Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristine Thomsenfrom Danmark

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Der ligger ikke noget i nærheden ud over en fattig landsby. Men det er lige meget for på hotellet har du alt hvad du får brug for. Virkelig lækkert mad, god service, fantastisk udsigt og lækre bungalows. Perfekt afslutning på en bryllupsrejse. En af aftnerne havde de dækket op til os på stranden med levende lys og champagne. Det var så romantisk og helt perfekt. Og det kostede ikke ekstra. De varmeste anbefalinger til Mettemens lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aprilfrom Seoul

Fantastic Honeymoon^^

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
올인클루시브여서 편하게 식사와 음료를 먹을 수 있었네요. 매일 매일 달라지는 메뉴도 맘에 들었고 저녁식사 분위기가 참 좋네요. 모든 객실이 오션뷰여서 해먹에서 바다를 보다 잠을 자기도 하고 야외 소파에 앉아서 주스를 마시며 책을 읽기도 더 없이 좋았네요. 아무 생각 없이 쉬다 가기에 최적의 장소가 아닌가 싶어요. 이전에 묵었던 켄다비치의 오성급호텔에 비해시설은 낡은 듯하지만 관리가 상당히 잘 되고 있었고 전통적이고 목가적인 느낌이 참 좋았어요. 객실이 12채 뿐이어서 굉장히 프라이빗했고, 멤바섬 투어는 정말 잊지 못할만큼 좋았어요. 그리고 가장 기억에 남는건 호텔 지배인의 피앙세가 우리를 위해 비치웨딩 촬영을 선물로 해주었어요. 정말 아름다운 풍광 속에서 너무 맘에 드는 사진을 주셔서 감사해요. 친절한 직원과 다른 이웃들과 좋은 시간 보냈어요~!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Junhofrom Mwanza

Great Getaway place

Posted Nov 26, 2013
The overall stay was great. Although it was little far from stone town, there are lot of activities which can be enjoyed. Support from staff was excellent, as we arrived late, they opened the restaurant hour after the closing time. view from the room was great. sea was warm and easy access to the water from the stay. Just one downside. there were few mosquitos, so better get prepared. Although they provide mosquito repellant and sprays, its just not enough at the night time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethfrom canada

Piece of Heaven

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Everything. Staff was so thoughtful, accommodating but not intrusive, room was wonderful-right on the ocean, privacy, had great massages.
Location: Very remote, need to take a car to get here. Not a swimming beach but two small pools. Free reef walk, can go fishing with local fisherman.
I stayed here with my daughter for a few days and we wished we could stay forever! Also a few families, lots of honeymooners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Fantastic hotel on beautiful island with friendly staff. Good facilities. Very private. Huge rooms. Excellent in almost every way. Food good - could be improved. Rooms 9 and 10 now have their own private plunge pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anders

Fantastisk lodge med havsutsikt

Posted Feb 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
maten var fantastisk, servicen likaså. Bungalowen rymlig och välstädad, vacker utsikt från altanen med både hammock och soffa. Hotellet ligger avsides men i den lokala byn så man ser fiskare precis utanför stranden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ryan S

Nice place but temper expectations

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I visited Matemwe Lodge after a Kilimanjaro climb to relax a bit. The rooms were nice and clean and spacious. The food served was very good and there were nice pools. Staff was very friendly and courteous. My only complaint with the resort was the number of sea urchins around the beach areas, limiting where/when you could swim and the relative remoteness of the location. Near the Mnemba atoll, a snorkelling hotspot, but otherwise a good drive from the other big Zanzibar attractions. Great if you just want to relax during your stay, but if you're looking for lots of excursions you probably should find another base of operations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely oceanfront resort with large bungalows right on the water. The rooms are very nice and the baths huge with both shower and soaking tub. The large porch overlooking the water is the most relaxing spot ever. The service is very attentive and warm, and the meals are fabulous --everything is very fresh. We enjoyed the spa services and the highlight of our stay was sailing in a dhow out to the reef to go snorkeling. Plan to stay in the resort and enjoy it because there is nothing in the nearby village. We were perfectly happy to take advantage of all the Lodge had to offer and could very happily extended our stay there. I was delighted with our choice and very glad we decided not to stay in Stonetown.