Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Toronto

Centrally located in Stone Town

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Delicious breakfast, central location within Stone Town
Cons: The wifi connection was weak, especially in the rooms
Location: Close to several restaurants, the waterfront, shops, other hotels
The Pearl of Zanzibar is a lovely hotel in the heart of Stone Town. It is close to several restaurants, shopping and the waterfront. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit every day. I was travelling on my own and had a room with a huge bed, which was lovely after having a single bed for two weeks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AQ from rural Massachusetts

Delightful and peaceful.

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Unexpected pleasures: the room was quite large, as was the bathroom, and the bed was a tall Zanzibari structure with canopied mosquito netting around it. An a/c near the ceiling could be controlled with a remote. That was a pleasant surprise, as it was 31 degrees or higher while I was there. The staff were good listeners, quick to assist and unintrusive. The breakfasts were…idiosyncratic: white toast with peanut better, hot samosas and meat pastries, marble cake, halves of hard-to-identify fruit. The reason for the four stars instead of five for facilities and comfort involve resources, not staff. The wifi was weak and operated glacially from the bedrooms, so guests went to the breakfast lobby to get a connection, and the staff did not have access to extras of anything, e.g. extra water, until the proper ration arrived the next day. The area was peaceful and quiet both during the day and at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angel459 from London

Great location with lovely staff

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Central location, affordable, clean with lovely staff always there to help. Shame about the way they were spoken to by senior level management.
Cons: The hotel could do with modernising as fixtures were often broken or loose to bring it on par with neighbouring hotel. A better range of wi fi.
Location: Very central location. Close to the sea front, fort and ferry terminal. Easily accessible when booking trips and excursions.
I recently stayed at The Pearl of Zanzibar for a period of 10 days. I thoroughly read the reviews of the hotel on Trip Advisor so knew what to expect. My stay overall was good. The room although basic, was clean and met my needs. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating during my stay and changed our room when we experienced problems with our toilet facility. Our friends were staying at the Dhow Palace and the Jafferji hotel which can not compare to the Pearl of Zanzibar in the services, decor, room size and overall amenities provided. But I note that these hotels do cost more per night. The problems I experienced with this hotel are the following: Although, the rooms are clean, I feel they need a bit of due care and attention. The shower and toilet facilities have limescale, extractor fans with plastic bags covering them, wooden wardrobe fixtures with missing parts and light fixtures with missing bulbs. Our first room was located on the first floor. Unfortunately, the height of the steps were uneven which caused us to frequently trip which is potentially dangerous. The bathroom had poor drainage with pools of water forming on the floor. When visiting other hotels, I feel that these minor changes would make a big difference. Breakfast was very basic with bread, cereal, fruit and pastries and a choice of hot beverages. This suited me perfectly but If you expect a fry up or an array of different choices then it's not on offer at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfy beds, great location,extremely helpful staff

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel needs renovations to bathrooms and some attention to small details. There were no bedside lights, reading at night therefore difficult. Mosquitoes were a problem too due to lack of adequate repair to roof and bathrooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hendo55 from australia

old and romantic hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay here because the Manager is on the ball and had a couple of things fixed immediately like the water pump. Stone Town is so so old, things are sure to break down once in a while, but Val had that sorted very promptly. The room #8 was absolutely beautiful; big with an enormous Zanaibari bed and some atmospheric furniture. The view from the balcony was into the canopy of a huge flame tree. Outside in the alleyways and streets it was so easy to get lost and so easy to get found. We had no problems at all getting around. Make sure you eat at Travellers restaurant - Val will show you where it is! Everyday our room was made up beautifully again. The evening breezes through the windows with the ceiling fan meant we very rarely used the quiet a/c. Breakfast is a quiet continental affair, perfectly adequate for a morning's explorations. We really appreciated the 2 x 300ml free waters each day, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from New Jersey

good manager

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Close to stuff to see in Stone Town.
Cons: Better lighting in the room. Maybe a bit more choice at breakfast.
Location: Just a few minutes walk to Forodhani Park. Close also to ferry.
Manager Val very helpful and accommodating. Last day I went to Prison Island and got back after checkout time; she let me shower in her room. But don't let her suggestion of a man named Beanie give you a tour of Stone Town - he was very nice but really (verbally ) rambling. Not enough light in the room. Not a good view but who stays in the room? Continental breakfast very, very basic.
2 out of 5
by Tridge

Ehh....

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: tt
Cons: needs work
No reason to stay in stowntown, head straight to the beach. The only thing that happens in Stowntown is that you get harassed by street vendors to buy stuff. The 'sights' are not that great or interesting and can be covered pretty quickly. Most resorts will have trips that go to stowntown for a couple hours if you really want to see it, so again, no point to spend a night there- just head to the resort. If you do feel so inclined to stay in stowntown, don't stay at the pearl. Its a bit rundown, there are better options.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Robyn from Canada

Terrible Value, neglected by owner

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are much better places to stay in Stone Town that are close to the same price as this hotel. The staff are friendly but have little to work with. It seems like the owner has given up caring for the hotel. The rooms are clean, but have no amenities. The water come directly from the ocean so it is very salty. All the fixtures are completely eroded. Breakfast consists of bread and some fruit. The hotel could be much better if the owner puts a little effort into maintaining it and adding a few amenities, Maybe even bringing in some eggs for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

could be better

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: the orange paint
Cons: very few people
Location: central
Could be a bit more organized and welcoming. Not easy to find the hotel,,,and the breakfast is very spartan and not that great. Also wifi does not work in rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Asela from Dubai - United Arab Emirates

Excellent choice for stay

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Being away from my country for 2 years and coming back to find the exact African breakfast served in this hotel was fantastic and Delicious. The staff are so helpful,charming and its in the perfect area for your little tour on Stone town plus there are restaurant nearby,just 1-2 minute walk with excellent choices of food. I had amazing time in there!I`ll love to go there once again on my next visit to Zanzibar!