Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madrid , Spain

Good hotel on the beach , international flavor

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: We got a good price for a good service .
Cons: we suggest that each detail of the room be checked before new customer arrive .
Location: A visit to Stone Town and to the market should be included in any visit to Zanzibar.
The staff was very friendly , in addition we got an upgrade . The spanish management at site was very dedicated to customer satisfaction and always at hand , the local workers were always with a smile on their face . The sea is just in forn of the hotel , but you need a five minutes drive with the electric cars of the hotel in order to arrive to a beach were you can swim . International flavor with small spanish details .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Great beach, nice pool, amazing vibe and staff

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The Staff, the beach, the weather
Cons: The food, the rooms need a refresh for a 5 star, but they're perfectly comfortable.
Location: We didn't want to do anything nearby - just wanted to enjoy the beach and forget about life for a few days.
Generally a great place to stay in Zanzibar. The staff is lovely, always helpful and smiling and contributing immensely to having a great stay. The Hotel's Gabi Beach is lovely; the secret is to time your visit to the beach to the tide: when the tide is out, you can't swim. But you can walk all the way out to the coral reef and see the coral with your naked eye. The rooms are clean, but they are getting a little dated and it's time for a refresh. Also, there were sometimes funny smells in the toilet and the outdoor shower. The food was OK, except for Swahili night which was great. Gabi beach was always the best place for lunch, and second to that for lunch and dinner the Spice Market. From what I hear, this is a standard 5 star experience in Zanzibar, although it would be closer to 4 stars by European standards. The Wifi is only in the lobby, pool and main public areas, and does not reach the rooms, which is fine for a holiday destination like this. However where you do get Wifi, it works well and I unfortunately got a lot of work done. All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and it's a great place to get away and forget about it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from norsk

Veldig bra hotell ved det indiske hav

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Cons: Ikke noe spesielt, vi hadde med 2 barn, på 5 og 8 år, men det var ikke spesilt mange aktivitet for dem . Det var Kids Club, men ikke mange barn.
Location: Resort, med de fleste tilbud
V i var der i 4 dager med 3 overnattinger med " all inklusive", Dette må være det nærmeste man kommer til paradiset. Nydelig sted, fantastiske omgivelser, utmerket kjøkken og vennlig og service innstilt betjening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in traumhafter Location!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Location ist ein Traum. Hotel ist modern und komfortabel ausgestattet. Wie man es von einem 5 Sterne Hotel auf Sansibar erwarten kann. Den Unterschied macht das super Team. Immer freundlich, natürlich, hilfsbereit und professionell. Insbesondere die Küchen Leistung ist dann für mich persönlich am Buffet zur Indian Night ein Highlight gewesen. Danke Alessandra, Josef & Chef Nurjan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The bathrooms are very large with open air showers and huge soaking tubs. Many of the rooms have at least a partial sea view.
Cons: Food options were a bit lacking and the rooms could use an update. Also, there should be alcohol in the minibars, especially with all-inclusive pkgs.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for three days at the end of January and had a lovely time. It was a bit of a drive from the ferry station but we were pleased with the hotel and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paris

Un chouette hôtel très reposant.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: La nourriture est excellente, le personnel adorable.
Cons: Les abords de la piscine décrépit. Un peu d'animation chaque soir serait very welcome ;) et plus de choix de Cocktails pour les formules all in.
Location: Peu d'activité à l'hôtel et rien aux alentours. Il faut réaliser des excursions (Epices, Stone Town, Forêt ...) proposées par l'hôtel en supplément.
Chouette hôtel au calme. Jolie Plage mais à 3/4 minutes en Golf Car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Håvard from Norge

Melia zanzibar januar 2015

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Veldig bra 9 netter på Melia, et fint hotell i et rolig område! Strålende service og kjekke folk som drifter hotellet! Maten var god, rommene fine og egentlig ingenting å klage på! Kunne sjølvsagt vært litt nærmere Stone Town men det gikk fint å ta taxi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel with private beach and good value

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: facilities, architecture, grounds, beach, pools, air conditioning, outdoor shower, the list goes on.....
Cons: just a little tidy maintenance in the rooms, painting or re-sealing, etc...
Location: we did not leave (or have to leave) the resort to keep ourselves amused. however, there are day trips available for Stone Town, Ocean Safari, Pemba
I had a brilliant time at the hotel! It is showing a little wear - in the rooms more than anywhere else, but that is not to say that they are in any way uncomfortable!! Just a bit of painting here or there, or maybe some mastic that needs replacing. The facilities are excellent, and there is a great variety of venues within the resort. The value for money is exceptional. For an all-inclusive package, the quality of food, drinks, and wines/spirits included is beyond any other resort that i've visited. I would definitely go back, and at the end of 8 days, we definitely wanted about 4 more!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
great place and facilities. very good services and hospitalty!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nm

Perfect location on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel is beautifull. The jetty bar is amazing. I recomand to get the all incusive in this hotel as it worth it very much. Hope to visit again.