Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Good location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
We traveled here for three days, and It's near by Yosemite national park. Overall, the service was nice also the room facilities, but the interior decorating was old! However, here's convenient for customers!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Helpful people / Disappointing place

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Helpful people and great food at Ducey's.
Cons: Replace furniture, stay on top of housekeeping
Location: It's about 30 to 40 minutes to the south end of Yosemite Park. If you're not going to Yosemite, this place is not worth the stay.
While the hotel can't be blamed for the drought, you should know that the pictures they advertise (showing lake water touching the hotel) is very misleading. The water has receded about 40 yards from the hotel edge. Don't trust the pictures! There are plenty of conveniences (a store, bar, on-site gas station, and a delicious - albeit expensive - restaurant). Our room had decent conveniences, but the furniture was dirty - and housekeeping never showed. If you're using this place as a home base for Yosemite exploration, I would suggest finding a hotel inside the park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Cute chalet

Posted Mar 10, 2015
The chalet had a great setup, however it is pretty outdated (tv was old, so was the couch and beds) Also ants and spiders in the room, but its In the wood so what do you expect. Nothing closeby, just a small market and a pizza place that's only open 4 hours on Friday and Saturday. Despite all this I would stay here again, loved the two story chalet w loft, balcony w lake view, and the quietness of the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Forgotten

Posted Feb 2, 2015
The place has too many small little issues from a broken stove to missing door handles and broken lamps... Not to mention the lake which is their big draw was empty. They can't do anything about the lake but geez the rooms could be cleaned and repaired
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Pines Resort in December 2014

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The Mountain View cabin didn't really have a mountain view, because it was obstructed by trees and other cabins. Wifi didn't work, a receptionist just recommended to "try harder" (turn my Airplane mode on and off), or she can call a "computer person" to help, but he doesn't really know much about that stuff (that's what she said). So they didn't really try to resolve the issue. My cabin 257 (if i remember correctly), was nice but just enough, I felt it needed renovations. Otherwise a very nice location, with a strong sense of decay and personnel's care.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for near by adventures

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Yosemite, quiet, loved having a kitchen and ability to cook. Plenty of space.
Cons: Deep clean the chalets. The staff work hard, but, they really need to get a professional cleaning done. Vacuuming will not erase years of dirt.
Location: Near the lake, which is sadly very low due to drought. Close travel to Yosemite.
Spent two recent nights at the The Pines. Being near Yosemite was great! The 'resort' is faded, and not for you if you're seeking a lux or 'spa' experience. The chalet needed a good deep cleaning. On the plus side, the rates were very reasonable for a large space, having a full kitchen was great and allowed up to save on eating out. The bed was super comfortable, and the rooms were warm even in very cold temps. On the down side, the advertised amenities were not available, or, not too functional. The jacuzzi which was supposedly operational all year was full of tepid water and leaves. Looked really yucky and cold. The 'spa' which is listed as open all year with posted hours was locked up tight with a padlock on a fence gate leading to the building when we tried to check it out in the afternoon prior to booking massages. The staff at registration seemed very harried, and make clear they ( both people I talked to ) did not have time to give info and turned away after I asked one simple question - although there was no one else waiting. The chalets were pictured on line with a wood burning stove, and although we stood at the counter and discussed buying wood from the adjacent store, the desk clerk gave us a chalet with no stove. All that said however, it was a great base to take off from for adventures in the park. I would stay again, but, next time would know to insist on a wood stove and be aware of the limitations of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, Ca

Posted Jan 4, 2015
It was a very enjoyable stay. Close enough to everything we wanted to see. The drive was very beautiful. The resturaunt bar staff was great! As well as the pines bar. Thanks for taking care of us. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom carmel valley call

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: It's close to my sisters. It's nice and handy when her house is full
Cons: D Ire toons- the map was NOT easy to follow in dark
Location: It's a great spot to do lots like walk shop eat with nice view. In summer the lake is right there.
I liked the fact that it was close to my sisters and the room was very toastie when we arrived about 11 pm. My sister was worried it would be cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom gilroy , ca

Ok for the discounted price I guess.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Ran out of hot water after two five min showers. Ordered extra towels at 9pm. Called back in the am to tell em they never came. Lamp shades looked like they haven't been dusted in over a year. They did have a comfy bed and pillows. Kids loved the outdoors and tennis/basketball courts. Not sure I would recommend it to friends without the discounted price we got the room at. Overall, the room and staff could have been better but the wife and kids enjoyed themselves so it was an ok vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com