Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rasmusfrom Copenhagen

Bad wifi

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Fint hotel - og lækker mad. Men det dyrt betalte wifi virker så langsomt/dårligt at man opgiver at bruge det. Ret ringe. Men bortset fra det - fint sted. Vær obs på det er et italiensk resort - så 95 % af gæster er fra Italien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yassinefrom Douai

Tres bien

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tres bien ambiance a l italienne restauration plus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Molo, Kenya

Great getaway

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful beach, great swimming pool
Cons: Drinks need improving - the selection was poor and the bar staff not participle knowledgeable.
Location: Many shops along the beach. The further you walk, the better the deals!
We found VOI a great experience for simply getting away for a few days and relaxing on a beautiful beach. We were greeted with juice and supper in our room since we missed dinner. The staff were thorough and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gemmafrom Barcelona

Parecía que estuvieras en Italia

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel todo incluído con buena relación calidad - precio. Es un complejo muy grande, con piscina y playa privada, muy bien cuidado. Comida y servicios notables ... el lugar casi perfecto ... casi porque está lleno, lleno de italianos; parece que estés en Italia, todo enfocado hacia los italianos; el resto de nacionalidades no existen; esa es la parte negativa que le encontré. Eso y la playa, cuando hay marea baja es complicado bañarse. Pero puedes coger un velero por unos 15 euros e ir a un arrecife bastante bonito a ver peces y estrellas de mar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Osaka,Japan

オールインクルージブかつ海に近く快適

Posted Oct 6, 2014
オールインクルージブなので、食事・飲み物に困る事はなかったです。 また、レストランも数カ所あります。 しかし、ブッフェスタイルのレストラン以外は前日中に予約が必要なため、一泊しかしない予定の方はブッフェのみとなります。 ビーチへ出ると、ビーチ沿いに設置されている土産店のお兄さん方が出張営業をしています。笑 彼らや、マサイ達と話しているとすごく楽しく、交流ができます。 お土産もホテル内よりも安く買え、種類の豊富なので楽しいです。 また、ボートチャーター等もビーチで声をかけられます。 $20程度/一隻で沖合シュノーケリングスポットまで案内してくれ、ザンジバルの海を満喫することができます。 総合的に、とても満足のできる滞在となりました。再訪したいdestinationです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel conforme à la description très accueillant

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Tout
Cons: Que l'équipe d'animation parle un peu anglais pour nous français
Accueil très chaleureux, hôtel très propre, très bien intégré dans le paysage local Nous avons très bien mangé, cuisine variée, personnel très agréable Plage magnifique Equipe d'animation très sympathique
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hannahfrom Sydney

Fully Italian resort on beachfront

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The good- good beach location, nice pool, rooms big and all you need, cocktails are nice The bad- buffet gets a bit tiring, completely Italian hotel (no English speaking ANYTHING- if you can't speak even basic Italian do not stay), all prices in euros, no ATM onsite or cash withdrawal possibility, food is mostly Italian. Every other guest was Italian and although they are friendly we felt left out. Reception staff lacking in knowledge and helpfulness however other staff eg waiters very friendly and able
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chantellefrom Ghana

Christmas At AW Bravo

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Location: Everything was a good drive away. 'OBAMA BEACH' which was close by was a refreshing spot away from the over dose of everything italian
Well, me and my female colleague, decided to visit Zanzibar, with no prior knowledge of the hotel, we just picked the first thing that came up on Expedia. On arrival we were shocked only a small number of staff were fluent in english, although it is dubbed an italian hotel, a level of english from all staff would be more beneficial to guest. Everything was in italian, even notices, music, etc etc Around the hotel, restaurant, pool area, we got alot of stares from other guest looking at us as though we were aliens or had 2 heads, i wouldn't want to say its because we were black, but we were the only black guests at the hotel. It was coming annoying to have people gawk at you with bizarre expressions on their faces. The food was ok, it got slightly tiresome, i was getting bored with the fish dishes and the pasta, during our 5 day stay chicken was never on the menu, and my colleague fell sick with a running stomach on the 4th day. The restaurant staff, Simba and Khatib were the most welcoming out of any of the staff at the hotel. The white staff failed to greet us, welcome or even speak to us, the manager and her team often walked past us like we were invisible. I liked the hotel for the reason that, it had a beach view with beautiful white sands, the surroundings were also super but the hotel and its staff should be open minded and except people of all races and colour!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcome to Italy

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Service and cleanliness
Cons: More things available in english; at least animators should be able to speak english as well....
Location: Hotel is in Kiwengwa; there is nothing to do on foot around it
positiv: - hotel is clean and comfortable - staff very friendly - food and drinks are all inclusive negativ: - everything is italian -> you basically forget you are in Africa as it feels like being in some all inclusive club hotel somewhere in the south of Italy - There is not much outside the hotel - As soon as you leave the private beach or the huge hotel area you get continuously bothered by people who want to talk to you and sell you things (no romantic walks at the beach possible) - no sunset on this side of Sansibar - the sea is full of seaweed, the low tide is during the day and even in high tide in the morning/evening you feel seaweed around your legs. Swimming is only fun at the pool# Review: We also stayed two night in Nungwi and it is definitely nicer there consindering the beach and the surroundings. The hotel is more like a village with several bungalows and you totally forget you are in Africa. Animation, or announcement are in italien only...same for the shows or sport lessons that are available. At the pool and the private beach you will hear italien music from loudspeaker the whole day. Only italien food. This is not a bad thing, but we really didn´t fly 9 hours to Sansibar to feel like being in Italy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Felt like being in Italy!

Posted Nov 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is reasonable, definitely not 4 stars, but still good value for money, as the all inclusive deal includes EVERYTHING! Even alcohol at the beach bar, sunbeds etc. And is on a nice wide stretch of white sand. Biggest problem for us was everything is set up for Italians. All signs in Italian, Italian food, staff spoke Italian, shop was in Euros etc. The guests were all Italian too. We got by with English, but would not recommend it!