Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Ryokan, sleepy town.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Ryokan experience
Cons: Surroundings, exterior.
Location: Monkey park was easy to access. Also a great staging spot for the northern Nagano region.
We LOVED this place. A typical Japanese Ryokan writ large. Each room is made to look like a classic inn but it's all brought into the modern world. At check in yukata clad staff greet you warmly and take you to your room for a nice tea ceremony you are pampered. Though the outside could use some work, the ryokan itself is lovely. We had the family room with a balcony hot tub, outside, enclosed shower, nice bathroom, entry alcove for shoes, refrigerator, tea service etc. The public baths upstairs are spotless, brand new and they offer a nice twist by switching male and female access each evening so each can appreciate the other's uniquely styled bathing areas. Open baths take in the mountains (though views around the hotel aren't so nice. I sat out under the roofed (and I hope lightening protected) bath during a thunder storm and deluge, it was totally cool. A couple of downsides: we didn't realize that the meals needed to be booked with the reservation and were unable to add it after checking in. (Why not?) Did I say the town is sleepy and tired? A real disappointment. We went to the recommended sushi restaurant and it was one of the worst meals we had in Japan. At check in, a staff member took my passport and driver's license and then forgot to return it -- I was caught up in the excitement of the place and failed to notice when I only got my license back. Fortunately, ryokan forwarded passport to next lodging after we noticed it was missing. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice baths, superb food and fantastic people working in the hotel. We had a room with a bath on the terrace. I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from Brisbane

Aburaya Tosen

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay here. Our private onsen was amazing, with great views too! Service was 5 star. We will be recommending this place to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel from Sydney

Amazing!!

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Honestly, nothing! It was perfect.
Location: Not much to do nearby other than the hot spring snow-monkeys; but they are amazing so well worth it.
After a long (5 hour) train connection from Kyoto, we were very surprised and happy to see the wonderful staff from Aburaya Tosen waiting at the local train station - it was even more special due to the fact that we hadn't told them which train we were arriving on!! I can't put into words how wonderful the accommodation and service is - and I highly recommend a room with a private outdoor onsen - a truly magical experience; especially while it is snowing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel and service - brilliant value

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Better than we ever expected. The quality of everything in the hotel is very high but the Japanese baths on the seventh floor are exceptional. To have use of these baths as part of your hotel booking was truly wonderful. I would happily recommend this hotel for the baths alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by michael from Adelaide

Fantastic Service, Great Food,Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed every minute of our stay, the hot spring on the balcony was sensational!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Brisbane, Australia

What a beautiful hotel!!

Posted Jan 10, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and traditionally themed with a lot of nice touches. The view from the rooms in winter is beautiful. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast served was also very nice. If you can afford it treat yourself to a room with a private outdoor onsen (we did for one night - very special)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos Mora from Australia

Fantastic Service and great confort

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This price is little high but it is totally worth. the Hotel is very nice and the attention and service from the staff is just fabulous ! The onsen on the top floor was an amazing experience !. There is one indoors and another outdoors and considering the weather outside was very cold, was a really great experience being in the outdoors one. The bed is a traditional Japanese bed, but it was the most comfortable Japanese bed we had in our trip, however you need to consider is not comparable a western type of bed. Definitely I would recommend to stay at least one night here to recover energy if you are travelling around Japan. Finally, a lady from the front desk was quite nice and she took us to the Monkey park straight away when we just arrive in her own car ! Not sure if this is a hotel policy, but it was an incredible and nice help from her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from California

Great hotel in beautiful town near monkey park

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in a Japanese room. Very nice, clean, and modern yet traditional, if that makes sense. Onsen was great. Clean bathing stalls and the bath had an incredible view of the mountainside. For a little extras you can get the fresh air onsen. The bath is on the top floor on the tallest building in the area so there is privacy. Great hotel, would recommend highly.