Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great Location in Stone Town

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: location, its beauty and its friendly staff
Cons: My only caution if one has difficulty with stairs is to ensure you request a ground floor room. And note the restaurant is on the top floor
Wow what an enjoy stay. I would definitely stay there again if/when I return to Zanzibar. Makila the manager was super and her stay extremely friendly and workful. Asanta Sana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect oasis in Stonetown

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Decor and service
Cons: More privacy around the solarium (sundeck) would be useful. Perhaps some screens in addition to the fencing.
I had a fantastic stay at the Mashariki. I would recommend it unreservedly. Stunning rooms, great service and complementary tea in the afternoon. They took great care of me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mikko leppanen from dar es salaam

terrible noise

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellet building and service. But I woke up at 5 pm to a noise coming from the in,er yard. Like people were running from one place to another, or someone cleaning. Or wind moving the erected cloths at terraces. The management has to find out what is the noise and take actions. The rooms are stylish but bald. The could be carpets on floors to make cosier feeling. Mikko Leppanen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie & family from London,Uk

Pleasant & Relaxing

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly & relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Appreciate efforts for saving the environment but if a towel is obviously very dirty it should be removed & not hung back
Location: Superb location . Very handy for numerous activities nearby.Easy for walking around
Warm & welcoming experience. very relaxing & comfortable & good ambience.Spectacular views of the ocean from dining room.Only downside is the many flights of stairs to traverse! Love the history & preserved style.Would recommend..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Michigan, US

Very warm and welcoming

Posted May 2, 2014
Location: There is shopping and some historical places to be found nearby. Unless you are familiar with the area my best advice is to find a reliable guide.
I had a terrific weekend stay. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the very friendly and helpful staff. The fact that it is a small hotel really appealed to me as a single woman traveling alone. The views from the restaurant were fabulous, especially the rainbow on my last morning. The hotel has been beautifully restored and is decorated perfectly. Very comfortable. There are usually one or two small complaints (sometimes more) I can make about 99% of the hotels I've stayed at in the US, Africa and Europe but not this one. This is one of the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from london

One night in heaven

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Wow this is some hotel. We only stayed one night but wished we had spent all out time in Zanzibar in this hotel. Amazing place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from london

One night in heaven

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Wow this is some hotel. We only stayed one night but wished we had spent all out time in Zanzibar in this hotel. Amazing place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel in old Stonestown, there is NO beach

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: We were able to stay past checkout to accommodate a late flight we had out of Zanzibar
Cons: Better air conditioning, food choices and beach shuttle
Location: You can visit the old town and some museums. You will need to take taxis to the beach.
If you are looking for a small hotel in the old town, then this hotel can work. Be aware, there is no street access to the hotel. Your taxi from the airport will need to drop you off at an alley and you have to lug your bags from there. There are schools located all around the hotel and residential apartments so your room can be noisy. The top floor is used as the restaurant which has limited choices but is okay. The restaurant is not air conditioned so it can be very hot and stuffy. There is no elevator at this hotel so you will be walking your bags up to your room. The actual room is nice enough but again just not what I was expecting from other reviews. After a long 3 weeks on safari, we were expecting some down time with a beach and were very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Canada

Beautiful hotel, great location.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The staff and beauty of the whole place.
Cons: The scrambled eggs weren't the best. But the coffee and buffet breakfast was very nice.
Location: Location is right by the old fort. It's close to everything (ferry, stone town) and has a great views of the ocean.
Staff was friendly, awesome and informative. Room was clean and beautiful. The courtyard and palace are beautifully restored and extremely magical. I would stay there again in a second. It was a bit of a splurge, but well worth it. The roof top patio was lovely too with a buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay in Zanzibar

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The personel was very friendly. The personal touch was a very nice experience.
Cons: The chairs on the top of the roof could be more comfortabel.
Location: Prison Island with turtles after a 20 minute boat trip Slave market with an impressive overview of the bad behaviour of our ancestors