Ratings based on 900 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
The staff was pleasant and very cordial; they aim to please and know they aren't the only show in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Great luxury family vacation with young kids (7 and 10). Amazing pools, nice beach. Good evening entertainment, nice restaurants and kids loved swimming with the dolphins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great resort in a beautiful location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Facilities and amenities. Location
Cons: Food and restaurant reservation.
Location: Cenotes, amusement parks, archeological, historical sites.
The resort was amazing. Plenty of activities, great pools, beautiful beach. Hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, but a little bit too humid, maybe because it was on the ground floor, not receiving much sunlight. Also, food was good, but not excellent, especially at restaurants. Restaurant reservation was tough, particularly the day of arrival. Available time slots were often either quite early (5:30 - 6:00) or quite late (9:00). I'd suggest to make your reservations for the next 3 nights right upon arrival. We preferred the two buffets: they offered plenty of choice. Wi-fi was at an additional cost. There's a regulation size basketball court next to the tennis courts. That was great for my son who could practice and play every day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Recently stayed at the Maya palace deluxe. Beautiful grounds, great food,great service, and great stay. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very well done facility, with covered exterior walkways. Food good for an all inclusive. Snorkeling nice on a small scale: turtles, Rays, tropical fish on a small reef area. Beach nice for sitting, but actual entry into the ocean a little rocky in spots. You have to search out proper entry area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NYC

Great vacation stay!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: very quiet compared to the other hotels in this resort, provide bottled water, get access to other buffets and restaurants
Cons: more variety of snacks in the rooms
Location: shopping? go to playa de carmen, touring? Chichen Itza and the other water parks at Xcaret or Xel Ha
Go for the all-inclusive deal! It's definitely worth it. Unlimited food and drinks at any time. Variety was plentiful. Comfy hotel room, had all the amenities you needed, plus a mini-fridge with drinks and snacks. All the staff was very helpful and nice, although some do expect tip for their service...there was so much to do there! snorkeling, kayaking, wind surfing, swimming in the pool, etc! All the equipment was there, free of charge, aside from the motorized sports. This resort had 5 hotels all in one place! There was also a shuttle that takes you to the other hotels as well. Lots of scheduled activities to do there, although I didn't have enough time to do any of them. Maya Palace Deluxe was definitely a lot quieter than the other hotels. I don't think it had as many activities as the other hotels either, BUT the food was definitely better than all the other hotels. I was able to try out all the food in the other buffets and Maya Palace had the best variety. The beds aren't as hard as the reviews had said they were.....unless they decided to change all the bed mattresses since so many people were complaining about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB Canada

Beautiful Idealic Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: How clean it was and it had everything you needed for your comfort. Pools accommodated all age categories. Great pool service staff always providing
Cons: The mattresses on the beds. I was disappointed we did not have any view of the ocean just bushes but if they cut them down then you'd be looking at
Location: Nothing was near but their was transportation inside of the resort to go to the Mall, splash park, Dolphins and spa as well as other fun activities.
Hotel and staff were all extremely accommodating helpful whenever possible. Fernando and his girlfriend from Coral were always greeting us with smiles and provided excellent service. The Hotel and Resort are huge so if you have limitations I would suggest pre arranging a walker or wheelchair as all rooms are quite far away. The pools and area were extremely clean and very well kept. Rooms were beautiful but beds were hard. Had hip pains after sleeping on them. Book your suppers at the French and Italian restaurants as it was worth it to enjoy the special treatment away from the Banquet room. I would stay here again for sure as my pictures show an idealic paradise and it was. Thank you Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Stay away!! Stealing from room

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Beach
Cons: Customer Service ,Food ,Beds
Location: none
I had my Rolex stolen from my room !!! I Reported the missing Watch to front desk answer was they can't be involved in this situation Bed were really bad I couldn't sleep at all Food terrible not a 41/2 start I consider this a 3 star Hotel with 5 star price
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach

Disneyland of Mexico

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The room was spacious and they had a wonderful long built in bench with drawers for 2 luggages to sit on. There was also 2 closets.
Cons: Activities, menu, guest staff. Reservations req. at all restaurants. But only in person, even though there is a reservations ext. #. Hard to get help.
Location: Great location to all the fun stuff! You are a $3 Collectivo (bus) ride from Tulum, Akumal (turtle beach), and across the street from 5 Cenotes!
This place is Disneyland huge. Too many families & kids 8-18! It takes 10-15mins to get anywhere. There is actually a bus that makes stops throughout the 5 resorts. The hotel restaurants are overstaffed but guest services is understaffed. There are a lot of observations I made throughout my trip, and the hotel has some very inefficient services. Poor signage, you can get lost very easily. The room numbers and elevator and not numbered logically at all. Elevator- (1) (0) (-1). We were in room 8270 which is the 3rd floor. Is there anything in that number that tells me it's the third floor? Why not 8370? Honestly! Daily activities schedule was limited. Never knew where pilates was the whole time I was there. Someone said ask the pool activities director. Why would it be outside? The spa is actually at another hotel completely. They should mention that when you book to see if you want to do it on site on the beach or pool so you don't have to get the bus to the Colonial. The food was so mediocre and the fine dining a la carte restaurants are not fine dining at all and the left overs get recycled into the buffets. The buffets were sometimes better. The french restaurant has surf and turf (actually all of them do). Surf and turf is NOT FRENCH! Rodizio Brasilian BBQ and Pasta has a salad bar in it as well as the Caribbean Seafood restaurant. We were not allowed to order pasta and a BBQ entree, it was either or. How bizarre coming from a all-inclusive. Hidden charges everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice All Inclusive beach hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Beautiful, large sprawling property. All the restaurants at the Barcelo Palace have outdoor ocean view seating with spectacular views.
Cons: Training in customer service for reception staff and guest services staff. The wait staff and bartenders were all very good.
Great hotel, beautiful grounds, great staff except reception and guest services staff, they are rude, abrupt and poorly trained with no authority to act for themselves. Once we found the reception manager, we were finally listened to and treated respectfully. The hotel is very large so expect to do lots of walking, but if you have limited abilities, I would suggest a smaller property. If you are active, like we are however, the walking paths were great exercise right along the ocean. The food in the buffet restaurants is better than most AI's we have stayed at before and the other theme restaurants were better than any we have experienced at AI's in Mexico. The Caribe and the French restaurant were both wonderful. Often at AI's it feels like the food just comes out of the same kitchen as the buffets, but not so here.