Ratings based on 2,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent hotel, well located for Yosemite Valley

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location for Yosemite
Cons: Modernise the rooms (decor, TVs, furnishing, bathrooms)
Location: Yosemite!
This is a decent, but quite basic, hotel which is extremely well located for Yosemite NP (specifically Yosemite Valley) as it is just a few minutes drive from the park entrance. That is the primary selling point. The hotel itself is not the newest and not the fanciest, but it is good value for money as it is comfortable enough and clean. Our room had a small kitchenette attached which is convenient (microwave, fridge, sink). The decor throughout is dated and well used, but perfectly clean and functional. There are multiple buildings and each has free parking outside. There are several swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) and a mini market shop on site. As well as 2 dinner options - a pizza place and a sit down restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights and ate at the restaurant on both nights. We didn't have high expectations - but we were very impressed both times. Good quality food and service. Highly recommended (although it can take ages to get a table at busy times). If you are going in/out of Yosemite then this is an ideal stopping place. Just don't expect there to be much around - as there isn't much other than a gas station nearby!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san Francisco

Relatively close proximity to park. Otherwise poor

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: NEW MANAGEMENT AND INVESTMENT
Location: GOOD LOCATION - car journey to other facilities
Sullen staff. Stained sheets. Overall poor value, compared to facilities within the Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Excellent option close to Yosemite Park

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Can be cleaner
Location: Very close to Yosemite
Very good option to saty where you are visiting Yosemite and you were not able to find hotel inthe Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good Overall Lodging Experience

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Kitchenette, decent price, the view, location (close to the entrance of the park)
Cons: -Update the decor a bit -TV was poor quality -Check the chlorine levels more regularly
Location: This is the best thing about the lodge, it's as close to the entrance to Yosemite you can get from the highway.
My dad and I stayed here for a week while we spent time hiking around Yosemite. Generally everything about this lodge was satisfactory and met my expectations. The hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and competent. The room was clean on arrival, stocked appropriately and everything was working. During our stay everything was cleaned and stocked with no problems. The small kitchenette served us well as it meant we didn't always have to eat at the restaurant. The River Restaurant was a little on the expensive side for what the food was but that I guess is to be expected given the tourism of the area. The buffet style breakfast was more of a highlight then any of the other dinners we had there, but we always had courteous service. We also went to the pizza joint, and it was good but nothing special. I guess the only complaint that my dad had is that the spa pool/hot tub had too much chlorine in it and caused his skin to feel like it was burning when he entered it. He kept to the regular pool and it was fine. This place is all about location, it was easy to return to after a long day on our feet around the park hiking. Overall a good experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our week in the Sierra Nevadas, but it was the most outdated with the least accomodations such as free continental breakfast and wireless in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Nice motel very close to the park.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the park
Cons: Update the rooms, appeared to be quite old.
We enjoyed this place, the room was outdated but clean. The hotel was very close to the south entrance of Yosemite. A restaurant was on site, average food. A small store in the lobby was convenient. The hot tub was great after a day of hiking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern Ca.

Nice hotel close to Yosemite

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Very comfortable next to Merced river. Excellent restaurant. Breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

A worthwhile place to stay just outside the park.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Location: Great location for quick access into the Valley - just 2 miles outside the gate.
Not a bad place to stay outside the park. Rooms were large, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and a small kitchenette tops it off. Decent dining choices and market; nice breakfast buffet. Very quick and easy access to the Valley. Nice outdoor pools (indoor pool had a terrible chlorine smell). Creek was barely running when we were there, but I bet it's spectacular in the spring. Desk staff was nice but somewhat unfriendly; cleaning staff was very friendly. Decent price for just outside the Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Right outside Yosemite

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Larger hotel complex right outside the park entrance, about 20 minutes to the visitor's center and shuttle bus area. Satyed in the Sequoia building. Room itself was clean but a little dated, had a great double shower, whirlpool tub, a faux fireplace, and a kitchenette. Spend a little extra for a river view room, they have a nice little balcony with 2 chairs, a table, and a lovely view. There is a restaurant, a pizza/sandwich shop, and small grocery store. Had the breakfast buffet two mornings and dinner one night in the restaurant. The wait staff could not have been nicer or more professional, the food was good, but not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vacavlle

hotel was very nice just wish it came with free wi

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Spent two nights there and was pleased in the hotel and staff. It was very comfortable place to rest after a long day hiking up to Half dome..