Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by taichijan from New South Wales, Australia

50/50

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: View of the waterfront from my balcony
Cons: Wet floors a hazard
Location: Local taxi drivers don't seem to know the other laneway access to the hotel from the waterfront. Distance from airport to this spot is a lot shorter.
The hotel is an aged building but has been nicely upkept in the interiors, the same can't be said for the external walls, shored up by planks. Great staff made up for an initial bad impression given when the hotel failed to reply to my email concerning the cost in local currency for a taxi from the airport. Staff most accommodating about changing my room to one with a balcony, when it became available I'm glad I didn't have to move my luggage up or down as there are no lifts so you rely on a strong bellboy. Food was reasonable but a little uninteresting. Massage service good. Central location a key point
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Great rooms, friendly service

Posted Dec 2, 2012
Pros: Room
Location: Close to water front. A few streets back. In the old town.
Great roof terrace. Friendly staff. Good location close tot he waterfront. Rooms furnishings beautiful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Meals not up to standard! Most times without listed items on menu and not enough variety! I had a gecko crawling on me in my bed one night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Irene from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Seyyida Surprise

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: The size of the room and the lovely furnishings
Cons: Lack of chairs to sit on
Location: Next to the Palace Museum and close to lots of restaurants
Free Wi Fi is available at bar and restaurant but not in your room. The shower had lots of lovely hot water which was much appreciated after being in Tanzania. When we arrived the taxi driver said just walk up that alley and turn left. We are so used to being delivered to the front entrance and so were a bit surprised, but that was as far as a vehicle can go in the lane ways and alleys of Stonetown. A comfortable chair to sit on would have been nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pati from Dubai - United Arab Emirates

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2012
The hotel is just 2min walking distance from the port, museum, old fort, really nice location. Safe to walk around. Very big room and bathroom, furniture in colonial style so you feel like you are in a different world, nice decorations all over the hotel, really nice breakfast on the rooftop. I'm very fussy about the hotels so i'm really glad I stayed in this hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J.P

Forodhani Gardens, Palace Museum, Beit el Ajaib,

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
The only good comment was the excellence of the rooms from a comfortand decor point of view. The service at the Seyyida Hotel was was well below reasonable expectations. On two of the three nights there were no towels provided in the room. We had to call the reception for a supply of towels. We made payments at the reception desk of a Spice tour and for a hotel taxi pick-up. In both cases, no receipts (or tickets/vouchers) were provided. On check out, no hotel invoice/receipt was provided to confirm the the account was fully settled. We would not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Adrienne

Very pleasant

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was only there for a night but I thought the hotel was lovely. The rooftop was beautiful. The staff was very helpful. Make sure you look at the art in the hallways - it tells stories of Zanzibar's history. You have to go through an alley to get there from the street, but I didn't see anyone shady there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
The front desk staff were amazing! Rather than booking excursions in advance, let the hotel staff set it up for you. The restaurant was disappointing and overpriced, but everything else was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mooro from UK

Two night stay in Stonetown.

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Due to nearby renovation we had to walk the last 100 yards to the hotel and some of the views from the rooftop terrace have been "creatively" taken. Nonetheless the venue offers good value and is clean and well kept. The food is good and staff friendly if not the most knowledgeable on Stonetown and its environs. Make sure you only pay 15,000 shillings from the airport in a taxi and take your drivers card. This will let you undercut any rate quoted by the hotel by at least 30% by dealing direct with the driver. Also, get your local currency in town NOT at the airport and US $ are better than GBP if you are using international currencies. Finally, Nairobi airport is much better for duty free than Stonetown! Enjoy.