Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Nice Turn of the Century Downtown Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Old school but up to date!
Location: Bars & Restaurants literally right there!
Very nice old restored hotel, loved the location right downtown close to shops. Loved the historic elevator and the second level swimming pool. Very clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, older hotel in quaint small town.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Hotel with some character.
Location: It's within the downtown and you can walk to many shops and restaurants.
I enjoyed staying at this older hotel because it's right on the main street of Sonora. If you prefer character to non-descript motels, I think you'll like this place. Very old elevator, but I'd say that's part of the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fallon, NV

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The pool area was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very small and cramped, particularly the bathroom. The showers water pressure wasn't very good and the tempature was either blazing hot or ice cold. So it made my morning routine very difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton U.K.

Character Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This place is full of character so rare in the U.S. It reminded me of a creaky British hotel. If you want a shiney new chain hotel go elsewhere. If you don't mind things being quirky and old then this is the place. Right in the centre of town and only a stagger to all the bars and restaurants. I particulary liked Seventes sleazy old saloon just up the road its a fantastic no frills traditional place with a shuffleboard table but minus the spitoons. Go early as he closes at 8pm. The Rodeway motel also owned by the same people is just behind if you want a cheaper option. You park here for the Sonora Inn anyway. Sonora is about 40 miles from Yosemite though a fair amount of twisty roads great on a motorcycle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in center of town

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Its historic characteristic and the manager.
Cons: Bathrooms need to be updated badly. Breakfast needs to better, more like chain hotels.
Location: Right in the center of the town in the heart of Gold Country.
Historic hotel with quaint lobby and rooms. Centrally located in the town of Sonora. The manager who checked us in was very personable and gave us a tour of some of the suites that stars have stayed in. Be sure to see the room Grace Kelly stayed in! Our room was pretty and comfortable. The bathroom needed an update badly, but are nice considering the age of the hotel. Breakfast was very skimpy. Best to eat somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! And the staff was very very nice

Posted Jun 4, 2014
The breakfast was a little skimpy but for the price, and accommodations it was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Pleasantly surprised; hotel nice, great location

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: My room was on a main street with lots of traffic; however, as a seasoned traveler, I just put on the air conditioner fan to cover, slept fine.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping. Old town feel; great place to just walk.
Went for work but enjoyed the old town ambiance and great main street to get exercise and have dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable bed!

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: The elevator!
Location: Great location!
Overall, a pleasantly decorated and maintained room. It was a little noisy during the night, but it was rodeo week-end! Very accommodating staff, and good restaurant next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical and accommodating

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The history and convenience of the location from the highway.
Cons: Parking. This hotel does not offer any designated parking to its guests. You have to park in the parking lot of another hotel behind the building.
Location: Christopher's Italian restaurant is located next door to the hotel. They served great Italian food, that was moderately priced.
The hotel itself has a lot of character. Our room was located near the front of the building, which made for loud traffic noises throughout the night. However, the room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel has an adjoining boutique and restaurant, so finding a place to have dinner once we settled in was easy and enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dana from San Luis Obispo

Historic hotel in great location!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We had a great stay at the Sonora Inn. The hotel is an historic building that has a lot of character, but is comfortably updated. The rooms have a Euro feel, small but charming. Creaky stairs and a rattly elevator only add to the appeal. A pretty lobby, free parking and internet, and a complimentary continental breakfast are included in the very reasonable price. The location in the heart of old town Sonora is perfect, with many restaurants and shops nearby. There is considerable street noise on this busy corner, but it didn't bother us. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. My only real complaint is that, quite frankly, terrible coffee is served with the otherwise very adequate, complimentary breakfast consisting of a variety of breads and cereals, toppings, waffles, fruit, juice, and hard boiled eggs. Thankfully we found a local coffee shop two doors down with good coffee, albeit a surly barista. We look forward to our next visit!