Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LDN

Stone Town's Maru Maru

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Situated so close to all that is happening in Stone Town and the hotel itself is good but the room window view are pathetic. Arrive early for breakfast ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, very central, close to the ferry

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: terrace
Cons: AC was not working very well
Location: everything is in walking distance
nice terrace for a drink or breakfast. room was clean and had a proper mosquito net. bathroom was very new and had all you needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, delicious food, awesome rooftop bar, clean and nice rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.A.E

Nice & close to every day need 4 a tourist.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
They made a mistake by giving me the wrong room not the one I paid 4 but they solved my complain immediately after I brought to their attention. I recommend as it is very secure. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel close to markets and water

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We had one night in Stone Town and stayed at Maru Maru. The hotel arranged for a tour guide to take us through the streets and give us a brief history of the town - very good tour. We had lunch and dinner at the rooftop restaurant and enjoyed the meals immensely. The room was very bright, clean and comfortable. The washroom was clean and beautiful. We were able to leave our bags in storage for 3 hours while we wandered the streets and the hotel arranged for a driver to take us to the airport. Overall it was a fantastic stay at Maru Maru Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

I came back for more

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I had an excellent experience at this hotel. The management and staff were incredibly helpful during my stay and when I checked out to go north - then promptly returned later that day because I hated the other hotel I had booked - everyone helped get me my old room, despite the hotel being at/near capacity. With regard to the rooms, I love the pervasive clean white lines and dark wood accents - simply lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice rooms an excellent location close to StoneTown's best
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariefrom Montréal

Good hotel in Stonetown

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel with good service in Stonetown. Food is OK. Rooftop resto is a must at sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by M. Varmafrom San Francisco

Delightful!

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
So happy me and my husband decided to stay here for a week. I was thinking the hotel would be rustic since the rate per night was so inexpensive but it turned out to be beautifully refurbished, elegant, comfortable with great service! The rooftop bar is fabulous and on certain night there is live lounge music. Also walking distance from the ferry terminal with a great central location in stone town.