Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Vintage Hôtel, very small rooms, bith room and bathroom were dirty, absolutely overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Historic Hotel/Inn in really good shape with modern conveniences and Bed was great, very comfortable
Historic Hotel/Inn in really good shape with modern conveniences and Bed was great, very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Nice Turn of the Century Downtown Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Old school but up to date!
Location: Bars & Restaurants literally right there!
Very nice old restored hotel, loved the location right downtown close to shops. Loved the historic elevator and the second level swimming pool. Very clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, older hotel in quaint small town.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Hotel with some character.
Location: It's within the downtown and you can walk to many shops and restaurants.
I enjoyed staying at this older hotel because it's right on the main street of Sonora. If you prefer character to non-descript motels, I think you'll like this place. Very old elevator, but I'd say that's part of the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fallon, NV

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The pool area was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very small and cramped, particularly the bathroom. The showers water pressure wasn't very good and the tempature was either blazing hot or ice cold. So it made my morning routine very difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton U.K.

Character Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This place is full of character so rare in the U.S. It reminded me of a creaky British hotel. If you want a shiney new chain hotel go elsewhere. If you don't mind things being quirky and old then this is the place. Right in the centre of town and only a stagger to all the bars and restaurants. I particulary liked Seventes sleazy old saloon just up the road its a fantastic no frills traditional place with a shuffleboard table but minus the spitoons. Go early as he closes at 8pm. The Rodeway motel also owned by the same people is just behind if you want a cheaper option. You park here for the Sonora Inn anyway. Sonora is about 40 miles from Yosemite though a fair amount of twisty roads great on a motorcycle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by LifeIsAGift from Toronto - Canada

Great location, but older establishment

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We used this hotel for a stopover to Yosemite. For this purpose it was perfect. A supermarket was just down the street for supplies. Gas station was close by to top up your tank before venturing to Yosemite. In the other hand, one word to describe this hotel is "antique". The elevator was very old. We got a room on the 2nd floor at the side, with windows facing the wall of the next building. Our windows were frosted, but there were some clear spots where we could peek outside and saw the brick wall less than 3 feet away. The air condition unit was VERY loud. Our room seemed that it was consisted of three separate rooms: a bedroom, bathroom and sitting area, adjacent to each other. A narrow hallway on the window side crossed the bathroom, connecting the bedroom with the sitting area.. The bedroom was almost filled with the bed. The sitting area was so small it had no space to put down and open our suitcases. In the early morning we were awaken by the sound of pigeons cooing from the roof. Our most needed sleep was cut short by all the noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by myself from modesto ca

you go for the charm

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have always wanted to stay there and am super glad we did. However, rooms are small if you care about that. The shower has the worst water pressure ever!!!! And I don't understand why some hotels buy towels that are worse than sandpaper? But on a happy note the staff was very friendly. The hotel was very charming. Loved the pool on the second story!!!! I probably would not stay here again. But I'm certainly glad we did at least once. It was worth the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in center of town

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Its historic characteristic and the manager.
Cons: Bathrooms need to be updated badly. Breakfast needs to better, more like chain hotels.
Location: Right in the center of the town in the heart of Gold Country.
Historic hotel with quaint lobby and rooms. Centrally located in the town of Sonora. The manager who checked us in was very personable and gave us a tour of some of the suites that stars have stayed in. Be sure to see the room Grace Kelly stayed in! Our room was pretty and comfortable. The bathroom needed an update badly, but are nice considering the age of the hotel. Breakfast was very skimpy. Best to eat somewhere else.