Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bret D from Santa Cruz

Magical Place

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Unbelievable experience we can't believe we waited so long to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Everything about the stay was better then expected. We loved it and look forward to another trip in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bnhpgfl

Yosemite's Best

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Yosemite Valley!
There are almost no lodging facilities in the Park, except for campgrounds that must be reserved well in advance. There is, however, The Ahwahnee, a grand hotel built in 1927. For those who like the charm and history of places like The Balsams, The Sagamore, The Broadmoor, etc., this is it. The public areas are spectacular, in a Roaring 20's rustic sort of way. Service is topnotch, and of course the setting is one of the most spectacular places on Earth. Prices are dear, but there is only one Yosemite, and only one Ahwahnee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Yosemite Getaway

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Setting, common areas, food, bar service in outdoor spaces (pool, patio), near shuttle, views from our hotel room, dining room, Sunday Brunch.
Location: Hiking, swimming in pool, relaxing in hotel common areas or on hotel grounds,guided tours, horseback riding, bike rentals, learning about Yosemite.
We loved the Ahwahnee hotel. The hotel's setting in the middle of the Yosemite Valley is beautiful! We enjoyed learning about the hotel's history and loved the way they've used historical photos, furniture, and artifacts to decorate the common areas and the rooms in the hotel. They've created a comfortable yet serene escape in the middle of a very busy Yosemite Valley. And the Sunday Brunch in the main dining room was fabulous. Wonderful food in a beautiful setting. Our entire stay exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from California

A great anniversary getaway weekend at the Ahwahne

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Location, service, food, ambience.
Cons: Hot cup wrappers at the morning coffee station
Location: Yosemite has everything a travelor could want for a National Park nature environment. Forget your car...hop a free shuttle or walk to enjoy.
This is a hotel that delivers on what it is identified with...SERVICE. They understand what a guest wants and needs, and make every effort to deliver an experience. Every staff member greets you with a smile and question about how you are doing...do you need anything...etc. The rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean. The hotel is historic and every room and corner is interesting and usually has a story. The Dining Room is epic. The service is impeccable and the food was delicious! It was very romantic, and the staff went out of their way to ensure an enjoyable and memorable evening. While the price is high, the Ahwahnee delivered on all counts. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zee from San Dimas

A historic architect

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great place to st,ay in the valley mainly because of its architect and location. The rooms are average considering the price one pays. Room cleanliness is very poor. We had to call every day for sofa bed sheets and bed to be made. When I complained they gave us one free breakfast for 4. Food is very expensive and not of great quality. We enjoyed the pizza in the village much more for less price. The pool was dirty with no life guard. I think they need better maintenance crew in order to improve some things very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vince

Beauty all around granite walls

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: The old rustic charm of the natural timbers and granite stones through out the hotel.
Cons: The house keeping service.
Location: The waterfalls, the trails, the moon bow night on a fall moon at Yosemite falls.
The Ahwahnee was a nice pleasing hotel nestled in the middle of a breath taking backdrop of granite mountains and waterfalls. The best time of year to visit is late April and the beginning of May before the waterfalls stop and crowds begin. The hotel's restaurant menu is limited and expensive but the food is good. The only problem we had was the housekeeping kept forgetting things like towels and soap and toilet tissue. The beauty of Yosemite made that just a minor issue. I highly recommend a trip to Yosemite its worth the time to experience its wonders. Vince from New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John & Ann from Perth WA, Australia

Doesn't get any better than this

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: Ambience, comfort, service...all were superb.
Cons: Struggling to think of anything we didn't like.
Location: It's Yosemite Valley...what more is there to say!
We only stayed at the Ahwahnee for one night, but what an experience. We'd booked a Classic room, but on checking in were surprised and delighted to find we'd been upgraded to one of the four suites in the hotel...it was superb! We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the dining room, again an amazing experience, and marvelled at the generous spaces of the public rooms. Quite possibly the best hotel stay we've ever experienced...thanks to all the staff at this wonderful, iconic and beautiful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Ohio

Elegant, classy, peaceful.

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Dining room architecture
Cons: Prices
Location: 4th floor
Very beautiful dining room and piano player makes your meal a special occasion. A bit warm on upper levels in hallways. The bar area is such a lovely way to relax after a day of hiking or other adventures, especially when the weather is lovely. Peaceful atmosphere with just the right menu to give you options for snacks or a light meal. The shuttle around the park is so convenient, and for a more casual meal than the Ahwanee dining room, try the pizza deck nearby. Would love it even more if not quite so pricey, but for a special occasion such as our anniversary, can't be beat. Some staff great (dining reserv's 4/23) and all our dining waitiers/ some need attitude adjustment which was a shame.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eike from CA

Great Hotel for a wealthy family

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Outside architecture
Cons: The dining room experience
Location: Great
The Ahwahnee Hotel is promising a lots from the outside and it's location. Inside it is an overpriced tourist hotel. The so called elegant dinner turned out to be an expensive family restaurant with under staffed buddy/buddy servers some forgetting to serve you.