Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Erfurt

Älteres Hotel im Nationalpark

Posted May 20, 2015
Die Übernachtung im Wawona Hotel war für uns etwas ganz besonderes, da das Hotel mitten im Nationalpark steht. Wir hatten kein Bad im Zimmer, fanden das bei einer Nacht jedoch nicht so schlimm. Es gab auch keinen Fernseher und kein Wlan im Zimmer, dennoch hatte das Hotel durch seinen Baustil einen ganz besonderen Charme. Wir würden es wieder buchen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Perfect location for seeing Yosemite

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Having an on-site restaurant/bar with good, reasonably priced food. Ability to order a sack lunch the night before for hiking.
Location: It took about 45 minutes to drive to Glacier Point or Yosemite Valley from the hotel. The Mariposa Grove is nearby.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Wawona Hotel. We stayed in the Washburn Cottage - our room had a queen bed and a private bath on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the location was quiet. No TV. Wi-Fi is limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Old fashioned, nice but understand limitations

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Is close enough to park to be pleasantly commutable (35 mins to village). Lovely setting, nice looking hotel. Amazingly clean bathrooms (shared).
Stayed for three nights having pre-booked. Had read about rooms without own bathrooms, and took one of these, albeit a little nervously. Let's be honest, having to dress enough to go outside, in the cold, is enough to make you lay in bed and think "do I really want to go?!". Would I do the same again, to save money? Possibly. On advice from a review, I had pre-requested a room on the first floor (top floor) of Moore Cottage. Whilst having its own parking, we hated it, and immediately rejected that. The room was very dark and dingy, and the shared bathroom was only on the ground floor, at the foot of a long staircase, and outside where we'd have been nervous about bears!! Swapped to the main building, which was still dark, but better. Only odd thing was the outside walkway had chairs that a guest from a corner room next door took to sitting on, and making loud phone calls. Not very neighbourly. The included continental breakfast was pre-served on a plate, and had far to much cake for my morning eating habits. The location was very good, and close to key sites. Lounge was nice with pianist, log fire etc, nice porch with rocking chairs. Wifi in one room only at end of site, and slow when more than 1-2 people there. I could get no cellphone signal either, but others could (on verizon perhaps?). All in all, an unusual experience, but one which enhanced our stay in Yosemite. I'd go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Yosemite/ Sierra national Park

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Shared bath was much more accommodating than expected. Loved the upscale free breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft Lauderdale, FL

Great Location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Location is this hotel's selling point. Very knowledgable and friendly staff. Pros: location is great, staff is great, dining room is pretty good Cons: they advertise free breakfast but the free breakfast is pretty basic, you can "upgrade" for $8.95. Also, not having a bathroom in the room isn't the end of the world but it can be inconvenient when it's cold outside. Overall, the pros outweigh the cons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2015
A charming old style hotel, very comfortable room, helpful staff, great location for visiting Yosemite Valley and Mariposa grove.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Cozy historical hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Online
Cons: N/A
Location: south of Yosemite National Park, several hiking trails around hotel, 15 min to Mariposa grove, 30 min to Yosemite Valley
I love everything about this hotel. The room I got is very small with no bathroom but it is not a problem at all. It looks really cozy/classy inside with all winter decoration. Location is great. This hotel is a bit pricey but to think about the experience I had it's worth the money. One thing I was surprised about it is that all the bathrooms are outside of the building. It was a winter time when I was there and it was very cold outside. I just had to wrap myself up every time I want to go there; it was a fun experience though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2014
There were no sound prove between rooms at all. For the reason, we heard enough children's cry, scream most of our staying at the room. It wasn't good comfortable experience at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cozy Couple get away

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a must do. We enjoyed the Christmas activities. The room was lovely. For a quiet couple get away it is tops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Great location. Great staff.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We went up for a quick weekend to see the snow. The Wawona was more than we expected. Quaint, but everything was in good condition. It was definitely worth the price. The check-in staff was friendly. Especially Stacey! Thank you Wawona. We'll be back!