Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Cozy historical hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Online
Cons: N/A
Location: south of Yosemite National Park, several hiking trails around hotel, 15 min to Mariposa grove, 30 min to Yosemite Valley
I love everything about this hotel. The room I got is very small with no bathroom but it is not a problem at all. It looks really cozy/classy inside with all winter decoration. Location is great. This hotel is a bit pricey but to think about the experience I had it's worth the money. One thing I was surprised about it is that all the bathrooms are outside of the building. It was a winter time when I was there and it was very cold outside. I just had to wrap myself up every time I want to go there; it was a fun experience though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2014
There were no sound prove between rooms at all. For the reason, we heard enough children's cry, scream most of our staying at the room. It wasn't good comfortable experience at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Great location. Great staff.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We went up for a quick weekend to see the snow. The Wawona was more than we expected. Quaint, but everything was in good condition. It was definitely worth the price. The check-in staff was friendly. Especially Stacey! Thank you Wawona. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, CA

Holiday Magic

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: This was our 5th or 6th stay spanning twenty years' time, always in winter. Pluses: quiet outdoor setting; popular cross-country skiing area nearby.
Cons: Not sure. I've briefly visited here in other seasons, but its appeal is not as magical as during the winter season.
Location: Near the south entrance to Yosemite NP, there's downhill and X-country skiing nearby at Badger Pass, snow-shoeing, hiking, etc.
Beautifully decorated in unique, hand-made window swags, mantelpiece display, tree ornaments, etc, the Wawona proudly wears its historical past. Come here to marvel at the tasteful artistry, and to relax in the cozy, intimate fireplace setting with vintage piano tunes each evening in the adjacent parlor. If you're chained to your tech devices, better look elsewhere for lodging. Otherwise, the Wawona Hotel provides a restful, peaceful experience that will help you make memories that last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south africa

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Great hotel and location. Something important though, the standard rooms don't have bathrooms. You have common showers and toilets and they are perfectly clean and warm. Customer just need to know about this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA, CA

Great Setting

Posted Nov 25, 2014
We have been to the Wawona Hotel a number of times over the years. This was a stop on the way home after 2 weeks of driving up the coast. The staff was helpful. We love the fact that there is no TV and limited wifi. We are forced to relax and enjoy nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, CA

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Historic place to stay. Really nice dinner. Great staff. Classic piano lounge!!! The room was a bit of a disappointment.... the claw tub/shower is a tight fit, forget more than one at a time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindafrom Visalia, ca

love the hotel and ambiance..service is fantastic

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place to RELAX...no hype, no rush-just fresh air and trees...we were in room 211..and 210....read all the other reviews- the creaky porch boards, etc can be a vacation breaker if you are easily awakened by noises...the bathrooms 'down the way' are no big thing- just dont have that bottle of wine too late in the evening...and yes, the b-rooms and showers are spotless! beds are ok- i bring my own pillow everywhere, but the ones in the room were a little firm for me-I like mine gooshy...if you are a closet queen and stay inside ALL the time reading, then the rooms will feel small...most often you will get to sleep and wake up to more sightseeing, so a huge room is no big deal---Glacier Point was still open because there is no snow, and is well worth the trip (maybe 15 miles) up the road..FANTASTIC view from up there.. bring your snacks for munching, and have dinner in the eatery there..the turkey meatloaf was scrumptious, AND the comp breakfast is 'just right' ( if you have the portobella dinner, ask that the shroom be cooked a little longer- tends to be rather firm otherwise...(just a personal preference) all in all, not bad for a c note on the weekends...have had many great times there....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karinfrom sweden

Nice stay

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay. Very good price. Lage rooms and ok breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brianfrom Channel Islands

Nice Location

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beware we booked a Queen room through Hotels.com Were told when we arrived it was a shared bathroom. On the web site it says the Queen rooms are with bath! We had to pay an extra 40$ to upgrade for private bathroom. This had an ill fitting adjoining door so you could clearly hear the people in the next room, not very private. This was not at all clear when booking. The staff were helpful and polite. The food was good but the service was a little slow and rather quaint.