Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Grand Old charm hotel in centre

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Wonderful elegant hotel where we spent 3 nights. Staff very friendly. We ate in the bistro on our 1st night which was very nice and not too expensive. Location was great for trams and walking to the centre of Zagreb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

5 star rating not enough, deserves more!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Unspoiled luxury from the past era of aristocrat's life.
Cons: Do not change a thing.
Location: Enjoy Zagreb.
Felt like a royalty. Europe, North and Central America, Caribbean do not have a hotel like this. To stay at Esplanade is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

An Unexpected Gem

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Service, architecture, history, room, location.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Cloe to parks and main square. Close to shopping and restaurants.
This hotel was perfect, we stayed one night here on our way back home where we'd spent most of our trip on the coast of Croatia in Split. We really weren't expecting much of the hotel or the city of Zagreb but both exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a Deluxe King Room and had incredible views across to the train station and down to one of the parks. Walking into the central/square area with shops and restaurants was maybe a 10 minute stroll along tree-lined, park-studded streets. So tranquil and peaceful, less "touristy" than Split. Zagreb has a small city feel but with everything you'd want. Stores, monuments, parks, dining options a-plenty etc. The hotel was grand without being stuffy. The room was very clean and only reason for rating room cleanliness a 4 is because there wasn't an iron in the room (they have a trouser press) so we needed to get a shirt sent away for a press (they had it back within an hour!) and also when we swiveled the TV toward the bed, it was dusty underneath, and I'm being REALLY particular and detailed here, nothing really to complain of at all. It was all top notch. We enjoyed a hot chocolate in the bar/lounge area and it was phenomenal. Prices for a European hotel were very reasonable ($US3.50 for hot chocolate that came with a delicious small cookie, less than $US5 to press a shirt, most expensive was parking which was about $US25 so still not terrible.) Our rate included buffet breakfast and free WiFi. Definitely would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Great Hotel, close to Old Town

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Hi standards in virtually every category.
Cons: There is no swimming pool or hot tub, but it does have an adequate gym and dry heat saunas.
Location: Close to Old Town, shopping, dining and transportation.
Just stayed two nights at the Esplanade, but enjoyed it very much. Had a fine dinner in the Bistro as well. The room was very well appointed and very large by European standards. Our King bed was really a King, and the linens were high quality and very comfortable, as was the mattress. The hotel is quiet and very well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. A short three block walk through a nearby park gets you to the plazas and laneways of Old Town Zagreb and an underground mall next door gives you access to almost anything you might need. It's also very close to the train station if that's how you come in. I really have nothing negative to say about my stay at the Esplanade and if I get to Zagreb again - which I would hope to do - , I don't think I'd even consider another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Lovely hotel. We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice although on the street side which was very noisy in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Budapest

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Excelent experience. The Esplanade Zagreb rightfully deserves being considered one of the best hotels in Europe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Very elegant old world charm close to old city

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location ,cleanliness and staff.
Location: There are parks within walking distance and many cafe's and restaurants also within walking distance.
As we were ending our vacation and flying home from Zagreb, we only spent one evening at the hotel but we were happy with its close location to the old city and the parks. The hotel staff were wonderful as was the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegantly restored railway hotel, central location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
I lived in the Esplanade for two and a half years, during Croatia's war of separation. At the time it was looking worn and theadbare after about sixty years without any major renovations. Today it has been restored to its former art deco elegance. It is comfortable, gracious, but with updated plumbing, electronics, etc. One nice touch: the bistro is still playing the same music as twenty years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Everything is great about this hotel!!
Cons: The food in the Bistrot
Location: Great location! You can basically walk to the best places in the city.
Great place to relax and spoil yourself! Ivan, the sommelier in the restaurant, was a plus to our staying! Great character!! Such little details made our staying unforgettable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Charming and elegant

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Excellent service. Terrific food. Extremely comfortable. Highly recommended!