Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from New York City

Good value, pleasant experience

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Staff was pleasant and helpful. Hotel is new, so room (although small) was clean and pleasant.
Cons: Breakfast was only fair, and not included, so had we known, we would have eaten elsewhere. Didn't try any other meals though...
Location: Museum and House of Wonder are close by. Spice tour is a must. Good location to explore the shops and markets. Airport and ferry are close by.
Only stayed for a single night, but the hotel allowed us a late checkout so that we not only had the room up until our departure, but were able to shower and prepare for our long flight(s) home. Location is excellent, once you figure out where you are and the staff were most helpful and accommodating. We had an issue with the hot water switch and it was fixed within 20 minutes. Drinks on the rooftop are a pleasant experience, but breakfast was not included for us, and had we known we would have gone elsewhere, so check to see if breakfast is included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from NYC

Lovely hotel, worth it for the rooftop alone

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The rooftop
Location: Stone Town is small, so it's easy to walk everywhere.
We spent 2 nights here and loved it. Our room was basic, comfortable, clean and serene. Staff were friendly and helpful. The best part, though, was the rooftop. We went for sundowners each evening - the views are breathtaking, the staff is friendly, and food and drinks are excellent. Having this as our homebase was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive for what you get modern hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Comfortable Bed. Clean room. AC. Friendly staff
Cons: Overpriced.
Location: Central to stone town and all that it has to offer. Visit the nearby fish street food fair.
If you want to stay in a modern hotel in Stone Town then look no further. Expect a smallish, but clean room with a comfortable bed. Ice fruit drinks and a cool wet towel are provided upon check in and most of the staff speaks fluent english. Someone booking here should know that the competing hotels in this price range (Jafarji and Emerson Spice) provide a different less modern experience. Also Maru Maru is much larger than the aforementioned, serving 44 rooms and thus lending itself to a less personalized visit. Skip the experience on the rooftop as the bar staff has no idea what the difference between a mojito and a daiquiri is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hakim from Kuwait

Memorable stay!

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Great stay after a week in Nungwi, with help and support of Fiona at front desk and Khalifa the 4 days spent in Stonetown were memorable! Think of "soundproofing" that pump on back yard...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel in the historic district Stonetown

Posted Jan 9, 2014
This hotel was very nice and clean, has a restaurant and is in the middle of the historic district of Stonetown. Walking distant to restaurants, the port and market. The rooms are nice, clean with mosquito nets, and a nice hot shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Oregon

The staff makes this hotel very good

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: As above. Great staff and rooftop. Forodhani Park is near for the night food market. Also right across the street from the old fort.
Cons: Should not have the misleading prices on the front door menu.
Location: Excellent location at the waterfront entrance to Stone Town. Easy access to that entire area by walking-watch out for the bicycles and motorcycles.
The staff is cheerful and extremely helpful. My husband has to use a walker and they gave him the help he needed with stairs. The elevator starts on the mezzanine and ends on the 3rd floor. The rooftop terrace is marvelous at sundown, but there are 2 short flights of stairs to get from the elevator stop. Because my husband can use a cane if he has a solid handrail, we were able to avail ourselves of this feature. The menu food is uniformly good, but the buffets are so so. The menu in front says all taxes included, but the reality is that for the restaurant, that only applies if you are paying for board and room, a considerably higher price. We ate most meals elsewhere. On the bar side the snacks are tax included and pretty good. We stayed 10 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but expected more for the price tag

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The bed was really comfortable. The rooftop was delightful. Location perfect.
This hotel is perfectly located right where you want to be, the bed was super comfortable and the roof top is delightful at sunset. However, for the price we paid we found the room to be pretty much a standard hotel room (good for sleeping and showering but nothing else) that you would pay a lot less for just about anywhere else. I guess we got hit with a high-season price tag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suarez fan from c

Good hotel very well located

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Very nice comfortable stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very rude

Posted Dec 2, 2013
I was very unimpressed by my experience at Maru Maru. I booked through expedia and although the website said maximum people for the room was 3 adults and I chose 3 beds in the drop down menu etc when I got to the hotel they said the price was only for two people and wanted to charge me an extra $100 for another person. I feel this is false advertising. The staff were rude and aggressive about it. I don't recommend them at all. You're better off at the Tembo Hotel where staff are lovely and the prices are better for a similar standard of accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013