Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfy and clean

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Not in the most glamorous of locations but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. It is also extremely affordable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel near ferry terminal

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Lovely hotel, great rooftop restaurant, very helpful and kind staff. Organised great Spice Tour. Only downside restaurant does not serve alcohol but 2 places 2 mins down the road do. The Mercuy was right on seafront! Rooms at the front have a better view.
2 out of 5
by 3rdworld from Africa

Disappointing hotel which has so much potential.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: central location, handy for the ferry. beautiful hardwood doors
Cons: Attention to detail
One of our rooms had a constantly backed up toilet. Hotel staff decided to remove it at 10pm. Smell awful. The laundry driers made a noise like a space ship on take off. The staff just turned the lights off in the restaurant at 9:45 pm when they wanted the customers to go home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2014
We are so sorry for this inconvenience we are doing all our best to resolve everything. Thank you for your suggestion and we hope to host you again in Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel so you can maybe appreciate our efforts to give to the guest all that they need.Thank you so much, the Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annette

Nice place, great service

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Zanzibar Palace hotel is located slightly behind the port, a bit odd but actually it turns out to be convenient. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, pointed us in the right direction looking for local amenities, helped us book a spice tour, and helped us trouble shoot when one of our transportation arrangements failed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by The management, Hotel Management
Dear Annette, Thank you very much for your positive review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback, be assured that we take it in account for future improvements. I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you for choosing Zanzibar Grand Palace as your accommodation in Stone Town and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Karibuni tena,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Absolutely beautiful hotel. Great location close to the port and all the main attractions of Stone Town. Stunning air conditioned rooms. Definitely recommend. Excellent service from front reception staff. I even got accompanied to the ferry terminal when I needed to change my tickets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Katie

Very satisfied with our Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
We spent 2 nights at the Grand Palace and were quite satisfied with the service and acommodation. It is an easy walk to the shopping area of Stonetown, the Old Fort, Fordani Gardens and waterfront area. The sidestreets just outside the hotel are dusty, with some ramshackle buildings but safety was not an issue. You just have to get past the appearance. There is a pleasant rooftop restaurant which serves good food at reasonable rates. Overall I would say this hotel offers good value for the rates they charge. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room small, hotel service pretty poor except for breakfast, reception staff not properly trained. Surrounding neighbourhood pretty squalid. Asked to pay a supplement of 25% for a child before going, until I kicked up a fuss.AND WHY WERE WE NOT TOLD THAT NO ALCHOL WAS SERVED IN THE HOTEL, WE COULDN'T EVEN GET A GLASS OF WINE WITH OUR MEAL. HAD TO GO TO THE HOTEL SERENA. OVERALL DISMALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D&M

Good Location

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a very good location to the ferry station and easy walking distance to Mercury restaurant (one of the few places to get a beer), garden and sourvenir row. Hotel staff were very helpful with our ferry tickets and pleasant. Restaurant is on roof top, not impressed with the dinner selection or the food itself. Breakfast was fine. Overall, nice place to stay for one or two nights.