Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caen

un hâvre de paix

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Le calme, la discrétion du personnel, la décoration sobre et élégante Hôtel entièrement reconstruit par un architecte italien
Cons: débit de la douche assez faible
Location: Accès à l'hôtel déroutant car non visible mais tout proche de la Maison des Merveilles (fermée pour travaux) et à 50 m de la mer.
Nous avons apprécié les diners sur la terrasse avec la vue sur les boutres qui naviguent au coucher du soleil Excellent restaurant Gérante italienne parlant français, charmante. Personnel local discret, souriant et efficace Nous avons eu une chambre supérieure à celle que nous avions réservée car nous étions en période creuse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Lovely hotel, very helpful staff, well located and very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pennyfrom Wiltshire UK

Beautifully restored palace

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival we were given a tour of the hotel by the manager, who explained the historical importance of the building. Our room was huge, cool and extremely clean and even had a fridge and kettle - the first time we'd seen them in Tanzania! The service during our entire stay was exceptionally good, and the trips which were organised for us were of very high quality. The food was lovely and beautifully presented - eating on the rooftop terrace was an experience not to be missed! The hotel is central to all of the sights of Stonetown and for the waterfront. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom losanna

Elegante albergo con molto charme e buon gusto

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Abbiamo passato 3 giorni a Stone Town al Mashariki Palace Hotel prima di proseguire per il nord dell'isola. La Manager Michela ci ha accolto calorosamente dandoci ottimi consigli su tutto, sempre molto disponibile. Il palazzo antico recentemente ristrutturato da Italiani e' di un'eleganza sobria che mette in evidenza l'architettura originale. Il ristorante e' molto buono ed i prezzi corretti, con una bellissima vista. La prima colazione ottima. Il personale gentilissimo. Non abbiamo assolutamente sentito la mancanza della piscina ne della spiaggia perché eravamo sempre in giro. Lo raccomando senza esitazioni!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Great Location in Stone Town

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: location, its beauty and its friendly staff
Cons: My only caution if one has difficulty with stairs is to ensure you request a ground floor room. And note the restaurant is on the top floor
Wow what an enjoy stay. I would definitely stay there again if/when I return to Zanzibar. Makila the manager was super and her stay extremely friendly and workful. Asanta Sana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect oasis in Stonetown

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Decor and service
Cons: More privacy around the solarium (sundeck) would be useful. Perhaps some screens in addition to the fencing.
I had a fantastic stay at the Mashariki. I would recommend it unreservedly. Stunning rooms, great service and complementary tea in the afternoon. They took great care of me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mikko leppanenfrom dar es salaam

terrible noise

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellet building and service. But I woke up at 5 pm to a noise coming from the in,er yard. Like people were running from one place to another, or someone cleaning. Or wind moving the erected cloths at terraces. The management has to find out what is the noise and take actions. The rooms are stylish but bald. The could be carpets on floors to make cosier feeling. Mikko Leppanen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie & familyfrom London,Uk

Pleasant & Relaxing

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly & relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Appreciate efforts for saving the environment but if a towel is obviously very dirty it should be removed & not hung back
Location: Superb location . Very handy for numerous activities nearby.Easy for walking around
Warm & welcoming experience. very relaxing & comfortable & good ambience.Spectacular views of the ocean from dining room.Only downside is the many flights of stairs to traverse! Love the history & preserved style.Would recommend..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Utradisjonelt flott hotel i sentrum av Stonetown

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Flott
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katfrom Michigan, US

Very warm and welcoming

Posted May 2, 2014
Location: There is shopping and some historical places to be found nearby. Unless you are familiar with the area my best advice is to find a reliable guide.
I had a terrific weekend stay. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the very friendly and helpful staff. The fact that it is a small hotel really appealed to me as a single woman traveling alone. The views from the restaurant were fabulous, especially the rainbow on my last morning. The hotel has been beautifully restored and is decorated perfectly. Very comfortable. There are usually one or two small complaints (sometimes more) I can make about 99% of the hotels I've stayed at in the US, Africa and Europe but not this one. This is one of the best!