Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, delicious food, awesome rooftop bar, clean and nice rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.A.E

Nice & close to every day need 4 a tourist.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
They made a mistake by giving me the wrong room not the one I paid 4 but they solved my complain immediately after I brought to their attention. I recommend as it is very secure. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel close to markets and water

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We had one night in Stone Town and stayed at Maru Maru. The hotel arranged for a tour guide to take us through the streets and give us a brief history of the town - very good tour. We had lunch and dinner at the rooftop restaurant and enjoyed the meals immensely. The room was very bright, clean and comfortable. The washroom was clean and beautiful. We were able to leave our bags in storage for 3 hours while we wandered the streets and the hotel arranged for a driver to take us to the airport. Overall it was a fantastic stay at Maru Maru Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

I came back for more

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I had an excellent experience at this hotel. The management and staff were incredibly helpful during my stay and when I checked out to go north - then promptly returned later that day because I hated the other hotel I had booked - everyone helped get me my old room, despite the hotel being at/near capacity. With regard to the rooms, I love the pervasive clean white lines and dark wood accents - simply lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by M. Varma from San Francisco

Delightful!

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
So happy me and my husband decided to stay here for a week. I was thinking the hotel would be rustic since the rate per night was so inexpensive but it turned out to be beautifully refurbished, elegant, comfortable with great service! The rooftop bar is fabulous and on certain night there is live lounge music. Also walking distance from the ferry terminal with a great central location in stone town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elisabeth from South Sudan

Service are the best

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice and I will recommend it to friend, BUT improve the breakfast not good enough, veggies, fruit, cheese, ham missed that .Service is fantastic and location great.. Pool and Maru Maru would have been top 10!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from New York City

Good value, pleasant experience

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Staff was pleasant and helpful. Hotel is new, so room (although small) was clean and pleasant.
Cons: Breakfast was only fair, and not included, so had we known, we would have eaten elsewhere. Didn't try any other meals though...
Location: Museum and House of Wonder are close by. Spice tour is a must. Good location to explore the shops and markets. Airport and ferry are close by.
Only stayed for a single night, but the hotel allowed us a late checkout so that we not only had the room up until our departure, but were able to shower and prepare for our long flight(s) home. Location is excellent, once you figure out where you are and the staff were most helpful and accommodating. We had an issue with the hot water switch and it was fixed within 20 minutes. Drinks on the rooftop are a pleasant experience, but breakfast was not included for us, and had we known we would have gone elsewhere, so check to see if breakfast is included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robin and Marv from Arizona, USA

Comfortable, small hotel in heart of Stone Town

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed one night at the Maru Maru while visiting Zanzibar after completing a safari on mainland Tanzania, and wanted to learn more of the history of Stone Town, the very old/historic district within Zanzibar City. We also were able to do some shopping before we left for home. Just remember that there are almost no fixed prices in the tiny shops, so be prepared to seriously bargain. The Maru Maru courtyard was lovely, but it was disappointing that the lovely tiled star-shaped fountain seen on their website wasn't on. We ate dinner and breakfast at the rooftop restaurant there, and service was good. Our room was Spartan but comfortable and the mattress was good. The wood furniture was nicely carved, but the plastic chairs and small table didn't go with the d├ęcor. The bathroom had been completely remodeled. The room air-conditioner only works when you put your room card into a device by the door, so we were very nervous when we first walked in, but fortunately the room cooled down comfortably, and the ac was extremely quiet. The walls of the room were thin, and you could easily hear noise in the hallway and in the next room. Also, the security guards, who had their alcove off the same courtyard that our windows faced, woke us up after midnight with their talking and laughter. A call to the night manager got quick attention, however, and the noise immediately stopped.