Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Evan Cleary from Dublin

Fun staff

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palumbo reef resort is a very nice place to chill out and relax for a few days. The very helpful staff go out of there way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We made good friends with the entertainment staff Jacho and Samur who looked after us and definately kept us entertained. As there is nothing to do in the surrounding neighbourhood this is essential. Each night they offered to bring us to where ever that nights party was taking place..sometimes this could be up to 30mins drive away. The resort hosts mainly Italien customers and thats the primary language spoken there but most of the staff have a good level of English. The room was spacious and clean and the whole resort is nicely designed and fits in well with its surrounding. The pool is very nice and is handy for when the tide is out. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi is very slow and you have to pay for it. They also do not have a desktop for customers to use. Overall a nice quiet place to spend a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by hooman from iran

nice hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2012
Pros: beach
Cons: they forget surprise my wife in birthday night while i tell to the manager of hotel !!!\it was terrible
Location: good
good but they forget the birthday of my wife while i told the day before to the recception and manager of the hotel !!!! it was terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and secluded resort that offers relaxation

Posted Feb 20, 2012
The resort is Italian owned and the guests are predominantly Italian. That didn't cause any problems as staff spoke English and they were very friendly. The beach is amazing and you cant believe how beautiful it is until you go there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place overall

Posted Jan 28, 2012
Pros: animation staff, the people where really nice and helpfull for everything
Cons: the lielectricity and the whater where jumping off quite often during the night for a few minutes
Location: perfect location even for relaxing seaside walk
Is an Italian Resort so the majority of the people who visit the resort and work there speak and understand Italian. However all the staff is very disposable to help and to create fun moment with different activities wich involves lots of people! is in really nice location not too busy and the seaside is stunning! Food is really good with a big variation between days and every night you get tipical and/or different entrateinment !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ora Resort in Zanzibar was not a good choice

Posted Jan 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were extremly dissatusified with our stay at this hotel. It seemed like any time we had a query the response was no. For example, after a day of travel we arrived to the hotel starved and tired. We were told food can be bought only during breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It was 16h and dinner would be served only at 20h. No one could help us with a nearby restaurant or provide any suggestion where we can get food. Only the GM of the neighbouring hotel walked us to a lovely beach restaurant where we got fed. I have million examples like this. The hotel is designed and catering who large groups of Italian who have there agency rep catering for their needs. Individual guests are basically a nuisance and they make it known. Also be ready to be constantly harassed on the beach by the kids from the adjacent shanty town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Little Italy in Zanzibar

Posted Nov 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
This resort had a lot of people and a variety of activities going at all times, so it did not have that "spa-like" quiet feeling, but it was beautiful none the less. Music played loudly in the public areas until 11 pm each evening. Each day the resort provided some different opportunities for entertainment or one could just sit at their lovely pool or beach area. I arrived not feeling well and was very grateful that they had a medical clinic on-site. My biggest surprise was that the resort mainly catered to Italian tourist groups (the signs, entertainment, and postings of activities were all in Italian). Since I was a single traveler, my poor Italian skills made it difficult to socialize while I was there. The pasta was great, though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Make sure you speak italian language ..

Posted Jul 22, 2011
First of all the hotel website should mention that this is italian resort, run by italian owner and everything is in italian language - the menu, excursion, the staff speak mainly italian - but luckily they understood english. But generally me as an english language speaker I would choose another hotel. The hotel and place was nice, food was amazing - one plus for italian :o) Staff was helpful but only by mouth - when you really need something the best way was to manage it by yourself. We enjoyed staying in zanzibar mainly because we had great guy for trips - which we managed and organised by ourselves, imagining staying the whole period in the hotel is giving me chills.