Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Duridafrom Canada

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was very comfortable. The food was good but the service was slow. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would surely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Great place

Posted Sep 13, 2014
If you want somewhere just to relax and enjoy the beauty and scenery this is the place. Plenty of jaunts to see the island. Great location, staff and rooms. Food was excellent!!! Totally enjoyed my stay and would go back and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Peaceful, unspoiled taste of Zanzibar beaches

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, the manager (Charles) who couldn't do enough to help us, the beaches, the pool, the general layout and the laid back feel of it all.
Cons: Consistency of the meals, eg one day the papaya salad was fabulous, the next day, different/not so. Better facilities in the room eg shower gel etc
Location: Fabulous, on an eastern peninsula at the end of a strip of beach hotels, Red Colobus monkeys/mangrove swamps snorkeling great tours. Spice Tour too.
We came to Ras Michamvi as part of a group in August 2014 having been in Tanzania and we really loved the hotel. The facilities are a little basic (eg no plug in sink and no shower gel or shampoo) but we loved that aspect of it all, it felt very authentic and the staff were so helpful, lovely and smiley that you actually didn't mind. As for the pool and beaches (there are TWO beaches at this place, one directly in front of the hotel and one to the side), well, they were absolutely amazing, white sand, turquoise sea and enough sun loungers (and hammocks!) to just loll about in the sun with plenty of shade to keep out of the sun if needed and a brach bar at each venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Helenafrom Annecy

très calme

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Le personnel très serviable, la piscine face à la mer, la petite plage privée, le confort de la chambre.
Cons: Les serveurs au restaurant sont très gentils mais un peu hésitants. Le service de ménage est trop lent.
hôtel au calme avec tout le nécessaire sur place et proposition d'activités. Idéal pour se ressourcer au bord de la piscine après une semaine de safari mais un peu loin de Stone Town pour planifier une visite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

A beautiful and romantic little getaway

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a place to book for a romantic weekend together with your loved one since the setting is absolutely beautiful with the white beach just below the hotel and with the cousy bungalows to spend the night in. The food which is offered is really top quality and the order of the rooms are also great. Just a weak pressure in the shower but otherwise it was great. The place is a bit far off the main road though but whether you arrive in a dala dala, a taxi or private car you'll be able to find it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A Jenkinsfrom Dar es Salaam

Good value - fairly good effort

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very peaceful and clean, nice for solo, friends and family visitors. Lovely pool and view. Food uninspired- could have been improved easily. Had a sense that there wasn't enough managerial oversight on the weekend we visited. Small no-cost efforts could have improved the experience, such as putting the wifi in the dining area, rather than behind a locked door that made access unreliable. But good value, and nice staff who tried their best. Snorkelling was a worthwhile diversion. Remember to order your taxi for 30 min earlier than you really need it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chrisfrom montreal, canada

No beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: beach
Location: snorkeling dinner at The Rock
We were really surprised to have no nice sandy beach like in the photos. The photos show a nice sandy beach. In high tide the water covers the whole beach area. In low tide, there is a beach area but there was no sand on it. Apparently, from December until march the sand is washed away then comes back??? ( I would check on this) Too bad I was there in February. Anyway, we had a very nice stay. We did a snorkeling trip that left from the hotel which was great. the pool is nice. The rooms are nice. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place, this is it. The beach (or lack of beach) was a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jensen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amakafrom Houston, TX

Remote

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located an hour away from the airport in Zanzibar. It's located rather far away from everything else and is rather isolated. The road leading to the hotel is unpaved and rugged. Our rooms had no TV or Internet access. The only internet access is located in the outdoor restaurant. The food was good, especially the pancakes, yummy!! The pool area was very nice and the view overlooking the ocean is magnificient. High tides prevented us from walking on the ocean. This place is best suited of couples who want to be isolated from everything else. Waitstaff and Frontdest staff were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacksonfrom UK

Great for relaxing

Posted Jan 28, 2014
A great hotel for laying on a sunlounger and dipping in the pool, forgetting about the world. Easy access to the beach where you can walk for miles at low tide - bring shoes because of the fascinating but painful coral! Very helpful staff, will provide transport to wherever you want on the island, prices are reasonable and cars are comfy. Downside is, the fish from the kitchen is not fresh, best way to get around this is to go catch your own! and have chef cook it for you :)