Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
great place and facilities. very good services and hospitalty!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nm

Perfect location on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel is beautifull. The jetty bar is amazing. I recomand to get the all incusive in this hotel as it worth it very much. Hope to visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful but boring - only go if you're a couple

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Setting and style.
Cons: Make it clear that this is a couples hotel.
Location: Diving, Prison Island, spice tour.
Beautiful hotel, terrific staff and tranquil but soooooo quiet. I had a spare weekend while working in Tanzania so skipped across to Zanzibar for some diving. The idea was good but chose the wrong hotel - it's 99% full of european couples either honeymooning or getting to know each other after the kids have left home. This should be posted in large letters on their website - there was no-one to talk to!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burundi

Great hotel few minutes from white sand beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Wonderful hotel and staff. Very friendly. Great for couples. The overall food experience was ok, not the best. But friendly staff made sure that my vacation was a great one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yoni from Israel

melia

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very nice family vacation. The hotel is beatiful and clean Gabi beach is not good enough. Not alive and not interesting. The jetty restaurant is too quiet and too dark. No music. Too bad because it has a big potential. Pool waitresses and bartenders need to learn more about alcohol : gave me beer with ice once , and cold red wine... The hotel workers are very nice and kind. The food is top class! We had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis from Buenos Aires, Argentina

New hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: It is newly built (two years I think), management opperates a tight ship.
Cons: Wifi need improvement, but is not a Melia problem I guess. Other than that, small details, like one day they forgot to leave one of the towels.
Location: Did not leave the hotel, the pool and the beach were great.
We were there for five days after a safari. We had a wonderful time. Kudos to the management of the Melia for being able to bring this level of experience in a very unsophisticated evironment. Rooms are roomy and beautiful, staff is very friendly, training is excellent. Food is very good, in my opinion it pays to do the all inclusive, even if you (like me) do not drink. We did not leave the hotel in the four days (five nights) we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Elelanor from USA

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed it thououghly. I was with a person who was handicapped so they accommodated us by moving us to a 1st floor room. fixing the elevator would help. The service was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would definitely recommend taking the "all inclusive" option which they offer upon check in, otherwise the meals can be quite expensive. At times we found it very hard to communicate with the support staff (waiters, cleaners, etc) as their knowledge of English was very limited and our orders were almost always confused. For example, bringing coffee without cream and sugar, and by the time they return with the missing items the coffee is cold. No matter how clearly, and simply we tried to speak, the instructions were always misunderstood. The administrative staff however, were all excellent and made time to have conversations with you daily, and always remembered our names which was an excellent personal touch. There were frequent power outages, which sometimes caused the fuses in our suite to trip and we would suddenly have no air conditioning. We had to call maintenance to our room several times. The location of this hotel was not convenient if you are one who likes to venture out and walk about town. A cab ride to and from town will cost you $100US flat rate and there is no other transportation, so we felt a little confined at times. However, if you are looking for a nice relaxing beach hotel designed for lounging poolside, then this is the perfect spot. Do some more research if you are looking for a beautiful beach. Although Gabi Beach (a 15 min walk) is nice, there are much nicer beaches in Zanzibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with great beach view

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: The beach and suites
Cons: knowledge of the staff
Location: not much to do around the resort maybe they need to invest in more activities within the resort
I had a wonderful time at Melia and would recommend this spot to all my friends; in fact i already have.