Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brett from Los Angeles

Great place to relax.

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The super friendly staff puts this place over the top. The large comfortable rooms are light and airy. The included meals are good and served at all the right times. The hotel is about an hour and a half from Stone Town and more or less isolated so if your looking to be in the mix this is not for you. My only real complaint is that when booking on Hotels.com I didn't realize or was not offered an ocean view which is far better then the Garden view we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
3 out of 5
by Max from Russia

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Very friendly, very helpfull staff, very good breakfast and dinner, but lunch was not. Ones ordered lobster and prowns and thay were unfresh. Main disadvantage is lots of crows are croaking from 5am to 7 pm
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from London

A slice of paradise.

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have never been more impressed with the level of hospitality and service given to me by an accommodation provider. This beautifully positioned lodge was run by the warmest and friendly staff and I really felt like they cared for our time with them. The food was incredible and the environment was the perfect place to remedy the stress of big city living. I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a more genuine and calming alternative to the big resorts on the island. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patrick

Excellent stay!

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The staff and the view.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The beach is great!
Kichanga lodge is a beautiful place right on the beach. The lodges are well-maintained and have amazing views of the ocean. The best part about Kichanga, though, is the staff. They are wonderful and will help you in any way they are able. It is a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and a great way to retreat from fast-paced life for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura & Tom from UK

Great little getaway

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Great location and excellent service.
Location: Remote location, but that's why we loved it. The hotel can organize plenty of trips and excursions for you. The Rock Restaurant is worth a visit!
My partner and I spent 4 nights at Kichanga Lodge. We had a lovely time. Was very tranquil, quiet and relaxing. The rooms aren't fancy, but that doesn't matter you have your own little beach bungalow with lots of privacy and beautiful views. The food is great, especially the evening buffet. And all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back/recommend to anyone who wants a quiet little get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robyn from Canada

Beautiful Beach, Great Food, Excellent Service

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at Kichanga Lodge for four nights. The lodge is semi isolated so the beach felt private. The rooms are simple and have a rustic feel. It is a great place to be lazy and just relax and enjoy the scenery of the ocean and watching the changing tides. The owner of the resort is very involved in making sure his guests are happy. He makes sure to meet the guests staying at the lodge and that they are enjoying their stay. The food is also very good! One suggestion would be to book an ocean front cabin so you get the sea breeze, as there is no A/C in the lodges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic stay at Kichanga Lodge with family - had deluxe room that included separate room for the children in cottage. Be sure to walk out slightly left during low tide to see thousands of large, colourful starfish. The Rock is only a 20 minute walk down the beach as well. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is that they don't provide drinking water - must be purchased at the bar where all drinks are overpriced. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kirk

Great place away from everything

Posted Dec 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great to be away from everything. One thing to be aware, there is nothing close, so be prepared. We loved it as a family after having been travelling for a month. We had time to catch up on schoolwork. Staff made our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from London

An amazing little paradise.

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: The staff
Cons: I can't think of anything , it was amazing
Location: Quiet relaxed, deserted beaches with amazing snorkling.
Kichanga Lodge is one of the most fantastic places to stay. Friendly , warm staff, amazing hospitality, the food was scrummy fresh, clean and delicious. Highly recommend this place for the most relaxing time. The beach is lush!!! I really liked that the lodge supports the local community with jobs and helps with the local schools through a charity. I think this is a very special place and we were very lucky to go. It should not be missed.