Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariafrom München

Tolles Hotel, individuelle Zimmer, sehr stylisch.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Das tolle Zimmer, zum Wohlfühlen!
Cons: Ganz klar: Der Service und das verschlafene Personal!
Location: Mitten in der Stadt und man kann alles zu Fuß erlaufen!
Ein sehr exklusiv und mit viel Geschmack eingerichtetes Hotel. Das Essen im eigenen Restaurant war sehr gut, ein leckeres Frühstück. Das Hotel liegt mitten in der Innenstadt, von wo man die Forohdahni Gärten und die Darajahni Märkte sehr gut aus erreichen kann. Die Gegend ist sehr sicher. Das Zimmer war super sauber, mit allem, was man sich wünschen kann! Leider war das Personal dermaßen verschlafen. Wir wollten wissen, über welchen Anbieter wir eine Gewürztour machen können, da kam nichts. Oder wo man abends noch gut essen gehen kann: "Überall." Oder was wir uns noch anschauen sollten: "Ihr könnt euch überall sicher bewegen." Kein Service und nichts, was den Aufenthalt irgendwie persönlich bereichert hätte. Keine Herzlichkeit und keine Nachfragen. Ist uns selten so gegangen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Service, Great Location, Average Rooms

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: The staff were fantastic and very flexible. The breakfast was large and tasty, with many options. Located right in the heart of Stone Town, the hotel is a short walk from most of the places of interest. Cons: No door or proper wall between the bathroom and the sleeping room. While the room was large, it seemed awkwardly setup for lounging, but was fine for sleeping. Beds were a bit less comfortable than anticipated for the price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alissafrom boston

Amazing- Best room I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent nearly a week in the Mercury Suite of the Jafferji House in May, 2014. It was literally one of my favorite hotel rooms that I've ever stayed in. It was amazing. I had a huge, comfortable bed, a big shower, tv, sitting area, and all amenities. It smelled good, was climate controlled, and just had a lot of character, just like the rest of the hotel. The staff was amazing, especially some of the guys that were always in the main area, cleaning, or helping me with my bags, or just to say hi and teach me a few new Swahili words. Also, the housekeeping was always amazing and I was so happy to come home to a comfortable room, the turndown service was a treat, and I loved the personal touches on the bed like the Swahili proverbs, the candy and the tea at the end of my stay. The restaurant was also delicious, and I definitely recommend that you try pilau rice and the lentil curry. The kitchen staff was nice, but just be aware that everything is made to order so leave time for your meal. It is obvious the Jafferji takes customer service very seriously and wants you to be totally satisfied. The only disappointment I had was that the spa was under renovation, so I had to go to Cinnamon spa down the street- probably not as good as Jafferji would have been! And, my only warning would be that if you are two people, there is no actual door on the bathroom, so be warned in this particular suite. Overall, I LOVED the Jafferji and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in stone town...

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you're a 'hotel' kind of person then look elsewhere...if you have exceptional taste and are looking for a well run local accommodation then this is the place to try. My only concern is that if it becomes too popular I won't get a room next time I'm in stone town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by HI

Et fantastisk spennende hotell

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi booket dette hotellet siden vi ikke var fornøyd med stedet vi var på. Dette ble en kjempesuksess. Dette er et av de hotellene som bare MÅ besøkes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.