Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from London

Well situated in the centre of town

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Breakfast. Choice and quality of meats & salad.
Location: Central - there is a nice Armenian restaurant around the corner which the hotel can direct you to.
Overall hotel was very comfortable. Only disappointment was breakfast was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil

Perfect location to explore the city

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Enjoyed staying there - staff were very welcoming - rooms nice but maybe not quite royal tulip standard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Los Angeles, CA

Unfortunate glitch

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Great staff, great service, good spa
Cons: Did nothing about construction noise
Location: Centrally located, near Republic Square
For several years now, this has been my favorite hotel to stay in while in Yerevan. I had my first negative experience on this last trip; there was construction going on in the hotel, which resulted in loud noise and shaking in my room. When I finally complained, the staff just apologized but did absolutely nothing about it. This won't stop me from going there in the future, as it is still the best hotel for the price of the many where I have stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by XRAYDOCTOR

close to all must-see sights

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great start/end to a trip to Armenia

Posted Aug 24, 2012
This is a really nice base to enjoy Yerevan and surrounds. The location is perfect, and the parking in front of the hotel very useful if you have your own car. The breakfast is delicious, and the rooftop pool a great escape from the summer heat. The whole city center is in easy walking distance, and the rooms are properly air conditioned and sound proof--neither of which can be taken for granted in Armenia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bertan

Do not expect 5 stars

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
To start with, the hotel is not 5 stars at all. Rooms are very basic. I would rate Golden Tulip as a 3-4 star hotel e.g. nothing better than Ibis chain in Europe. The gym only has extremely basic equipment and the pool is small. Quality of the service is a disaster, people are almost making you feel guilty for ordering something. Hotel staff speaks basic English but they are not competent in helping you at all. It looks like everybody is only interested in sucking money out of you and not fixing your problems. They often lie as well. When I ordered lunch, I wanted Caesar Salad first but then wanted to change it to a club sandwich 2 minutes later. The waitress was furious at me so I kept it. There is a small exchange office at the hotel and the guy sitting there is scary and extremely rude as well. In short, people are very rude, demanding and all they ask for is money. Finally, prices are at least 4 times more than the rest of the city so do not eat or drink there and do not even ask them to arrange something for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Los Angeles, CA

The best value in town

Posted Apr 2, 2012
I have stayed at many different hotels over the years when visiting Yerevan, and this is my favorite by far. It is not as nice as the Marriott, but the Marriott is way overpriced. The staff at the Golden Tulip are always available, seem to always have genuine smiles, and the service is top-notch. I even needed my clothes cleaned and they did it in hours and didn't charge me the extra fee for quick service. They even called me to tell me they were having trouble getting a stain out! The front desk arranged anything I needed while here, including cars to take me where I needed to go for fair prices. The only complaints I have is that the wireless internet (included in room charge) was not reliable (typical) and the mattresses are not superb, although far better than almost any other hotel I have stayed at while in Armenia. Overall this place is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks Good, has some annoying flaws

Posted Apr 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed in GT for 5 days. I had to extend my 3 night stay twice due to business matters. Event though I kept on rebooking the same type of room, they would make me move to a new room each time. I will get to that in a min. Pros: Beautiful hotel. Very conveniently located close to many things. Friendly personnel. Cons: A bit pricey. Personnel, including reception and so-called concierge, are young and friendly, and that's it. They don't have enough information or education about the city and facilities. (They sent me to bad restaurants and wrong addresses few times - Marriott hotel has GREAT concierge! VERY HOT (temperature) Noisy at nights Business center charges for everything, even turning on their PC! ok. So I stayed there first for 3 days. My room was very hot, but luckily I had an outside window which I had it opened all the time. I had to extend my stay for another night. They had me move to a different room, same size. Except that this room was even hotter than the first one, didn't have a window to outside (only over looking the bar), and worse case, it was a smoking room! no matter how much I complained, the night shift receptionist was like a dumb person and didn't care. Kept on saying "umm, sorry,, ummm) So I stayed, and my allergies kicked in (to smoke). Then the next day, which unfortunately I had to re-extend my stay, I told them the problem and they gave me a different room. This one was very hot also, but had outside window. The main problem with this room was that the hot water didn't have much pressure. So I could either take a cold shower with pressure, or with drops of hot water! It didn't help that I was there in March and it was COLD! So, after some problems that I had with my rooms, on the check out day, I told them if they compensate for some of the problems. They said they can't do anything and that the central heater in the building hasn't been working right and pretty much nothing. After couple minutes of being upset, the manager finally talks to me over the phone! She says "next time you are in Yerevan, we will give you a free upgrade"!! That is even after I told her I am probably never coming to Yerevan anymore. But she didn't care. Oh and also their gym was closed and they wanted to send me 2-3 kilometers south to Best Western hotel to use their gym. Maybe it was my bad luck, but I didn't have a good time there. Next time, which prob never happens, but if it does, I will go to Marriott. I had stayed there before and the service was AMAZING! safe travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tehran

The best choice in Yerevan!

Posted Sep 27, 2011
Very good location!