Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel, small and charming

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well located, beautiful rooms, it was a shame that the spa facilities were under renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic enticing hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Service.
This hotel is well appointed and finish in fabulous Swahili style. An eclectic blend of furnishing and decor. The rooms were very inviting. The location was perfectly situated in the middle of Stone Town's intriguing streets. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was good, tasty and good serving sizes. Loved the whole stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Service, Great Location, Average Rooms

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: The staff were fantastic and very flexible. The breakfast was large and tasty, with many options. Located right in the heart of Stone Town, the hotel is a short walk from most of the places of interest. Cons: No door or proper wall between the bathroom and the sleeping room. While the room was large, it seemed awkwardly setup for lounging, but was fine for sleeping. Beds were a bit less comfortable than anticipated for the price point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alissa from boston

Amazing- Best room I have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent nearly a week in the Mercury Suite of the Jafferji House in May, 2014. It was literally one of my favorite hotel rooms that I've ever stayed in. It was amazing. I had a huge, comfortable bed, a big shower, tv, sitting area, and all amenities. It smelled good, was climate controlled, and just had a lot of character, just like the rest of the hotel. The staff was amazing, especially some of the guys that were always in the main area, cleaning, or helping me with my bags, or just to say hi and teach me a few new Swahili words. Also, the housekeeping was always amazing and I was so happy to come home to a comfortable room, the turndown service was a treat, and I loved the personal touches on the bed like the Swahili proverbs, the candy and the tea at the end of my stay. The restaurant was also delicious, and I definitely recommend that you try pilau rice and the lentil curry. The kitchen staff was nice, but just be aware that everything is made to order so leave time for your meal. It is obvious the Jafferji takes customer service very seriously and wants you to be totally satisfied. The only disappointment I had was that the spa was under renovation, so I had to go to Cinnamon spa down the street- probably not as good as Jafferji would have been! And, my only warning would be that if you are two people, there is no actual door on the bathroom, so be warned in this particular suite. Overall, I LOVED the Jafferji and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in stone town...

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you're a 'hotel' kind of person then look elsewhere...if you have exceptional taste and are looking for a well run local accommodation then this is the place to try. My only concern is that if it becomes too popular I won't get a room next time I'm in stone town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ

Tranquility in the heat of Stonetown...

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, spice scented, beautiful rooms. Centrally located and easy to find. Javed Jafferji's stunning photography is everywhere so something interesting to find in every nook and cranny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Elizabeth from Afghanistan

Excellent Stone Town Luxury

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a superb stay at the Jafferji House. From the pickup at the airport (pre-arranged directly with the hotel) to the tours, the spa experiences, the food and the service, the experience was outstanding. Responsive, friendly and knowledgeable staff. A truly memorable stay, for all the best reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by D from Virginia, USA

Jafferji House and Spa

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Unique accommodation.
Cons: Perhaps restaurant - change breakfast to buffet or some kind of self-serve.
Location: Within immediate walking distance, not much except vendors. One street behind is lovely Mrembo Spa; waterfront is easy walk but not safe at night.
Beautiful hotel, very unique, richly decorated. Two negatives: 1. Location: hotel is located on tight alley with many vendors, but not much else i.e., restaurants. It's easy enough to walk towards waterfront for restaurants but not a walk you want to do at night, it is not safe; nor did I care to walk it even during the day solo - they vendors keep after you, which I normally don't mind but there was no way to just browse without being bothered by the next vendor. I ended up shopping for souvenirs at a large touristy store just to have some peace. 2. Restaurant: service is extremely slow - every meal is sit-down service off menu (doesn't change) - which is fine for lunch or dinner (but they do not serve alcohol) but breakfast took almost 50 minutes. Gallery Tours operates out of Jafferji - shop around, Lonely Planet and other guidebooks have recommendations for accredited tour operators. I used Gallery out of sheer convenience as I didn't have much time in Stone Town, but think they are over-priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Unreliable

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts are very good. Moderately fast wifi is provided to all the rooms. Security guard posted outside. Air conditioning.
Cons: Don't double sell rooms. Clean bathroom tubs. Turn down service should be done earlier than 9 p.m.
Location: Great location in Stone Town. Go to Changuu or Prison island. Shops are nearby. Street food in plaza is amazing.
I booked a standard room for two nights at this hotel after reading several reviews praising it for its romantic atmosphere and high quality rooms. Unfortunately, due to a problem with the arranged transportation to Zanzibar, we were only able to make it to the hotel one night late. We attempted to contact the hotel and notify them of our tardiness but the listed phone number on both Expedia and Jafferji's website was incorrect. Consequently, upon our arrival, the manager notified us that he had sold our room to someone else early in the morning. This happened despite the fact that we had booked, and paid for, a room at the hotel. The manager was very sorry for having resold our room and tried to find us a comparable room at a different hotel. He sent us to Emerson Spice hotel which ended up being the best hotel we stayed at in stone town. We did want to give Jafferji a second chance as it is supposed to be one of the best in stone town so we booked two more nights there for few days later. I can't help saying that this was a mistake. The green chipped concrete tub in the bathroom had tons of sand in it. I expected someone to wash it out when cleaning the room. Another quite annoying experience was that we received a knock at the door at 9pm asking if we wanted turn down service then. A little late for turn down for me... I'd say the main competitor to Jafarji in the same price range would be Emerson Spice, which quite frankly blows Jafarji out of water in every way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London, UK

Charming and unusual small in tradirtional buildin

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Good breakfast, served individually. Location excellent for sightseeing on foot.
Cons: Avoid rather "naff" Christmas muzak in dining room. Odd smell of drains in bathroom part of bedroom.
Location: Ten minutes on foot from hydrofoil terminal. Right in the heart of the old town.
Chose hotel because of its location in the old part of Zanzibar (Stone Town). It is entered off a narrow alley (no cars) and is built around a series of courtyards. Rooms (which have individual names rather than numbers) have studded wooden doors and stylish interior decor. Beds have mosquito nets, not really required since rooms have fans and air conditioning. Ambience is quiet and artistic.