Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I like it for many reasons but enjoyed our baloney/deck off our room and all the other great amenities.
Cons: Wash clothes in all the rooms.
Location: This hotel is on the hwy for easy access and in between Jamestown and Sonora.
We arrived about 5PM and the front desk staff was very polite and gave us a message from our friends who had already checked in.. Our room was ready and we were pleasantly surprised we had a room at the end of the building with a balony/deck off our room a corner/end unit. Our room was very nice, King size bed a little too firm for me but nice. Our bedding was nice, clean and comfortable. Our room had a sitting area with a small sofa and coffee table. A desk and what I really liked was a microwave and small refrig. Coffee pot for our morning coffee. Another nice feature was on each side of the bed and a part of the headboard of the bed was electric plug ins, very nice because I am always having to move furniture in hotels to find the plugins, not here! Anyway our stay was very nice and yes I would stay again and recommend to others. OH and as it turned out our friends who also stay had an adjoining room which made it very nice to visit with them. The hotel staff was great... but of course all things can't be perfect right! The only complaint if you can call it that was our room and our friends room did not have wash clothes which I was irritated to find out while in the shower and asking for one.. maybe they forgot or maybe they don't have them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great hotel to stay

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Lighted Pool open till 9 o'clock
Cons: nothing
Location: We are visiting Yosemite
though we spent some time to find it and it's just next to the highway. Very nice hotel and sit in the mountains and it's quiet but convenient as it's next to the highway/ we stayed one night and then go to the Yosemite park. I think most of the people do. and it's just one hour drive. Very nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Too close to highway and difficult to enter & exit

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: Décor, more comfortable beds, outside needs weeding and cleaning.
Location: Columbia and James Town - nice views and activities
King size bed very uncomfortable - but then I have a back and neck problem. But normally if I book a 3 or 4 star hotel I usually am able to sleep well. I will probably not book at this hotel again. Décor is outdated and needs at least to blend which the room I had didn't also bathrooms are small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Closest motel to Yosemite with rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: It was away from town, but Sonora was near by with a little downtown with shops and restaurants. There was also an area with a Wal-mart and fast food.
This was the closest motel that had rooms 1 month before our travel dates and the price was comparatively reasonable. This motel is not as bad as it's reviews. We went in with low expectations but found the room clean and the staff was very friendly. Just don't expect much from the continental breakfast. The part about racking your shins on the bed is true. Overall we had a pleasant stay, I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Stay in another place

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing that I can think right now.
Cons: Clean the place, explain if there's a pool or not, and clarify the "breakfast" option.
If you have a choice stay in another place, 20 to 30 more minutes you'll get to Oakdale, much better. The room wasn't comfortable, the bathroom wasn't clean, bad experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

Filthy Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Bed sheets yellow stain and cigarette holes. Carpet dirty, spider in the bathroom. Staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: It's located by hw108 between Sonora & Jamestown, the two small historical gold mining towns. The Moaning Cavern is only 30min driving and a must-see
The double queen bed room was a bit small, but the beds are very clean. toilet and shower is also working fine and clean. Room is equipped with a small refrig, microwave, coffee maker, dryer and iron with board. The air-condition is a bit noisy at night. the included breakfast is very simple: pan cake, cereal, donuts, with apple juice and milk. My kids love it. Overall is a pleasure to stay for a night or two.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auberry, CA

Not very clean.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: It was a third floor room, but built on a hill, so we just drove around to the back and we were level with our room. Very convienent.
Cons: You could tell the bathroom was a little outdated, but the most important thing, is for it to be clean! Better cleaning would be a huge improvement.
Location: Location was good. Went to an event in Murphy's. Jamestown was the closest we could get to the event. A nice drive, maybe 30 minutes to Murphy's.
The room was ok. The bed and bedding looked clean, but the bathroom was dirty. It looked like Maid Service didn't even clean the bathroom floor at all. Lots of hair all over the floor. Gross!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Nice. Great steakhouse in jamestown. Ask front desk for directions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Sonora is great, Yosemite 1 hour away, hotel OK.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: We had a reasonably nice room and the staff was pleasant. It had beautiful surroundings. The pool was OK, but there was no jacuzzi.
Cons: I'm not sure how you improve bathrooms that are too small. Plus the cleaning staff cut a few small corners. That cost them a tip.
Location: There was wonderful shopping and dining in Sonora, plus Yosemite is an hour away.
We booked the hotel so we could visit Yosemite without paying high lodging rates at the hotels in or near the park. However, this turned out to be a poor choice; Mariposa is much closer and comparable in cost. But that was my mistake, not the fault of the hotel. The Sonora Country in is a nice hotel, nice room, nice people, but the bathroom area was really small! It was quite cramped there. Also, I found the continental breakfast to be a bit miserly - one pastry each, pancakes with a diameter matching a tennis ball and stale cereal. Plus, the cleaning staff made the mistake of taking a used coffee stirrer and putting it back in the cup! My wife uses non-dairy creamer and spotted that right away. While we went there for Yosemite, the town of Sonora itself was a delightful surprise. Sonora is a charming little town with a rich, well preserved history, free parking, lots of shops (thrift stores abound) and great restaurants. We especially enjoyed eating at the Woods Creek Cafe - where the proprietor knows *everyone's* name -- and Christopher's Italian Ristorante, where they serve Italian food that's complex and sophisticated yet readily approachable and enjoyable. They had some great Cabernet Sauvignon from an Irish vineyard, too -- a real kick in the palate. The Candy Vault was a lot of fun for the kids -- including the grown ones like me. I readily recognized bric-a-brac and toys from my youth. Sadly, the candy itself was stale and disappointing.