Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brazil

Historical building with friendly staff.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Well decorated and clean room. Friendly staff arrange a great city tour and airport transfer.
Cons: Nice but a little bit expensive.
Location: Hotel near House of Wonders. Good location.
A beautiful historical hotel well located. Good restaurant with a excellent view. All the staff, were very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Excellent wifi. Hotel not appropiatte for disability people (historical building with stairs).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Michela, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thanks a lot for your so kind review. Yes, as you said there is no elevator and neither swimming pool because the palace has been restored as per the original plan in order to reflect the antique charm and glory. Mashariki is located right in the heart of Stone Town that is a UNESCO heritage. We are very grateful that you chose us and we hope to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Mashariki Team Michela
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Michela, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thanks a lot for your so kind review. Yes, as you said there is no elevator and neither swimming pool because the palace has been restored as per the original plan in order to reflect the antique charm and glory. Mashariki is located right in the heart of Stone Town that is a UNESCO heritage. We are very grateful that you chose us and we hope to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Mashariki Team Michela
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

When in Zanzibar...

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Perfect location. Clean. Wifi. Great food.
Cons: Don't know you tell me.
Location: Prison Island, snorkelling, fishing.
Having stayed in Thailand, Japan, Canada, Jordan, Portugal, Sri Lanka and more with the family YES. When I went to the reception, Mikala ( the owner) greeted us in person. I thought it would be like Oman, where a high end hotel would just give you a cold towel and take your credit card. But Mikala sat down with us and served us hibiscus tea. She advised us where to go and what to do. For Zanzibar this is the place to stay. Location is perfect, food is excellent and the staff are all ready to say "Hakuna matata" / mafi mushikila / mondai jai / no hay un problema! Wifi, hot and cold water, clean beds and AC make it a great place to stay. Go rough to Nungwi, and stay the last day with Mikala in Mashariki. Shopping and boat tours are close by. Staff will help with bags and anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Michela, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for taking your time to write so kind review, this is the best reward for us and encourages all staff to do even better. We are very grateful and we hope to host again at Mashariki Palace. Our best regards Michela and Mashariki team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from Copenhagen

Staying in a hidden palace

Posted Mar 28, 2015
This place is right in the centre of Stonetown. A bit hidden away and modest in a way yet extravagant in another. Our room was an adventure with 5 meter high ceilings and the terrace with a spectacular view was stunning. Go here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great place to stay in Stone town

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Very nice place, friendly staff, great rooms they are very large, very nice meals and great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Beautiful boutique hotel. Fantastic service all round. Centrally located. Highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world style hotel. Very beautifully restored.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The staff was very good. We had a great stay. The bar/restaurant upstairs had a great view of the water. We were the only people staying there.
Cons: The windows could have some sort of covering or screen so that you could open your windows & it would not be so dark.
Location: The hotel is within a few minutes of the food market & the water. It close to the stone town interior. It is a little dull.
The hotel backs up to a school & a residential area. It tends to be noisy early morning. You cannot afford to open your windows to look out because the streets are narrow and the building across is close and the residents can look right into your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caen

un hâvre de paix

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Le calme, la discrétion du personnel, la décoration sobre et élégante Hôtel entièrement reconstruit par un architecte italien
Cons: débit de la douche assez faible
Location: Accès à l'hôtel déroutant car non visible mais tout proche de la Maison des Merveilles (fermée pour travaux) et à 50 m de la mer.
Nous avons apprécié les diners sur la terrasse avec la vue sur les boutres qui naviguent au coucher du soleil Excellent restaurant Gérante italienne parlant français, charmante. Personnel local discret, souriant et efficace Nous avons eu une chambre supérieure à celle que nous avions réservée car nous étions en période creuse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sherryfrom Palo Alto, Ca

Stonetown, Zanzibar Arabian Palace

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel looks like something out of an Arabian story. It is situated near the harbor with the roof top restaurant having beautiful views of the harbor. It has a small central courtyard with steps up to different levels (they will carry luggage). Our room was one of the 2 bed rooms which can be hard to find in Africa, air con worked well, safe in room, nice bathroom with toiletries, coffee service. The highlight was the roof where we had dinner, breakfast, and a great hangout site. Zanzibar is hot and muggy so this was a welcome relief. Great service, and excellent manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Lovely hotel, very helpful staff, well located and very comfortable