Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Virginia

Exceeded all expectations

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The great service started before we even arrived. After we found out our flight was delayed, I called ahead and they left two dinners and an appetizer plate for us in our room. We slept great and enjoyed our breakfast, lunch and dinner the next few days. We did the complementary reef walk with a guide from the hotel and it was fantastic. It got us super excited about the reef, so we booked a snorkeling trip with Scubafish (on site, but a separate company). The people selling things on the beach weren't a problem. They stayed off the beach that belonged to the hotel, and even when we decided to walk down the beach, they didn't bother us. The room was great. Lots of space and I loved the double sinks and a separate outdoor shower in the huge bathroom. We had a basic garden room, so I assume all rooms have the extra sink and shower. The whole property is very clean and well cared for. The wifi is only accessible in the lobby/front desk area, but you shouldn't be on it much anyway - the beach is just too beautiful to waste time on your phone or computer. We had the all-inclusive package. Even though it didn't include all of the drinks they offer, the extra drinks we got were very reasonably priced. Long story short - we loved every minute of our stay at Azanzi and would recommend it to anyone looking for a carefree beach vacation on Zanzibar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort is well placed. It needs some upgrades and renovations (the bathrooms, in particular, need some work) but the beach is lovely, the food was good, the staff were welcoming, and overall, we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Norway and South Africa

This is where you want to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We spent 2 nights at Azanzi and it was way too short! Upon our arival we got a room upgrade and stunning welcome drinks! We had the all inclusive package and it was so worth it! All meals were excellent! The resort is on the beach close to a bunch of activities Zanzibar has to offer. The resort staff are so helpful in arranging transport and guides for various activities! My wife had her birthday during our stay and the staff made it extra special by baking a cake and singing for her. All of the staff is very friendly and it felt that we had to say goodbye to very good friends when we left! Thank you for all the staff at Azanzi for giving us a holiday to remember!
2 out of 5
by DoubleAA from NY-FL

Overrated

Posted Oct 10, 2013
This is the sad moment of our stay in Zanzibar. I was fooled by the ratings of this hotel. This hotel did not live up to expectations for many reasons: room barely adequate for the steep price paid, bathroom like a student dormitory one with very very cheap components, negligence (we had to ask to change the whole bedding). We were surprised to find that this hotel has no TV nor Internet in the rooms. For an hotel that isolated and without other amusement at night, you can imagine how bored we were during those three nights spent there. I am not saying that is bad, I want to point that should have been clearly stated. Ownership and Travel sites should market this hotel as a specialty hotel (Scuba diving, isolation) and that it is not really suitable for the normal tourist. If you are looking for isolation, to be solitary or confined, this might be for you however. Also, the hotel layout is uncommon and the swimming pool is almost unusable because the water is always cold throughout the day. The swimming pool is not really exposed to the sun. It seems it was solely designed for scuba diving training. I stayed in four hotels in Tanzania/Zanzibar during two weeks. Sadly, this is the only one I cannot recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No power !!!

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Staff were friendly.
Cons: They need to have a plan B for power outages.
Location: Snorkelling nearby was good
I stayed 3 nights and for more than half the time no power was available. This meant no flushing toilet, no running water, so not even a cold shower, and what's worse warm beer! No apologies to me, no trying to make it up. Alos on arrival the floor flooded due to a plastic pipe coming undone in the bathroom sink. Overall a poor experience for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marvin from Lagos

Best summer holiday in years!

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Great atmosphere, location and activities.
Cons: A wider drinks selection.
Location: Beach front resort with lots of water sports on offer as well as trips into the local town and visiting a spice farm.
A holiday that delivered exactly what we wanted. The Azanzi Beach hotel delivered the right balance between activities and a relaxing holiday. It was really nice to stay in a beach resort that is not your standard hotel block complex, our room has a genuine authentic feel to it with amicable space divided up well and lovely furniture that was well looked after. The private decking with jacuzzi was a really nice touch as well as the outside shower. Ideally located on the beautiful beach which was in extremely close proximity to they hotel bar! The communal facilities were all well kept and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of food at meal times, alternating between buffet and al a carte, but always pleasing. The hotel offers numerous activities on and off site, all advertised and organised by the hotel. The adjoining diving school (Scuba Fish) offered a great range of water based activities and the staff there were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend the scuba diving and the snorkelling trips, swimming with dolphins was an unbelievable experience! The hotel management were very hands on and engaging which is a dramatic change from the usual hotel resorts where you never even see the management. This hotel offers a great mix between activities and relaxation and it seemed that all guests were like minded, which created a friendly environment with a good balance of interaction but own personal space too. Would recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from UK

Chilled and relaxed

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Beautiful setting and a nicely finished hotel. All staff were very friendly and attentive. We used the diving facilities which were well run. We stayed all inclusive and the food was different everyday and delicious. The beach was quiet and we didn't get hassled. We had a fantastic stay here and highly recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Devine

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: Unfussy and charming
Heaven on earth. Unfussy, simple, restfull and peacefull. Came home totally recharged. As an added bonus the diving was also fantastic.