Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lauriefrom Dar es Salaam

Relaxed, friendly atmosphere; beautiful location

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My 3-night stay at Palumbo Reef was problem-free and relaxing. The staff is very kind and friendly, especially manager Mohamed. My room was large, clean and very comfortable, and the fresh flowers on arrival were lovely. I had a wonderful view of the sea from my balcony and the sound of the surf lulled me to sleep each night. There is AC in the rooms, but with the sea breeze, it wasn't needed. The bed was very comfortable and the water in the shower nice and hot. Food was plentiful and of good quality, a combination of Italian and traditional Swahili dishes. The pool is gorgeous as is the beach. I was particularly happy to be able to walk the beach without disturbance from local touts. There are plenty of activities offered by the hotel and associated tour operators, but no pressure to join in if you don't want to. I recommend the traditional Zanzibar massage at the spa. All in all, it was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere in a beautiful location with a helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Evan Clearyfrom Dublin

Fun staff

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palumbo reef resort is a very nice place to chill out and relax for a few days. The very helpful staff go out of there way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We made good friends with the entertainment staff Jacho and Samur who looked after us and definately kept us entertained. As there is nothing to do in the surrounding neighbourhood this is essential. Each night they offered to bring us to where ever that nights party was taking place..sometimes this could be up to 30mins drive away. The resort hosts mainly Italien customers and thats the primary language spoken there but most of the staff have a good level of English. The room was spacious and clean and the whole resort is nicely designed and fits in well with its surrounding. The pool is very nice and is handy for when the tide is out. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi is very slow and you have to pay for it. They also do not have a desktop for customers to use. Overall a nice quiet place to spend a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by De Laurentis

Villaggio bellissimo peccato per le alghe

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
La struttura del Villaggio è bellissima e si mangia benissimo l'unico vero problema è l'oceano indiano che in quel punto a riva è pieno di alghe per via dei forti fenomeni delle maree quindi bisogna superare le alghe e camminare parecchio perchè l'altezza dell'acqua rimane bassa!! Un consiglio se volete fare una vita all'insegna del villaggio e non vi volete spostare vi conviene prendere un'altro hotel al Nord a Nungwi dove il fenomeno delle maree è minore e l'acqua è spettacolare!!! se invece volete girare tutta zanzibar questo è l'albergo che fà per voi per via della posizione e della struttura che è bellissima e si mangia benissimo!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by hoomanfrom iran

nice hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2012
Pros: beach
Cons: they forget surprise my wife in birthday night while i tell to the manager of hotel !!!\it was terrible
Location: good
good but they forget the birthday of my wife while i told the day before to the recception and manager of the hotel !!!! it was terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Wien, Österreich

Erholungsresort am Strand von Zanzibar

Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Bis auf eine mit Italienerin und Ihren Sprechgewohnheiten überfüllten Strandanlage waren und lauter Musik waren wir mit allem sehr zufrieden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and secluded resort that offers relaxation

Posted Feb 20, 2012
The resort is Italian owned and the guests are predominantly Italian. That didn't cause any problems as staff spoke English and they were very friendly. The beach is amazing and you cant believe how beautiful it is until you go there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by salvatorefrom napoli

prezzo qualità

Posted Feb 2, 2012
Pros: animazione
Location: si trova ad uroa, ma ci sono le maree
resorto buon rapporto prezzo qualità tutto italiano ,l'unica pecca sono le maree. molto positiva l'animazione (michele martina fabio elisa)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place overall

Posted Jan 28, 2012
Pros: animation staff, the people where really nice and helpfull for everything
Cons: the lielectricity and the whater where jumping off quite often during the night for a few minutes
Location: perfect location even for relaxing seaside walk
Is an Italian Resort so the majority of the people who visit the resort and work there speak and understand Italian. However all the staff is very disposable to help and to create fun moment with different activities wich involves lots of people! is in really nice location not too busy and the seaside is stunning! Food is really good with a big variation between days and every night you get tipical and/or different entrateinment !!