Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great value

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Good mid range choice right on the beach with clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Quiet hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Just outside the main group of hotels but within an easy beach walk to restaurants and bars. Activities well organised by the hotel so no need to negotiate everything. Private beach area meant no hassling by the touts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Cons: I wish their breakfast choice comes with something little bit more; not just eggs and fruit. Maybe USA spoiled us too much.
Location: This is a great location in my opinion. You can just walk on the beach to visit restaurants alongside; souvenir shops not too far; the turtle aqua.
This is pretty great hotel for the price especially in Nungwi! All the hotels I have checked in Nungwi are too expensive so this is the cheapest one I have. I thought I would be getting what I get for being cheap but to my surprise, this hotel was pretty nice and the beach is right in front of you. You can just walk a few meters and all of the sudden the beach is right there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from London, UK

Lovely hotel in perfect location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We spent 3 days in Nungwi and were really happy that we chose to stay at Smiles. The hotel was simple but perfect for us. The location was fantastic. Not on the busiest stretch of the beach where most hotels, bars and restaurants were but only 5 mins walk away (well lit and felt safe at night) which meant that it was quiet most of the time, but convenient when we wanted to eat at different places. We had a gorgeous view of the beach and ocean from our windows and the room was comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts at the beach restaurant were great too, with a choice of cooked food and fresh fruit and juices. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Morgan from California, USA

Affordable rooms at quaint, beachfront locations.

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved this place. Ended up extending our stay at Smiles. Great location with white sandy beaches and warm clear water. Room was very basic but a fraction of the price that it would have been to stay next door at Doubletree. Our friends stayed at The Z down road but the location of Smiles was convenient to walk almost anywhere. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tina Jeon from Dallas, TX

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very nice and accommadating to our needs. The only gripe I would have is the kitchen is extremely slow, not uncommon to have a 2 hour breakfast because they are so slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jennifer Ramsay from Toronto, Canada

cosy paradise with lovely staff and food

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Smiles Beach Hotel was in Nungwi, Zanzibar was fantastic! Thanks to all the lovely staff, including Abdul, Abdallah, Amina and all the rest. The food was really nice too - perfect grilled octopus. Thank you, Martin, for the lovely new year's eve lobster dinner. Loved this warm and cosy 16-room hotel right on the beach, nice and quiet but close to the "action" of Nungwi. And thanks to Abdullah Aziz of Cholos for hosting a very fun viewing of the Arsenal game! Nungwi is spectacularly beautiful and the people are lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by chris from Australia

great place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is ideal for a quiet getaway . The hotel is under new management and us working to update rooms, restaurant and facilities . We had a brilliant time lazing on the beach chairs, watching the boats and local s going about their day. Security was great and staff were incredibly helpful . I highly recommend Smiles .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tomasz from Qatar

Great people, great place - good value for money

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
My stay was perfect. Fantastic staff, which made everything to feel like at home. Great location and nice beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Susie from New York.

Good price for decent accommodations.

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The are was expensive. This hotel was the most moderately priced for decent accommodations. The area is polarized. Either very expensive for a great hotel or youth hostels. Smiles hotel was the only one in between the two. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Down the beach was a great dive shop making this hotels perfectly situated for our vacation.