Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aanrader

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Zeer klantvriendelijk
Cons: Interieur is ok, maar wel een beetje stoffig
Location: Goede uitvalsbasis voor de zuidkant van het Yosemite Park
Goed gelegen en prima alternatief voor de duurdere hotels in het park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Bay

Great Ambiance

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: cosy rooms
Cons: availability of facilities and cooked breakfast
Location: Visit Yosemite
This Is a wonderful Inn with great staff gorgeous cosy rooms. We were disapointed with the lack of facilities namely pool restaurant bar not open, I did express my disapointment and the owner came and spoke with me at check out and was apologetic and invited us back at a discounted rate !! Highly impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fullerton, CA

Quaint Theme

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Porch and view outside the room. Pleasant staff for complimentary breakfast.
Cons: Better signage at night. Motel is considerably below road level and we missed it completely coming back from dinner at night from the north.
Several buildings which emphasize the railroad and old mining town theme. Particularly liked the path that wandered through the garden. Staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Much nicer than expected. Very charming!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Location: One hour drive from Yosemite Valley.
They even offer a complimentary breakfast that isn't just yogurt and bagels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, very close to Yosemite National Park

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Not cookie cut.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Go to the park.
I would stay here again without question. It's a real cool place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel near the entrance to Yosemite

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Location: Yosemite - what more do you need?
Given that there are few options to staying near the South [Rt. 41] entrance to Yosemite, the Narrow Gauge Inn was a nice find. Off season the options are either distant or very expensive - or in the Park itself - meaning even more limited and expensive. The room was clean and attractive. The included breakfast was merely 'OK' but given that there were so few dining options in the area, it was welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2015
The bedroom and bathroom are minimally tolerable. What really makes the stay much nicer than staying in the older rooms is the great staff and the cozy interesting dining room. They serve a full breakfast with wonderful waffles and a nice selection of other items. That being said for the price we paid and the proximity to Yosemite I would stay there again for a day or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Vintage inn just south of Yosemite

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Quiet, clean, well-maintained, good staff.
Cons: Get the hot tub on line in the winter! It was sorely missed after those long hikes.
Location: In the woods, about an hour south of the first of the best hikes in Yosemite.
Nice, old-fashioned hotel, built in the early 1960s or so, with a nod to 'Swiss' style. In good condition, not significantly updated, so it was a trip back in time. The bed was good, the room large and clean, the heat worked well, and the bathroom had been updated, so no complaints. They advertise a continental breakfast, but it included hard boiled eggs, hot sausage, hot hash browns, and waffles to order along with all the other 'continental' fixings, so it was better than expected. The hotel restaurant is closed in winter, but there are a few places in Yosemite Valley that are good, and very convenient at the end of a long hike. Oakhurst, 10-12 miles to the south, also has at least one good place to eat - I can recommend Crab Cakes Restaurant, which is better than the name might suggest.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pasadena, ca

More like a "one star" hotel with rude staff

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Don't waste your money here it is a dump. The walls were so thin that i could literally hear every single thing happening in both rooms on either side of me--sneezing, talking, baby screaming etc. at all hours of the day & night. It was terrible ... We booked a king room. We stayed two nights and asked on both nights to please get switched to a different room but we're told we could not move, even tho the hotel wasn't sold out. The Asian staff lady was unprofessional, argued with us and was super rude and had no customer service skills. I will never go back to this dump we had a horrible stay. I'd rather stay at the Comfort Inn in oak hurst which was better quality & better breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Perfect relaxing location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We were headed to Yosemite and wanted a place to stay nearby without staying in the park. This place popped up on Expedia and looked interesting so we booked it for the night. We stayed in Room 27 which has a very comfortable king-size bed and view of the valley to the east. We loved this place except for the paper-thin walls so if you are looking for a romantic get-away, book Room 26 next door that doesn't share a major wall... The staff are welcoming, the included breakfast is filling and the charm cannot be beat. We would stay again for sure.