Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overally great. However could be better.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The house keeping is awesome. Well maintained rooms and grounds. Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Overall experience was magnificent.
Cons: The food was awful. From breakfast to dinner. The catering was excellent though.
Location: The neighbour hood is like a war zone and very scary. Loads of activities to do.
Magical experience. Apart from the mosquitoes. Some of the staff their attitude needs a bit of fine tuning, overally everyone is friendly and helpfull. I thoroughly enjoyed mystay although the food was the worst in my life. Above all I give my experience 4/5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NATIGA from DAR ES SALLAM

VERY GOOD LOCATION, HOTEL AREA

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: WELCOME COOKIE,GARDEN,PLAY AREA, BEACH AREA,HOTEL SPACE.
Cons: PILLOWS PILLOWS PILLOWS!!!
Location: I SAW ONLY GERRY BAR NEXT TO HOTEL, QUITE SYMPHATETIC PLACE TO HANG OUT FOR DRINKS. DID NOT LIKE FOOD AT ALL... FEW MINUTES WALKING TO LOCAL VILLAGE.
THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE WITH DOUBLE TREE/HILTON. HAVE CHOSEN IN FROM TRIPADVISOR SITE FOR ITS NAME( HILTON) AND RATING,THOUGH THERE WERE FEW NEGATIVE COMMENTS. I GUESS DIFFICULT TO PLEASE EVERYONE,BUT FOR ME IMPORTANT IS HOTEL SECURITY /SAFETY, ROOM SIZE,BED AND BREAKFAST. I AM NOT VERY PICKY BUT I KNOW WHAT I GO FOR WHEN CHOSING HOTEL/RESORT. I MUST PUT THIS COMMENT ABOUT DOUBLE TREE NUNGWI HOPING HOTEL INVESTORS REACT ON. HORRIBLE PILLOWS!!!!!!! I CAN CLOSE EYES ON MANY OTHER NEGATIVE THINGS BUT BAD SLEEP IS SOMETHING YOU CANNOT IGNORE. COMMON... WISHING SWEET DREAMS AND PROVIDING BAD PILLOWS DOES NOT MATCH. BAD SMELL IN BATHROOM FROM TIME TO TIME WHICH I DIDNT MIND A LOT BUT UNPLEASANT WHEN SMELLS ALL OVER IN ROOM IF BATHROOM DOOR STAYS OPEN. ROOM SIZE NOT REALLY BIG COMPARE WHOLE HOTEL AREA BUT ITS OK FOR 2 PPL, NO WAY EXTRA BED CAN BE FITTED IN. ROOM FURNITURE/DECOR/DESIGN SO SO..HOTEL COULD DO BETTER SINCE GOOD LOCAL WOOD USED. BREAKFAST BELOW AVERAGE BUT OK... DID NOT HAVE GREAT EXPECTATONS ANYWAY, I GUESS THE CHEF NOT WELL TRAINED,NOT EVERYONE CAN MAKE GOOD CROISSANTS...LUNCH BUFFET AND DINNER IS OK SINCE NO BETTET OPTIONS AROUND TO EAT ELSEWHERE. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS VERY GOOD, ESPECIALLY WELCOME COOKIE!! LOVELY GARDEN, PLAY AND POOL AREA, RIGHT IN FRONT OF OCEAN AND NO OTHER PPL /STRANGERSAROUND, ISOLATED AND SUPERQUIET PLACE WHICH I LOVED. I WOULD SURELY GO BACK TO SAME HOTEL BUT WITH MY OWN PILLOW.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JoeG from France

Excellent Beach Resort

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, the second of our hotels on the island. The rooms, location, and food were all very good. The beach outside the hotel was tidal, so swimming was just twice a day, but a 10 minute walk along the beach, there was 24 hour swimming available, as the water was deeper. There is not much to do in the surroundings, and this is purely a beach location. A good place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Lina

Much better options out there

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: That's it's right next door to Gerry's
Cons: The swimming pool needs some serious cleaning!
Location: Gerry's bar on the beach is a very cool place to hang out, and to eat! Highly recommended
The overall experience is not too bad. The food is good, breakfast is actually better than other hotels around Nungwi. Major problem was the swimming pool, which was disgusting and needed some serious cleaning; something you only realize AFTER you get in! The best thing about this hotel is that it's right next door to Gerry's Bar; the coolest place on the island!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel unless all inclusive

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: It worked as a relaxing stay after a safari in east Africa.
Cons: Customer service for non all inclusive guests
Location: Good beach restraurants for sunset drinks and dinner on the sand. Loco and Waves are both recommended.
Firstly, we paid for a seafront room but were given a room furthest back from the beach, when we we showed our reservation we were kept waiting for 2hrs before being shown a small dull room with no private balcony and most of the beach obscured by the wall of another room, this room was actually a family room divided in half! We ended up back in the original room. Then the mini bar was removed from the fridge, when I questioned this I was told that only all inclusive guests can have a minibar and if we wanted drinks we needed to get them from the pool bar. Surely allowing non all inclusive guests to pay for drinks in the room would not be to much to ask. Also the cocktails at the pool bar were a poor excuse for a drink, a half filled plastic glass is maybe just about exceptable if your all-in but not when your being charged £7 a pop, also the pool itself needed a good clean. I would advise eating at one of the great nearby beach restraurants as the hotel food is pretty basic (again geared up for all-inclusive). Finally we asked if we could checkout a couple of hours later as we had an evening flight, first reception said they had us checking out the next day, when we said it actually today we were told our room was needed, go figure!!! Anyway, this isn't a terrible hotel, just go all-in and accept the shortcomings in service, otherwise avoid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nati from Tel Aviv, Israel

Amazing hotel, very good location and great staff

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The staff were friendly and willing to helpful with every request, always with smile. I liked the girl in the Spa, named Miriam, great employee
Cons: The breakfast was good but maybe need more variety at breakfast.
Location: The hotel located on the beach, with sun bed. You can find many diving clubs and sports activities.
We had great time at Nungwi beach, especially because of the beautiful hotel and the friendly staff. The great location and friendly staff made unforgettable vacation. We will recommend.
2 out of 5
by DJ from Dubai

Hilton or Hell-ton?

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Only two good things about this Hotel. (a) It's location. But it really doesn't matter because all of Zanzibar coast is fabulous. (b) Pool bar.
Cons: Everything in this Hotel needs improvement, desperately. Approach road, staff behaviour, food choices, floor paint in the rooms, Hotel management, etc
Location: Awesome location on Nungwi beach. Village visit, Turtle Farm, Snorkelling, Parasailing and just lazying around on the white sands of Zanzibar!
Situated on the pristine Nungwi Beach of Zanzibar, this Hotel is all name with no fame. Approach road to the Hotel is full of little swimming pools (read: potholes) which test the off-road capability of your vehicle. Rooms are generally not ready when you arrive. If you are feeling thirsty upon arrival, the Hotel will charge you for a "welcome glass of water" while you wait for the rooms to be ready. Food might have a cockroach (just like our Jozani Veg Curry!) and the staff will neither acknowledge nor apologise. "This can happen anywhere" is the comment from this Hotel's F&B Manager! Rooms have a strange red-paint on the floor that clings to your feet as it was in love with them. Breakfast is exactly the same every day - I mean EXACTLY. No variety to pamper your taste buds. And for the Vegans, this Hotel is a tough luck. No Vegan food choices at all. Worse - beware that the staff may ask you get salt and pepper for them. Be prepared to serve and not be served. Hotel's General Manager is on a trip - refuses to meet leave alone acknowledge a problem. Last but not the least - take at least an hour, if not more, for check-out formalities. In-room dining or Restaurant bills will be missing but you will be asked to pay! Is this really Hilton? or Hell-ton?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laura & Tom from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Quality of the hotel in general and the room. All to a very high standard.
Location: The hotel can organize trips and excursions for you. We had a good day scuba diving at Mnemba Atoll. Not much to see/do in Nungwi village itself.
Double Tree is a beautiful hotel. Everything was to a very high standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening buffet was good but we preferred the Fishermans Restaurant with the a la carte menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelholic from England, UK

Great family trip

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Service is laid back but thats Zanzibar
Location: Stunning beachfront hotel next to a working fishing village
This is our second time here and the place has improved greatly. Buffet dinners and activities poolside and beach side together with a stunning location.