Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in stone town...

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you're a 'hotel' kind of person then look elsewhere...if you have exceptional taste and are looking for a well run local accommodation then this is the place to try. My only concern is that if it becomes too popular I won't get a room next time I'm in stone town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Elizabeth from Afghanistan

Excellent Stone Town Luxury

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a superb stay at the Jafferji House. From the pickup at the airport (pre-arranged directly with the hotel) to the tours, the spa experiences, the food and the service, the experience was outstanding. Responsive, friendly and knowledgeable staff. A truly memorable stay, for all the best reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by D from Virginia, USA

Jafferji House and Spa

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Unique accommodation.
Cons: Perhaps restaurant - change breakfast to buffet or some kind of self-serve.
Location: Within immediate walking distance, not much except vendors. One street behind is lovely Mrembo Spa; waterfront is easy walk but not safe at night.
Beautiful hotel, very unique, richly decorated. Two negatives: 1. Location: hotel is located on tight alley with many vendors, but not much else i.e., restaurants. It's easy enough to walk towards waterfront for restaurants but not a walk you want to do at night, it is not safe; nor did I care to walk it even during the day solo - they vendors keep after you, which I normally don't mind but there was no way to just browse without being bothered by the next vendor. I ended up shopping for souvenirs at a large touristy store just to have some peace. 2. Restaurant: service is extremely slow - every meal is sit-down service off menu (doesn't change) - which is fine for lunch or dinner (but they do not serve alcohol) but breakfast took almost 50 minutes. Gallery Tours operates out of Jafferji - shop around, Lonely Planet and other guidebooks have recommendations for accredited tour operators. I used Gallery out of sheer convenience as I didn't have much time in Stone Town, but think they are over-priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Unreliable

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts are very good. Moderately fast wifi is provided to all the rooms. Security guard posted outside. Air conditioning.
Cons: Don't double sell rooms. Clean bathroom tubs. Turn down service should be done earlier than 9 p.m.
Location: Great location in Stone Town. Go to Changuu or Prison island. Shops are nearby. Street food in plaza is amazing.
I booked a standard room for two nights at this hotel after reading several reviews praising it for its romantic atmosphere and high quality rooms. Unfortunately, due to a problem with the arranged transportation to Zanzibar, we were only able to make it to the hotel one night late. We attempted to contact the hotel and notify them of our tardiness but the listed phone number on both Expedia and Jafferji's website was incorrect. Consequently, upon our arrival, the manager notified us that he had sold our room to someone else early in the morning. This happened despite the fact that we had booked, and paid for, a room at the hotel. The manager was very sorry for having resold our room and tried to find us a comparable room at a different hotel. He sent us to Emerson Spice hotel which ended up being the best hotel we stayed at in stone town. We did want to give Jafferji a second chance as it is supposed to be one of the best in stone town so we booked two more nights there for few days later. I can't help saying that this was a mistake. The green chipped concrete tub in the bathroom had tons of sand in it. I expected someone to wash it out when cleaning the room. Another quite annoying experience was that we received a knock at the door at 9pm asking if we wanted turn down service then. A little late for turn down for me... I'd say the main competitor to Jafarji in the same price range would be Emerson Spice, which quite frankly blows Jafarji out of water in every way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London, UK

Charming and unusual small in tradirtional buildin

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Good breakfast, served individually. Location excellent for sightseeing on foot.
Cons: Avoid rather "naff" Christmas muzak in dining room. Odd smell of drains in bathroom part of bedroom.
Location: Ten minutes on foot from hydrofoil terminal. Right in the heart of the old town.
Chose hotel because of its location in the old part of Zanzibar (Stone Town). It is entered off a narrow alley (no cars) and is built around a series of courtyards. Rooms (which have individual names rather than numbers) have studded wooden doors and stylish interior decor. Beds have mosquito nets, not really required since rooms have fans and air conditioning. Ambience is quiet and artistic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, but service could do with improvement

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel has lots of character and is creatively decorated. The breakfast was also good.
Cons: The service was very average. They were good at asking if everything was ok but didn't actually listen or act on the responses which was annoying.
Given the positive reviews we were somewhat disappointed with our stay. We loved the d├ęcor but the thing that let it down was the service. Very Average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric D. from Baltimore, MD

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Stone

Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. Great photographs from Javed Jafferji cover the walls along with cool antiques and beautiful lamps/colored glass/mirrors everywhere. All the rooms have fans and A/C which was a must in the heat of November in Zanzibar. Fantastic customer service. Extremely accomodating when we arrived at 3am the day of our checkin - they let us check in early and even take a nap before our reservation officially started. Reception desk was extremely attentive to all of our requests and arranged excellent excursions for us at reasonable prices (highly recommend the Spice Tour and the sunset Dhow cruise was pretty good as well). The hotel is right in the middle of old Stone Town, you can easily walk to all of Stone Town (from the beach to Creek Rd) from the hotel within 10-15 minutes, though it can be easy to get lost a bit in all the old alleyways. The only possible "negative" I can think of is that the location prevents them from having a nearby parking lot, so you do have to walk a couple hundred yards through the alleys of Stone Town to get from your taxi/transfer to the hotel. Not a problem for us, as we didn't have much luggage, but if you did have a lot of bags that might be a little long to carry the bags. Breakfast was good, definitely recommend the Pure Veg platter (and we aren't vegetarian, it was just really delicious Indian style food).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Asensio from Monterrey, Mexico

Great Experince in Zanzibar

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Extraordinary service, friendly, knowlegable and extremely helpful staff. Beautiful hotel! Very conveniently located, near to everything there is to see and do in Zanzibar I highly recomend it!