Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant functional hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Efficient Pleasant staff Reliable Reasonable value
Cons: More detailed map of town and local info freely given when you check in
Location: Near the ferry port Edge of Stone Town Near Taxis Near local markets Short walk to sea front
A pleasant efficient functional hotel on the edge of Stone Town and right beside the ferry port from Dar Es Alaam. The staff were helpful at breakfast and lunch and the food was decent but basic, not haute cuisine but that would be hard to find in Zanzibar during Ramadam. Good location to explore the local markets and explore the main town. Easy to get taxis and the local little buses called Dali dal to go out to the beach Or see local fishermen in their dhows. Staff helped me hire a bicycle which they thought was amusing and the security guard very kindly put it safely in their workshop for me overnight. Their English was good and they appreciate you speaking some Swahili. Just a ten minute walk to the sea front and the main part of Stone Town. Large. Comfortable hotel to suit those who don't want too much personal contact from their hosts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, we really appreciate your good review , our greatest satisfaction is when our Guests were fulfilled in their hotel chosen. All the staff of Zanzibar Grand Palace thanks you and we really hope to meet you again in Zanzibar ... Karibu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Room was really nice but had a damp smell. The smell was very over powering and smelt a little bit like mould. Other then the smell the room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are sorry for the inconvenient of the bed smell, sometimes this unpleasant problem can 'happen in some room due to our proximity to the ocean when the sea is rough. A part this inconvenient from your review it seems that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are extremely sorry that you didn't advise us immediately, we could have change the room and enhance your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel. Many thanks for your positive review and Karibu Zanzibar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mozambique

Well situated in Stone Town.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The shower head in our bathroom was broken. I mentioned it at the front desk and it was fixed that day!
We walked from the hotel all around Stone Town from our hotel. The old city of Stone Town is great. Each evening we would walk to the park and buy dinner for just a few dollars off the booths set up selling food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Many thanks dear guest for your review and many thanks to promote a beautiful town as Stonetown is! We hope to host you again in Zanzibar Grand Place Hotel. Best Wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Well located near ferry terminal

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Well received at hotel. Was offered a welcome drink. The hotel is five minutes walk from the ferry terminal. Public beach is within reach where you can swim with the locals. Major highlights are located and can be visited easily as they are walking g distance from the hotel. Other attractions such as spice farms and prison island can be sourced from a tour agent within the hotel or from other agents within stone town. Genuine tour agent usually have a government issued ID which should be displayed at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ipswich ....What can we answer ?! ... your holiday seems to have been very enjoyable and for that we are extremely glad. With thanks to all the staff of the Zanzibar Grand Place we hope to host you again and again. Karibu Zanzibar, karibu Zanzibar Grand Place Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

Simple, helpful, close to the ferry.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
In addition to Zanzibar Grand Palace's proximity to the ferry (1-2 minutes walking) and perfectly acceptable rooms and facilities (nice rooftop terrace and garden level pizza oven), the staff are what make this hotel really worthy of praise. Flexible, welcoming, and willing to help meet our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Amman. It was really a pleasure host you in ZGPH and we are glad of your positive review. All the Staff of the hotel wish you all the best! Asante Sana!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markus from Wolverhampton, UK

Overpriced Executive suite

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels
The Room was advertised as executive suite with Shower (rainfall showerhead) and Bath (Whirlpool). Whirlpool had a minor leak and the Shower was attached to the bath with a short hose so you could only kneel in the bathtub to shower yourself off. It was also not a rainfall shower head. The A/C unit was old and to small for the room size and was too loud when working. During the stay the elevator broke down and was out of service for a day. Since our stay it is not possible to book the Executive Suite via the website anymore for reasons unknown. Overall the price for the room (160 USD/night) was far to high for the service and amenities and the hotel should not have a four star rating in our view. There were a couple of power cuts which were unfortunate but were obviously not the fault of the Hotel. Internet was working ok but the Television was not tuned in properly or lost satellite reception most of the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by The management, Hotel Management
Dear Markus, we are so sorry that your stay in ZGPH did not meet your expectations and that you find such a lot of problem in the room. Thank you to advise us for the A/C because nobody has complained before and we really apologize for the inconvenient. Please allow me to clarify a detail: the Executive Suite has bath tube (Jacuzzi bath) with phone shower and the Deluxe Room has the rainfall showerhead as described in our website. The 4 Stars rating is not decided by the property but decided by the Tanzania Government based on the National standards. We thanks you for your review because it will allow us to improve our service. We hope to host you again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

清潔なホテル

Posted Dec 2, 2014
仕事の為ザンジバルに行きましたが、リゾート感はないものの、充分快適に過ごせました。 ムスリムの人が多いためアルコール類は無いですが、近所にバーがある為そちらで飲めます。 ホテルスタッフも気さくでいい感じでした。wifiは部屋によっては弱いかもしれませんが、スタッフに言えばすぐ調整に来てくれました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Would not hesitate to book again

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean with some of the old style. Comfortable bed. Good choices for included breakfast.
Cons: Reduce prices on choice of excursions although very willing to negotiate
Location: Short walk to main market, then the slave market and the old town and fort.
Stand-out staff, welcoming, good humour, helpful and very responsive, only wish I had the same type of accommodation for my 3 week stay in Dar Es Salaam. Near ferry docks and walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Samuel from Dar-es-Salaam

Our Enyoyable stay at Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
we completely enjoyed our stay. Staff and service were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idéallement situé pour activités

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: La proximité embarcation ferry
Cons: Le restaurant
Hotel idéalement situé: en face embarcation ferry et a proximité des activités Stone town. Personnel accueillant et disponible notamment à l'accueil. Nous avons peut être pas eu de chance, mais ce soir là, restauration catastrophique: long temps d'attente, produits médiocres, voire immangeables....