Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, Wa.

One day stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: the room
Cons: they could add cottage cheese to the breakfast
Location: well located, very well loacted
The room was clean, quiet, well equipped with microwave and little frig and cable tv. Nice big bathroom and good parking. Except for the weather, freezing and icy it was a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old apartment building

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing, though the cleaning staff was nice to work w/ me in getting a new room
Cons: Everything. It's not a hotel, it's an old apartment building turned into a hotel
I travel a great deal here in the US and all over Europe and this is the first time I've written about a stay at a hotel somewhere. I usually, look at the top 3 priced hotels in that area and work it from there. I paid $139.000 which was the second highest price in the Yakima area. My first room was a smoke pit and I felt like I inhaled a carton of cigarettes, the TV was about 20 years old and the carpet was old and nasty. Overall, everything in that room had to be smoke cleaned and every appliance updated. The staff, was nice to me and they moved me to the other side of the building.The room that placed me in was a little better w/ no smoke and the tv updated to today's standards but still the rooms are terrible. The building itself is an old 1960's style type of apartment turned into a "hotel". This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle area

Not a 3-star hotel, basics met. RENOVATION NEEDED!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Basic needs met. Nothing was broken, dripping or dysfunctional except the funky TV. Comfy bed with lots of pillows. Nice towels. Room size adequate.
Cons: MAJOR renovation needed to call 3-star hotel. Note: when selecting room, the tag "Garden" means "the oldest building".
Location: Small bowling alley w/pool tables about 10 blocks away. Arco right next door. DQ across street. Target a quick drive. Lots of banks.
The good: comfortable bed, good housekeeping, everything worked, bathroom faucets/fixtures have been updated. Every room has an outdoor personal sitting area. No problem with "neighbor noise" thru walls. We didn't mind paying for the Continental B-fast. Buffet, yes, but the offerings were significantly more than we typically see w/free breakfasts. The bad: literally holes in the carpet, and it was sorely in need of a steam clean. Bathroom door had to be jammed closed & had squeaky, painted over hinges. All electrical outlets are used for lamps, TV, fridge, microwave, etc... There was ONE plug available in the base of a lamp. The TV was a flatscreen, but uses analog signal - there was no aspect ratio that didn't cut off the left & right 3" of the screen on some programs. There was a channel list, but no program listing. Poor lighting - total of 3 bulbs in main space. The staff was fine. Check-in efficient. A bit annoyed we weren't allowed to check in a whopping 10 minutes before 3:00 pm. When I stood 10-feet off the check in counter to wait my 10 minutes, miraculously our room became available. But 3:00 is 3:00, not 2:50. PETS: no special potty areas, or extra effort put forth to accommodate pets, but behind the hotel are areas to take care of business. Worked fine. This hotel is run down. It was not a good bargain. As-is: maybe 2.5 star establishment, surely not 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

one night stay

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: keep outdoor pools open when it is sill sunny outside
Location: wine tasting galore!
swimming pools were closed for the season, we were disappointed. Also our room smelled pretty badly of smoke. Ask for a non smoking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fresh Hop Festival-Always a Must STAY!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
This hotel never disappoints. The rooms are always clean, beds are comfortable, and the staff is always very friendly. We travel to Yakima every October for the Fresh Hop Festival and they are very affordable and even combine efforts and do a Fresh Hop package that is a bargain. They let us have our dogs there and are always very accommodating. We will always stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in the center of town.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Wine country.
Easy to find and in a convenient location for everything in Yakima. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whidbey Island, WA

Lovely gardens and outdoor spaces

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The attractive gardens outside the rooms and the way each room opens to a tiny private patio of it's own.
Cons: The computer in the lobby was out of order for both days I was there. Also the hotel restaurant was closed for some reason.
Location: Downtown next to the convention center. I was surprised there weren't many restaurants nearby though found an Olive Garden 3 blocks away.
I had a very restful stay there. Very quiet room and great bed. Enjoyed the beautiful gardens surrounding it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Next to the conference centre

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The location. The bed, the shower - everything else is secondary if those work!
Cons: A thorough refurbishment, but then the price would go up. Please turn the air conditioning down - it was late September, not July!
Location: Several wine tasting rooms in downtown centre, about a ten minute walk from the hotel. Easy to visit a couple during the conference lunch breaks.
If you're in Yakima for the convention centre, the Red Lion is right across the car park. The bed was large and very comfortable, the main priority for me. Great choice of different pillows so I could select the perfect one. The shower jet was powerful. Wireless internet was reasonably fast and always on. The decor is ageing and tired. There were a couple of permanent stains on the carpet in my room. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work, which might explain why early mold was forming on the shower curtain. Breakfast was exactly what I have come to expect from hotels in this price and star bracket, which means mediocre - cold eggs, overcooked bacon, choice of cereals, all sugared. Public areas (lobby, breakfast room) were over-air-conditioned and cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

All good except wifi disappointment

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Bed and bathroom - comfy and very clean.
We would give this hotel a four star rating, except that the night we spent there, the internet was down. Initially we were told fifteen minutes, two hours later - still working on it. By 9 pm we called it an evening. Internet was up in the morning but our room was on the far side of the hotel in the Corporate Building - and got a very poor signal. Otherwise, this is a conference center hotel and nicely equipped with patios on some rooms, a nice pool and a very good buffet breakfast for $5.95.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kirkland, WA

Quiet, clean and affordable.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Convenient location to downtown Yakima. Nice experience checking in and out. Comfortable beds. Pleasant decor.