Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Far from city center.

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
While we appreciated our stay at the Bastion, it was inconvenient to get to and from Amsterdam (our purpose for staying). The bus tickets cost 5 euros one way for 2 people. That obviously ate quite a bit of our budget. However, the hotel staff was extremely friendly. The hotel was quiet, and the beds were quite comfortable. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Chicago

Access to much with a friendly staff hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Thoughtful and cooperative staff
Cons: A more cost conscious approach for a breakfast offering.
Location: With major expressways nearby, you have immediate access to the rural, fishing areas of the north; the cities of the south and west.
By using public transportation and your own auto, you have immediate access to much of what makes Amsterdam and its environs. Drive if you must, but public transportation is very comprehensive and timely. We were in contact with 5 or 6 hotel staff members during our stay and have only positive comments about everyone of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by markq from Finland

Good experience

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a positive surprise. Only the location is a bit distant, but the staff gave me good advice for going to Amsterdam central. The easiest way is to use the bus 391 or 392. There is also Wibhautstraat in Amstel, and there is also a Bastion hotel there, and for me that was a bit confusing. The lady at the reception was however very friendly and I found my stay very pleasant. My room was clean with good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erica from Idaho

Very Comfortable and Free Parking

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised at how nice our stay was. Nothing too fancy, but the staff was very helpful and the room comfortable. It's a little out of the way, but only a ten minute drive into Amsterdam or the airport - no big deal if you have a car. That was the big drawing point for us, free parking! That's almost unheard of at Dutch hotels. There is also free wifi all through the hotel and cable TV in the rooms. Downtown Zaandam, just minutes away, is charming and had several restaurants to choose from. It also has a couple of grocery stores if you need to pick up supplies. The room had a mini-fridge, so we were able to keep milk and yogurt on hand, which was nice.
2 out of 5
by MackyG from London

Hotel Bastion Zaandam Zuid

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: Staff could be more accomodating
Location: Did not notice anything to do near by.
Hotel, was OK, the receptionist I encountered on arrival was rude. The Staff on reception when checking out were more polite. Hotel is 20mins..approx 50 euros to the centre of Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from United kingdom

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel but it's a lot further out from Amsterdam than I was expecting. I would not stay here if you are intending to sightsee in Amsterdam unless you had a car. There are close buses but it is still a 40 min trip to get to central Amsterdam and costs 8 euros return each.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from San Antonio, TX

Nice Hotel on the outskirts but close enough

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The cost was very reasonable for a still rather central area. Very friendly & helpful staff. Better than your typical 'just to sleep somewhere' hotel.
Cons: Bathrooms need vents or a way to keep the doors open.
Location: It's Amsterdam!
We arrived early and were happy to be able to get into our room before the 2 pm check-in time. The hotel is located a little on the outskirts of Amsterdam but still close enough to get into the city in under half an hour through the bus stop which is located about two minutes away. The taxi ride from the airport cost a steep 60 euro so either count on the cost or bring your luggage through public transportation (which isn't that bad but we decided against it). The staff is very friendly and helpful, which really helps out a lot if you don't know the area. We ate in town so I can not comment on the breakfast but the cost was somewhere in the 7 euro range, which seems reasonable. WiFi is available and good enough to surf the web and access emails. It gave us some trouble using webcam chat on our phone with family in the US, so it is a little on the slow side but it works for your quick 5 minute check-ins. The showers take some getting used to. They are not separated with a cabin but only have slightly lowered tiles and a curtain dividing one from the room. There is no vent and the doors are hard to prop open since their closing mechanism is very strong. If you fog up the bathroom after a shower, good luck trying to get ready in front of the mirror until it clears up. That was merely a minor gripe however. There was no problem with noisy neighbors or streets which was very pleasing and important to us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com