Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
2 out of 5
by MackyG from London

Hotel Bastion Zaandam Zuid

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: Staff could be more accomodating
Location: Did not notice anything to do near by.
Hotel, was OK, the receptionist I encountered on arrival was rude. The Staff on reception when checking out were more polite. Hotel is 20mins..approx 50 euros to the centre of Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from San Antonio, TX

Nice Hotel on the outskirts but close enough

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The cost was very reasonable for a still rather central area. Very friendly & helpful staff. Better than your typical 'just to sleep somewhere' hotel.
Cons: Bathrooms need vents or a way to keep the doors open.
Location: It's Amsterdam!
We arrived early and were happy to be able to get into our room before the 2 pm check-in time. The hotel is located a little on the outskirts of Amsterdam but still close enough to get into the city in under half an hour through the bus stop which is located about two minutes away. The taxi ride from the airport cost a steep 60 euro so either count on the cost or bring your luggage through public transportation (which isn't that bad but we decided against it). The staff is very friendly and helpful, which really helps out a lot if you don't know the area. We ate in town so I can not comment on the breakfast but the cost was somewhere in the 7 euro range, which seems reasonable. WiFi is available and good enough to surf the web and access emails. It gave us some trouble using webcam chat on our phone with family in the US, so it is a little on the slow side but it works for your quick 5 minute check-ins. The showers take some getting used to. They are not separated with a cabin but only have slightly lowered tiles and a curtain dividing one from the room. There is no vent and the doors are hard to prop open since their closing mechanism is very strong. If you fog up the bathroom after a shower, good luck trying to get ready in front of the mirror until it clears up. That was merely a minor gripe however. There was no problem with noisy neighbors or streets which was very pleasing and important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mohan from Reading, UK

With Parking, But no access to train to Amsterdam

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall very good hotel, two basin's in the toilet. Rates reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

LOVED IT!

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
I loved this hotel! The area of Zaandam is a really nice and up and coming suburb! You can walk around the area of this hotel and have a really nice time! This hotel was a last minute booking but it was so worth it. The beds are two twins but you can smoosh them together if you're with you SO and the beds are so comfy and soft! The pillows were hands down the best I have encountered at a hotel! There isn't many places to eat nearby but there is a gas station steps away that has the BEST turkey club sandwich (may be funny but it is seriously an amazing sandwich!) so if you want different food stock up in Amsterdam and bring it to the hotel. Getting to Amsterdam is a bit pricey about 8 euro /day for back and forth which was the downside of this hotel. Stay at this hotel though!! Zaadam is truly a beautiful area!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tomahawk from London, UK

Bit far from town

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Real nice bathroom
Cons: distance from central dam
Location: secluded
Really nice hotel, bit further from central dam than i thought, but the bus was a fun journey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Cons: Receptionist
Location: Very far away from the city center. Very inconvenient
Terrible hotel, located very far away from the city center. Very inconvenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jul 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Had to go at the last minute for an emergency to Holland. The location made it easy to take care of everything and it's a nice hotel !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

very good for busines stay

Posted Jun 26, 2012
pleasent and clean, very good for busines stay, good comunication to Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

I'd go back

Posted Jun 12, 2011
Friendly staff, good location. Twenty minute bus ride to Amsterdam center.