Ratings based on 1,065 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Great location if a little expensive. Make sure you do a tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: location and four stars facility.
Cons: maybe should need to expand their restaurant.
Location: hiking in Yosemite.
This nice hotel is located about 2.5 miles away from South Gate of Yosemite National Park and maybe is the only four starts hotel close to this park. Restaurant foods is tasty, price is reasonable and good service, however, you might need to line up because when all guests returned from park, they want to eat and there are no other restaurants within 10 miles.. Room is very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Put this one on your bucket list

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: All good
Location: Really close to the park entry
This is a must stay hotel on anyone's Californian trip. The Tenaya was a great place, comfortable and a good numbe off pools to relax in. Good variety of restaurants to eat at and the Yosemite tour was the best. Highly recommend this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice resort near Yosemite national park

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Near Yosemite park. Nice restaurants. 4 star hotel. Hotel also offers lots activities if you do not want to go the park..
Cons: bed pillow really need to change.. I like every thing about the room except pillow! can it change to some better brand?
Location: Yosemite park
My family stayed Tenaya lodge resort for 2 nights. I am very happy with my choice. The resort meets my expectation. The lobby is attractive. There are indoor and outdoor swim pools. 3 different restaurants on site provide food to different level guest needs. We also loved the outdoor sitting when we had a dinner by the fireplace. The food was pricy but it was good. The room is nice as well. It has every thing you needed. I only wish the pillow was better ones. It is near Yosemite park but still one hour driving to Yosemite valley. we do not mind because you only need to go Yosemite valley once. The staffs are friendly and nice but at different level. One morning at breakfast, one young waiter was excellent. He kept coming back to our table to ask if we need anything but on our first day at breakfast buffet, our waitress seems tired. We had to wait a while to get our drink since the drink had to be brought by the staff. The worst part is we found out she messed up our breakfast bill. After we contacted resort , the bill is quickly corrected so I will still give this resort 5 stars. It is a good choice when you really want to reward your self.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo California

Very nice lodge near Yosemite National Park

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We do like this hotel compared to very rustic accommodations in the area. The restaurants offered fine reasonable dining. It's a beautiful hotel. I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Overnight stay in Yosemite

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Dining and pool facilities. The lobby and grounds are very impressive.
Cons: East wing rooms are tired and very noisy.
The lodge is handy to Yosemite being about 10 minutes down the road from the entrance near the Mariposa Grove. The grounds and overall presentation of the lodge is very attractive and the pool and dining options are great for relaxing after a long drive. We stayed in East Wing and unfortunately were disappointed with the rooms. Although clean, they are very tired and in need of redecorating. We walked in to see large stains on the floor and an odd shaped stain on the roof that could have been easily tidied up with a bit of paint. The walls were also very thin, with noise from the neighboring rooms coming through. We could easily hear people talking in the next room, a crying child on the other side and any movement above or in the hallway sounded like people stomping around. Overall the rooms felt like an average motel, certainly not what we expected given the rates. Had the rooms been in a better state and more soundproof this would be four stars. Apparently there are significant renovations planned, we would not consider staying again until these were complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fun place to stay near Yosemite National Park

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: I liked the lay out of the hotel. From our room we had easy access to the lobby,parking lot, Spa, restaurants and pool area.
Cons: The Lodge was a little pricey but when you consider that they have to bring in all amenities to the location, it was understandable.
Location: The location was very near the south entrance to Yosemite park--though not in the park, you could drive or take a tour to go there from this lodge.
We really had a good time at Tenaya Lodge. Easy access to parking and walking to and from the parking lot. The concierge area was very convenient and we did not have to wait long at all to book excursions. The outside pool area was really beautiful. They had separate hot tub and cool pool for adults from the regular pool and hot tub where kids could be and also there was a small kids water activity pool--lots of ways to cool off from the beautiful sunny weather. The Lodge has a Spa where guests can use the steam room and or sauna for free. That was very relaxing after a day of hiking! We bought a day bus tour of Yosemite and it was a really relaxing way of seeing the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Nice hotel but overpriced

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice lobby, nice desk staff, nice room (except for lack of dusting and slightly moldy tiles in shower), but overpriced. Food was good but very overpriced. Limited food options. Very near south entrance to Yosemite but long drive to Yosemite Valley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Paying mainly for location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: view, cleanliness of room
Cons: easy to find exits, more rapid elevator service, better lighting in restaurant area
Location: Absolutely wonderful location for entering Yosemite from the south entrance. Just a mile or two away.
The Tenaya lodge was adequate for a stay close to Yosemite. The staff was polite and effective, though the valet attendants are a bit over-solicitous. The rooms, though comfortable and clean, especially the bathrooms, need a bit of updating. We found the exits from the hotel to the pool area and restaurant to be very confusing to get to, and the elevator is incredibly slow, with stairs not easy to find. The outdoor seating for the restaurant is very pleasant, and the food is good. We were trying to sign the bill in the dark, however. Needed my phone light. There should be candles placed on the table, or help with light offered by the wait staff. But...the layout and view is very pretty. Overall, a nice stay, but overpriced for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Over Priced

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Nice place, but very over priced. I stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels that were just as nice, and included a free breakfast, which Tenaya does not. $16 for a hamburger and fries is outrageous!