Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Comfortable overnight stop in convenient location on route elsewhere. Everything worked. Comfortable bed. Good security
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to welcome and accomodate you. We wish you safe and pleasant travels as you move on to your next destination.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

out dated hotel needs to be renovate

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: parking was terrible had to ask to get access to parking underground did not feel safe leaving car in parking lot
Cons: everything
would not stay there again not very clean location terrible building no very appealing needs lots of improvement picture is misleading
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on our property after your recent stay. We apologize that you were not satisfied with our hotel, however we take great care in ensuring our rooms are comfortable and clean for all our guests. We have noted your suggestions of improvement and we wish you all the best on your future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel in seedy part of city.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Spacious King room. Very good restaurant
Cons: Perimeter security.
Location: Very little nearby
Very little security except internally. Drunken individuals sleeping on the street and hotel entrances at all hours of the day. No air conditioning. Poor internet connection in guest computer
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Good day and thank you for your review based upon your recent stay with us. The saftey and comfort of our guests is of the upmost importance to us, which is why we have security on site 7am-11pm daily, as well as we lock our lobby doors from 11pm-7am. We will forward your comments inregards to the street-people to the City of Yellowknife and will ensure our security patrols the entrances more often than their hourly checks. As of June 2015 we have begun the process of installing air conditioner in all of our rooms, currently we have over 50 rooms with air conditioners. Also, our internet was just recently upgraded and installed in February 2015 however I apologize that the Northern internet speed was not up to your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Tired hotel. If you go to YKnife in the summer, there is no AC. Also, no screens on the windows. Beds are old and very tired. Door locks were broken. My check-in was good. Very helpful and service oriented person. The help the next morning was not so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Yellowknife...

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: I couldn't 'shower' as I was on crutches and was afraid of falling while 'balancing on one foot'. Therefore I couldn't reach the dispensers...
Since I was on crutches I found it a little difficult with the 'raised' bed. Overall it is a very comfortable place to stay and very pleasant staff. Staff was attentive to help me and offered to go the extra...thanks much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your kind review based upon your recent stay. It is our pleasure to welcome and accomodate you and we look forward to seeing you again, next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metro Vancouver, BC

Great central location, friendly staff

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: We liked the central location and friendly staff.
Cons: The housekeeping staff needs more consistent training - no consistence day to day in cleaning, bedding (tucked or not), towels/glasses supplied, etc.
Location: Easy walking distance to GREAT Visitors' Ctr, NWT Legislature, Prince of Wales Heritage Museum, shops, banks, restaurants.
First, the promotional photo is NOT representative of the rooms, unless there's a penthouse suite in the building. Our room was small by North American standards, but comfortable. The hallways are somewhat dated. We found the staff (especially Kelly and Donnette) to be very friendly and helpful. Super central location in downtown Yellowknife.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words and review about our staff! We will pass on your kind words about Kelly and Donnet to them! We wish you all the best in your future travels!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The desk clerk gave me a discount gym membership for the gym that was a block away.
Cons: Everything!!
Location: I wouldn't suggest walking out the front door as you were subjected to heavy smokers and being asked for money and cigarettes
After trying to find parking, I went to the front desk where I was greeted by a host who was sniffing, coughing and wiping their nose,finally got my room key after approx.20 minutes and asked where parking was.The desk clerk told me there was parking in the back of the hotel but had to pay at the coin operated meters.When I drove approx.1 block around to the back of the hotel, there wasn't even an entrance into the hotel,so instead of dragging my luggage all the way back around the block to the front desk,I drove back and went to see the same desk clerk.I had to ask for a parking key for the parkade and reluctantly she said she wasn't sure if the only key she had was for another guest but I could have it.After parking in the urine smelling parkade I went to my room.I opened the door where all I could smell was mildew and all I could see were stained rugs with cigarette burns, an air conditioning unit that was mounted to a rotten wall that could fall any second, paint was pealing from the walls and the walls by the bed were stained and warped.The pictures on their website must have been photo shopped, absolute total misrepresentation of the actual rooms!Also I woke up to a drunk banging on my door at 2am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Jessica Wang, Hotel Management
Good day, we apologize that your most recent stay did not meet your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec

Business trip.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Communication with Expedia should be improved. They did not have my information at check in.
Location: Shopping,restaurants and relatively close to the airport.
Was a pleasure staying in this Hotel . The staff were friendly and helpful and the Hotel is very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Good day, Thank you so much for your kind review for our Hotel after your recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome and accomodate you. We appreciate all the feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disapointed

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff upgrade
The balcony door was screwed shut with angle iron and was not sealed so there was a huge draft coming through. The window did not close all the way and could not be latched. There was constant noise from fights occuring outside with nuissance sounds coming from the audible pedestrian signals at the nearby intersection. The elevator stopped working but no signs were posted. Observed staff ignoring the phones. Access to the hotel's parkade was not available because they did not have a key at that time or over the next three days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Hello and Thank you for your review. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We will pass along your points in regards to the fights occuring outside as well as cross-walk noise to the City of Yellowknife. Thank you again, and wishing you all the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from comox, BC

Disappointing Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The desk staff were polite and willing to assist. I did make a complaint about the second room and she wrote up a maintenance request.
Cons: The hotel needs upgrading.
Location: Hotel situated in a mall. Lots of stores in downtown area. Some I. The mall. Eating establishments, liquor store and grocery store nearby.
My original room had a broken security latch so I asked to be moved to another room. My second room was an upgraded room (according to the lady at the hotel desk) so I was excited! When I entered this room, it was in fact larger, but there was broken furniture! A computer chair was missing a wheel and the only table was so loose and wobbly that it could not be used! There were no chairs to sit on...unless I wanted to risk using the computer chair! The coffee machoine was placed in a lone corner on a very small end table. I could not believe this! I was extremely disappointed in this accommodation for the price! The hallway carpet leading to my room was all puckered and needed repair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by JWang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. I am so sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this trip. To let you know, upon your departure, we submitted maintenance requests to our team to address the broken latch and the desk chair. All of our suite rooms, which you were upgraded to, are larger, feature a table and chairs to dine at as well as a microwave. Your experience is not the norm and I assure you that the safety, security and comfort of our guests is our first priority. We hope that we will be given an opportunity to welcome you back to the Yellowknife Inn to show you our usual high standard of hospitality.