Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: The shower wasn't the best- very low pressure and having hot/warm water was an issue.
Location: A little far from other restaurants- Paje is about a 45 min walk (on the beach, but the high tide can be an issue).
Great deal! Very nice, and relaxing pool. The hotel grounds were kept clean- I loved the hammocks, and lounging around areas. The room was spacious. Breakfast was standard (eggs, toast, sausage, juice, coffee/tea). Great staff! The food and drinks were a little over-priced- compared to other places in Paje. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but the hotel is a great price for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Couple from Switzerland

Friendly place, very good value for money

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: We loved the restaurant. Compared to other places in Jambiani, food was very good - nice choice with plenty of fresh balanced meals.
Cons: There was no air-conditioning but room was very big with fans so it was okay.
Mbuyuni is a quiet place - nothing to do but relax which is what we were looking for. Staff were very nice and the restaurant was excellent and inexpensive. You have to order your food in advance but this worked well as we found restaurants in Jambiani took one hour to prepare food anyway. Room was very big with decent bathroom. Not a big swimming pool and when the tide goes out, you have to wait to swim as the whole beach is behind a reef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel on the beach very welcoming staff

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing we loved it
Location: It close to other resorts we loved the beach and everything around the hotel
We had a fantastic time here and will be going again everyone was welcoming and very kind 10 out of 10 .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fe from UK

Good well located hotel for those on a budget

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Pool and location great
Cons: Shower lacked power
Location: Excellent beachside location
Pool very nice, staff very helpful, restaurant very good for evening meals and breakfasts. Room comfortable but bit sparse, no towels and bit shabby and shower lacked power. Good if on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from UK

Fantastic Location

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Mbuyuni Beach Bungalows are right on the beach between Paje and Jambiani. You ideally need some transport if you are going to visit other areas of Zanzibar. The secluded location is perfect for a quiet week or two away and the staff are great. Friendly and attentive. No air con in the room but for the price I can't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anne-marie

Lovely place for rest and relaxation

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
As a volunteer working with an NGO, I was seeking solitude and respite and not the typical "tourist - cram in so much as you can in a day" kind of vacation. Mbuyuni was exactly what I needed. The salt water pool is good for swimming when the tide is out. There was not a sign of sea urchins or jellyfish I have experienced on other trips to other beaches in Zanzibar. The white sands beach is great for relaxing and there are hammocks and chairs and other things you can lounge on. There were few hawkers or touts and I never felt hassled. The food was great for the price point and the menu changes every day You do have a long delay between ordering and receiving food but we just grabbed our mobile devices and took advantage of the free wifi while we waited. The portions are huge and the seafood is delicious. The staff was always friendly and available to answer any questions we had. The room was simple but everything worked and was clean and ready for us. I will definitely return for another stay next time I am in Zanzibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Montreal, QC, Canada

See past the first impressions

Posted Sep 21, 2012
I booked this hotel for a post-Kilimanjaro trek. Appearances upon arrival at this hotel are deceiving; the entrance drive is a bit cluttered and is not terribly inviting. Do not let first impressions cloud your judgement. I was glad I didn't. The atmosphere at this hotel is relaxing and inviting. If you are looking for excitement - this might not be the place. If you are looking for a decent hotel with excellent staff and a good menu, then give it a whirl.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice quite get away

Posted Apr 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
All together my stay was very nice. I was there to relax and that is just what happened. Beautiful beaches, it was quite and far enough away from the markets but close enough to be able to get out for a bit if you wanted to. Services are slow but i wasn't in a rush. I enjoyed my rest and relaxation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver ,Canada

A

Posted Mar 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
This Place was very far from every thing. The Beach was not well kept, limited items on menu. Service took forever. And they over charge for everything. In My opinion the 3.7 rating must be Tanzanian. In American and Canadain Standards this place is like a -(minus) 30 a real dump and not well kept at all. I promptly checked out and went to the Hilton Double tree in Nungwi Beach a small piece of Paradise. Stay away from this place, IF cost and money is an issue try finding a cheaper place closer to civilization this place is alos 170KM from Town. My advise " Stay away " . Then again I travel like his royal Highness" .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan Willem from Utrecht, The Netherlands

Great, friendly place. You cannot swim all day :-(

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Nice, affordable place to stay. Great, quiet beach. Staff is friendly, rooms are okay. Some comments: - Due to tides, you cannot swim in the ocean whole day (during our stay in Feb until 9AM and from 5 PM to 7 PM) - Food is good, though a bit one sided - In the 5 days we've stayed there, we had no electricity for about 50% of the time