Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Dorado Hills CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Great Location, right in the center of Sonora. The price was extremely reasonable. For the price the rooms were really good.
Cons: Maybe upgrade the bathroom sinks
Had a very pleasant stay at this Hotel. It was like going back in time to the old west.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riverbank, CA

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Water pressure and the showers going from hot to cold.
Location: Great food and bars as well as the scenery.
Great historic inn.....staff is very friendly and helpful!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Historic beauty but lacking in details

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The staff and shower heads.
Cons: Get better windows and possibly insulate the walls. Heat the the hallway!
Location: Cute shops and restaurants (good prices).
Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our stay and appreciate the history that comes with staying at the Sonora Inn. It was better than most 2-star hotels. Our likes: 1) The staff were excellent. 2) The shower heads and water volume were 5-star! 3) It is located close to cute shops and restaurants. 4) Our allergies didn't act up, so it was clean. Our dislikes: 1) Our room was on the busy street. Semi-trucks stopping and accelerating woke us up several times. 2) It was freezing in the hallway! 3) Our room "heater" doubles as an air conditioner and we don't like air on our face all night. 4) The walls are thin. I didn't sleep most of the first night because the next room was blasting their tv all night. My husband was able to hear the dialogue so clearly that he identified the exact movie. 5) There wasn't protein in the breakfast, except for milk for cereal, which I can't eat. (There were plenty of carbs and coffee.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonora Inn

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Cons: Have the tub resurfaced.
Location: Lots of shopping, dining and history nearby.
Decor was lovely. Convenient location. Cheap lodging for the night. Tub was chipped and stained. Friendly atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seal Beach, CA

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, well kept and fun decor
Cons: Insulation for sound
Very nice room but noisy. You could hear other guests in their rooms and in the hallways. Could hear people at the pool - no insulation in the walls. Otherwise very nice room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, Ca.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
The concierge, Mak, was fantastic. Some how Expedia manage to screw up our reservation and Mak took much extra time and effort to straighten it all out for us. Well done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mattfrom Martinez

Historic Sonora Inn

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Sonora Inn was a great part of our visit to Columbia State Park and the Sonora Hebrew Cemetery. The hotel is in excellent condition and the area is full of nice stores and restaurants. The only drawback was that the rooms were quite small, but this wasn't really a problem for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stevenfrom Cherry Valley Ca.

Historic Place to Lay Your Head

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived late. The staff was very helpful. The entire building was very historic. Parking was at a premium. It was very clean. Room was old but nice and clean. It had modern amenities with a splash of the wild west. I wanted to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue efrom Tracy, Ca

Nostalgic

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Getaway for us with wine tasting diner and a play. We could not have enjoyed it more. Christophers was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jessefrom Redding

Sonora Inn charm

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and comfortable, the only negative was the breakfast in the morning was a little skimpy