Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A Jenkins from Dar es Salaam

Good value - fairly good effort

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very peaceful and clean, nice for solo, friends and family visitors. Lovely pool and view. Food uninspired- could have been improved easily. Had a sense that there wasn't enough managerial oversight on the weekend we visited. Small no-cost efforts could have improved the experience, such as putting the wifi in the dining area, rather than behind a locked door that made access unreliable. But good value, and nice staff who tried their best. Snorkelling was a worthwhile diversion. Remember to order your taxi for 30 min earlier than you really need it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from montreal, canada

No beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: beach
Location: snorkeling dinner at The Rock
We were really surprised to have no nice sandy beach like in the photos. The photos show a nice sandy beach. In high tide the water covers the whole beach area. In low tide, there is a beach area but there was no sand on it. Apparently, from December until march the sand is washed away then comes back??? ( I would check on this) Too bad I was there in February. Anyway, we had a very nice stay. We did a snorkeling trip that left from the hotel which was great. the pool is nice. The rooms are nice. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place, this is it. The beach (or lack of beach) was a disappointment.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amaka from Houston, TX

Remote

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located an hour away from the airport in Zanzibar. It's located rather far away from everything else and is rather isolated. The road leading to the hotel is unpaved and rugged. Our rooms had no TV or Internet access. The only internet access is located in the outdoor restaurant. The food was good, especially the pancakes, yummy!! The pool area was very nice and the view overlooking the ocean is magnificient. High tides prevented us from walking on the ocean. This place is best suited of couples who want to be isolated from everything else. Waitstaff and Frontdest staff were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackson from UK

Great for relaxing

Posted Jan 28, 2014
A great hotel for laying on a sunlounger and dipping in the pool, forgetting about the world. Easy access to the beach where you can walk for miles at low tide - bring shoes because of the fascinating but painful coral! Very helpful staff, will provide transport to wherever you want on the island, prices are reasonable and cars are comfy. Downside is, the fish from the kitchen is not fresh, best way to get around this is to go catch your own! and have chef cook it for you :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosendal from Copenhagen, Denmark

Excellent service

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff and great location right out to the beach. The rooms were big and clean and had a great view with big own terraces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tzachy from Israel

One of the best hotels I have been in

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: animals, beach, swimming pool the low tide at night in the main beach... its like a marine safari :) great and big rooms with a big shower
Cons: Dinner a bit pricey (10 dollars for main dish) and low selection . in 1 hot day i had NO cold water in the shower! couldnt shower without getting burn
Location: allot of activities and great beaches... beside that you will have to take a taxi but thats enough for most people.
A very good hotel with plenty of wild life surrounding it. Great staff who didnt care that we were there for a very short visit and didnt care how much money we are gona spend there (they just save us money when they gave us contacts of a good and cheap local taxi driver + came to asked us if we want to join to another group for snorkeling, which we inquired a day before, so it will be cheaper for us AND they even gone and charge even less than their lowest price they charge for a 6 people group + they took us also to a sand bank to walk and take pic's while we were on another activity (that activity alone cost about 30 dollars per person any way only that example is enough to show u how they could charge 160 dollars from us and we ended up paying only 30 in total)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view of the Indian Ocean

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: The view. The quiet atmosphere. The food was good and service was prompt.
Cons: The access road. Language training for staff. .
Location: The hotel is located on a remote point, a 30 minute car ride from significant action (the town of Paje where you can try kite surfing or scuba diving)
Easy access to the beach with a real great walk at low tide. The pool was functional although not full of water? Wifi access at the dining room works well. The dirt road access to the hotel is a real roller coaster. Apart from the reception, the hotel staff speaks very rudimentary English. Apart from the pool and the beach, there is nothing to do (nothing else in terms of hotel amenities).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Finest staff there is

Posted Sep 14, 2013
We arrived at the Zanzibar airport at midnight, called the hotel 90 minutes before arriving, and were greeted at the airport by who we thought was the hired taxi driver to take us to the hotel - but after 20 minutes of conversation, we realized that it was actually the owner who had come out of his way to make sure that we arrived at the hotel safely. He only charged us half of the quoted cost of the ride, and was so pleasant the whole way. Upon arriving at the hotel at approximately 1am, Said greeted us, and broke into the kitchen to find us some food (as we had missed dinner). He was so gracious and accommodating. In the morning, Nasser not only allowed us to stay 6 hours after check-out (free of charge), but also gave us a great discount on snorkeling trip that was just lovely. He was great. The facilities are wonderful, the food was good and inexpensive, and the scenery just doesn't get much better. Approaching the hotel you pass all of the five-star facilities on the island, and so you really have a five-star experience in a much more authentic setting. Highly recommend this establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Superb beach and nice resturant staff

Posted Jan 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the stay was good. The level of service from the staff in the resturant was especially high and we were made to feel very welcome. The white sand 'coconut beach' is lovely, the perfect place for a 'get away from it all holiday' and most of the time we had it to ourselves. However, I was completely dissatisfied with a boat tour my wife and I chose, mainly due to the boat owner. He was extremely rude and disrespectful to myself whilst paying way to much attention to my Swahili speaking wife. Absolutely shocking behaviour - especially as I payed 90 dollars for his services! I strongly advise all holiday makers not to take a boat tour with this hotel. This complaint has nothing to do with the hotel itself which I must stress I rate highly in nearly all categories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good value for ZNZ

Posted Jan 9, 2013
Pros: Pool & Food
Cons: Can't swim in ocean
Location: Far from ZNZ stone town
Good food, friendly staff, nice pool. A good hour drive from Stone Town though and you can't swim in the ocean even at high tide (not enough water / too much coral & orchins to walk on)