sure you are not facing the arena!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sammy from Australia

Convenient and Charming

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: 1. Convenient location 2. Comfortable bed
Cons: 1. Better tea & coffee making facilities - don't be too stingy
Location: 1. Drum/Bell Tower 2. Magnificent Muslim Street with great atmosphere and great food 3. Xi'an City Wall
The Grand Mercure is part of a group of 4 hotels located at Renmin Square. When showing the taxi driver the Address in Chinese (obtained from Mercure website)- he does not know where it is. I Suggest either get a Chinese Address for Renmin Square it self, or Sofitel Hotel (one of the hotel within the Square). The hotel it self is nice and clean- comfortable bed, enough rooms to move. We stayed there for 2 nights. The Square it self is quite interesting, with up to half dozen restaurants within the compound. This hotel is quite close to the Muslim Quarters/Bell Tower, and to Xi'an Railway Station (for those who would like to take a bus to see Terracotta Warriors). The concierge we pleasant enough- most spoke fluent English. They also have money changing facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ania from Netherlands

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Brisbane, Australia

Great hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Had two nights in Xian and loved this hotel - great value and good location. The shared Sofitel facilities were really good. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by World Traveler from Nanjing, China/USA

Very nice hotel and not too expensive.

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Nice hotel, location was nice, and hotel was priced well.
Cons: Breakfast is too expensive so we skipped it.
Location: Muslim street is a short walk away.
Reserved two rooms for our family. Hotel was very nice for the price. Front desk spoke English very well. They helped us to arange a car for the day. That worked out very nice and the driver was very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nike from fresno, ca

nice hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Will stay at this hotel again and again. Love it! !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shannon from Florida

Comfy bed and friendly staff

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfy beds, friendly staff -- some of whom speak English, always a plus in China. Walkable to Bell Tower and Drum Tower. Good food next door at Sofitel. Felt it was in very safe neighborhood. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MD from Sheffield

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two night in September 2013 and found the hotel to be a great place to stay during our visit to Xi'An. Although we hadn't booked a room with breakfast we were upgraded on arrival which was a very welcome surprise. The hotel was clean and comfy and within easy walking distance of the shopping streets, muslim quarter and bell tower. Overall a great place to stay.