Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa ANa

Nice hotel near to Yosemite park, with a nice view

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The staff was the best
Cons: Breakfast area
Location: Go to yosemite park, and bass lake
The staff were supernice, it is a lovely hotel, very well located and close to Yosemite park although it is still another 15 miles to the entrance to the park. I did not like that we had to eat breafast almost standing up because the breakfast room is tiny and most people have breakfast in the reception area, that was inconvenient. Otherwise the people's kindness make up for that inconvenience and as I said the hotel is very conveniently located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Floorboards were creaky. Breakfast area was unorganized causing long waits for waffle machines. The jacuzzi was cold. Checkout process was slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, Quebec

Clean and quiet

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This hotel does most things well. The rooms are inviting and clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was free but the space available for eating was inadequate and the food very ordinary. If this aspect were improved I would rate it even higher. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Noosaville Queensland

Terrible Hotel - Overpriced and Not Worth Staying

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: To be totally honest, nothing appeals with this hotel.
Cons: Absolutely everything. Demolish the place and rebuild it!
Location: This property's only saving grace is that it's approximately 16 miles from Yosemite National Park but that is the nicest thing I can say about it.
My wife and I stayed one night (Sep 5) at the Yosemite Southgate Hotel and Suites and it was a huge waste of money. We paid $177.00 for the privilege and had a run down room in a place that is in dire need of refurbishment. About the only thing that worked in the hotel was the wi-fi. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room but we should have had breakfast at the Denny's Restaurant adjoining the property as it was less than ordinary to say the least. Our room was equipped with a small fridge and the tiny freezer looked like it had not been defrosted since the hotel was first built which, judging from its poor state of repair, appeared to be the early 1900's. This is an awful hotel and I would not recommend it to my worst enemy - it's an absolute disgrace and the hotel management should be paying its unsuspecting guests to stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Big room, comfy beds, forgetable hotel&location

Posted Sep 3, 2014
I stayed here during my first visit to Yosemite and I wasn't thrilled. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, but also nothing special: staff is friendly, beds are comfortable, rooms are huge (although our had some humidity smell), installations are old, breakfast is included but nothing to look for in the morning. Location wasn't great either. Oakhurst is a small town with a few shops and restaurants, which are decent but not exciting, and it takes more than 30min drive to get from there to the entrance of the park. Considering that we already had to drive from/to San Francisco, and that visiting Yosemite includes quite some driving inside the park, to drive to/from the hotel was annoying. If I go back I'll try to stay inside the park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Everything is great, just AC is not cold enough. Location and price are good for budget travel to Yosemite
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location but a bit of effort improve things

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, decor, coffee, gym.
Location: Yosemite is stunning and well worth visiting.
Location is ideal for Yosemite which depending where you are heading is about 30 minutes drive away. We stayed for one night - receptionist wasn't exactly welcoming but the reception was large with sufficient information around (although it had the worst coffee I have tasted for some time). Room was fine, gym was a running machine and multi gym almost in a corridor. Overall the decor is tired and it wouldn't take long to put right. The biggest issue was breakfast - there were simply too many people and there was nowhere to sit. The hotel must face this regularly so why not put some additional temporary chairs and tables in the lobby which has plenty of space. Whilst there wasn't a great deal of choice trying to eat breakfast whilst sharing a chair with my son and not having a table was frustrating - especially considering how much we paid. On leaving checkout was fine and receptionist was helpful. I would stay again due to the location (but would check other hotels first) but with a little more attention this could be a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

1 night stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Spacious and quiet.
Cons: Rooms a little tired but comfortable
Location: close to Yosemite entrance , resturants walking distance.
We stayed here one night for a quick visit to Yosemite. It was very comfortable and spacious. about 30 minutes to entrance of Yosemite, good location with shops and resturants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel,very close to the park

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: I like the location of this hotel, and staff there are very helpful
The location is very good, and the room is quite spacious. However, the complimentary breakfast doesn't have much options, comparing to other same rated hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Room -good size and clean-Bathroom smelled mildewy

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We had a nice stay. Kids liked pool and waffles at breakfast. I used the itty bitty health club. Luckily, I got their one elliptical. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There are about 3-4 restaurants very close to restaurant, which seemed like a much bigger town than the Northgare side of park. You are about 30-40 minutes from park gate.