Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel is in a good location

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: it being close to town
Cons: the staff being more willing to help. - the breakfast is very poor. the sheets being clean.
we were told to check out by 10 - the breakfast was poor and the tv didnt work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Casey from California

Nice spot in heart of stone town

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was fine, good location, nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristin from Vancouver

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and the staff was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate. Not great.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Rooftop had excellent views - I was up there almost every night drinking as the sun set.
Cons: More comfortable furnishings in the rooms, fixing the bathroom plumbing
Location: You're right in central Stone Town - all the highlights of the area are nearby.
Booked this place looking for a comfortable hotel in Stone Town to relax after a really tough hike up Kilimanjaro. While the location was excellent and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the physical room/hotel itself was a bit drab and shabby. Bed was not comfortable - hard mattress, itchy blankets. Phone in my hotel room did not work, and though I reported it, it was never fixed. Tub/shower leaked around the edges, leaving puddles everywhere, and the bathroom itself smelled quite bad. These were small things, yes - they didn't make my stay terrible, but it was not what I was looking for. Was hoping for a more comfortable hotel.
2 out of 5
by lS from Sydney NSW, Australia

july 2013

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast
Location: good spot right near the main tourist area of stone town. walking distance to all attractions
hotel is great location and front desk staff are friendly and helpful. bathrooms are old and need a revamp, resteraunt is not worth considering for a meal, staff at breakfast are rude and unhelpful, the food selection was worse than 2* hotels i have stayed in. i would recommend eating out at breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Otley, UK

Nice and central

Posted Oct 27, 2012
Pros: Location and comfort
Cons: Lack of pick up from the airport
Location: Central and easy to get into the hear of Stone Town
Nice hotel in a ood location for exploring Stone Town Out of the door; turn right and you are soon at Jaws Corner and in the heart of the town. We got a second floor room and I would recommend 2nd or higher as the lower floor looked like it may have difficulty with windows. Given how everyone is on top of each other in Stone Town this was nice and quiet and has a nice rooftop restaurant for breakfast (we did not eat at other times). One down side we were promised a collection from the airport but it was not arranged
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yanch from TLV, Israel

nice building and good location

Posted Oct 17, 2012
Pros: beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good location, friendly staff, airport pickup.
Cons: wifi somewhat problematic, breakfast bit too simple
Location: great, central but quiet
+ beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good location, friendly staff, airport pickup. - wifi somewhat problematic, breakfast bit too simple
4 out of 5
Recommended
by m lonsdale

Posted Sep 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
You need to be aware that the tel no. you give for the hotel is wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Great looking, but some flaws

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: Beauty
Cons: Lack of amenities
Location: Well located, but hard to find.
The hotel is traditionally styled and is very nicely decorated. The staff was also quite accommodating. The room is also beautiful. However, the beds were quite hard (and I generally like hard beds!), no shampoo, cheap sheets, etc. There weren't many guest so my sense is that they are under some financial strain (the roof top restaurant -- with a great view -- was pretty deserted). Do take a cab there as it will be pretty impossible to find on your own because of the twisting streets (even then we had to walk 30 meters or so because of the narrowness of the streets). In summary, a great place to look at with good service, but lacking on the amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Hotels.com