Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Zambia

Princess treatment

Posted Jan 22, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was given excellent treatment by the staff, greeted by name and met with a cold towel and fresh fruit juice at check in. I was given a complimentary upgrade to one of the superior suites which had many nice little touches of hospitality. The complimentary breakfast was very generous and had many more options than most places I have stayed before. They also arranged for me to have a very late check out from my room to accommodate my early evening departure time. Was glad I decided to "treat myself" to more than a budget hotel because I was certainly treated well by this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elisabethfrom Oslo

En oase i Stown Town

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi hadde to overnattinger her. Hotellet ligger beskyttet mot støy fra handlegater utenfra. Nydelig swahilisk frokost, flott opplevelse med middag på takterrassen. Hele hotellet er vakkert innredet med antikviteter og nydelige fotografier av fotografen Jafferjei. Flott at rommene som ikke var i bruk sto åpne slik at man kunne ta en titt inn. Dette er noe vi absolutt vil anbefale andre som skal til Stown Town. Cama Sutra suiten, med utedusj på egen takterasse, var deilig etter å ha ruslet rundt i gatene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeannettefrom Ansager

Fantastisk hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet var ganske enkelt fantastisk. Vi blev godt modtaget i receptionen med forfriskende nedkølede håndklude og en velkomst drink, og blev derefter fulgt op på vores værelse. Vi havde egentlig booket et dobbeltværelse, men hotellet havde opgraderet os til Kamasutra suiten (gratis)- suiten var så gennemført i Zanzibar stilen, alt var perfekt. Der var et bredt sortiment mht morgenmaden, og alle ansatte var høflige, smilende og meget behjælpelige. Hotellet ligger midt i byen, der er sikkerhedsvagt ved døren - samt kan man på hotellet betale med visa og MasterCard. Vi vil helt klart anbefale dette hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariafrom München

Tolles Hotel, individuelle Zimmer, sehr stylisch.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Das tolle Zimmer, zum Wohlfühlen!
Cons: Ganz klar: Der Service und das verschlafene Personal!
Location: Mitten in der Stadt und man kann alles zu Fuß erlaufen!
Ein sehr exklusiv und mit viel Geschmack eingerichtetes Hotel. Das Essen im eigenen Restaurant war sehr gut, ein leckeres Frühstück. Das Hotel liegt mitten in der Innenstadt, von wo man die Forohdahni Gärten und die Darajahni Märkte sehr gut aus erreichen kann. Die Gegend ist sehr sicher. Das Zimmer war super sauber, mit allem, was man sich wünschen kann! Leider war das Personal dermaßen verschlafen. Wir wollten wissen, über welchen Anbieter wir eine Gewürztour machen können, da kam nichts. Oder wo man abends noch gut essen gehen kann: "Überall." Oder was wir uns noch anschauen sollten: "Ihr könnt euch überall sicher bewegen." Kein Service und nichts, was den Aufenthalt irgendwie persönlich bereichert hätte. Keine Herzlichkeit und keine Nachfragen. Ist uns selten so gegangen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Service, Great Location, Average Rooms

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: The staff were fantastic and very flexible. The breakfast was large and tasty, with many options. Located right in the heart of Stone Town, the hotel is a short walk from most of the places of interest. Cons: No door or proper wall between the bathroom and the sleeping room. While the room was large, it seemed awkwardly setup for lounging, but was fine for sleeping. Beds were a bit less comfortable than anticipated for the price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alissafrom boston

Amazing- Best room I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent nearly a week in the Mercury Suite of the Jafferji House in May, 2014. It was literally one of my favorite hotel rooms that I've ever stayed in. It was amazing. I had a huge, comfortable bed, a big shower, tv, sitting area, and all amenities. It smelled good, was climate controlled, and just had a lot of character, just like the rest of the hotel. The staff was amazing, especially some of the guys that were always in the main area, cleaning, or helping me with my bags, or just to say hi and teach me a few new Swahili words. Also, the housekeeping was always amazing and I was so happy to come home to a comfortable room, the turndown service was a treat, and I loved the personal touches on the bed like the Swahili proverbs, the candy and the tea at the end of my stay. The restaurant was also delicious, and I definitely recommend that you try pilau rice and the lentil curry. The kitchen staff was nice, but just be aware that everything is made to order so leave time for your meal. It is obvious the Jafferji takes customer service very seriously and wants you to be totally satisfied. The only disappointment I had was that the spa was under renovation, so I had to go to Cinnamon spa down the street- probably not as good as Jafferji would have been! And, my only warning would be that if you are two people, there is no actual door on the bathroom, so be warned in this particular suite. Overall, I LOVED the Jafferji and would definitely stay here again.