Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2013
What a great hotel. Good food, friendly staff, great location. The best hotel on Zanzibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tedfrom Topsham, Devon, UK

Great service, great location.

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Pros: Watching the locals swimming and playing football on the beach outside the breakfast bar.
Cons: The price.
Fantastic hotel in a wonderful location on the beach in the heart of historic Stonetown. In addition they have a magnificent private beach half a mile North which is worth visiting for the fantastic service, if nothing else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the more lux options in Stone Town

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Cost
Location: Great
If you fancy going a bit more upmarket than backpackery places and have some spare cash, this place is ideal. It was pretty expensive but compared to some other hotels we saw, it was nice. Good location on the seafront and it has a great pool. Ideal for children. Only downside is getting back after dark - single female travellers may want to be more careful, though we had no problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynne2846from Melbourne, Australia

Beauty and Serenity

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Pros: My favourite things were the friendly ambience and staff and the little touches of extra care. Another was the live entertainment most evenings.
Cons: The beds being a little hard, also service at breakfast was sometimes a little slow. (I've had to think hard to come up with least favourite things.)
Location: Position is fabulous. Its on a major access road so very accessable. Proximity to major Stonetown features and views of the sea are fabulous.
The only problem was that the bed was a little hard for me. Otherwise I couldn't fault the Serena. Position is fabulous. Its right in Stonetown with a few minutes walk to all the highlights. Its view over the water, of the constant parade of beautiful dhows and of the sunsets is unbeatable.On a recent trip to South Africa, Kenya and Zanzibar I stayed in 12 different hotels. Nowhere else were the staff so consistently friendly, helpful and efficient. They really seem to be trained to put their guests interests first and make them feel valued. We were asked by managers at least once every day if all was going well and if there was anything else we needed. After commenting that we hadn't had news from Australia for a month, we were presented with copies of Australian news which Mr Charles had gone to great trouble to get for us. The cooking of pancakes poolside every night free to guests was a magnificent bonus. So also was the use of Penhaligan's Blenheim Bouquet toiletries. These extra touches made us feel special and a little pampered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne Kristi

Perfekt beliggenhet, nærhet til både sjø og byen.

Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Vi kom sent til hotellet pga flyforsinkelse. De var veldig opptatt av å opplyse oss om at vi var de siste gjestene.Ellers en vennlig mottakelse med både juice og kalde kluter. Rommet var imidlertid altfor lite.Vi var 3 voksne(innkl tenåringssønn på 180 cm og det hadde jeg oppgitt ved bestilling til Hotels.com. Hovedsengen var gigantisk, men ekstrasengen var en solseng!! Heldigvis har ungdommen godt sovehjerte og det gikk for 2 netter. Ellers var Serena Inn kjempefint. Hyggelig personale, fint basseng og nydelig beliggenhet til sjøen. Maten var grei nok, ingen spesiell opplevelse. Vil absolutt anbefale hotellet selv om det er dyrt, men bestill flere rom dersom dere er mange!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Zanzibar

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent facilities and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alliefrom Miami, FL, USA

Easy to like

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: Location and ocean views spectacular. Welcome bottle of champagne included with fruit basket. The staff very accomodating and helpful with suggestions
Cons: Not very secluded and the beach where it sits on is public access
Location: The hotel is very luxurious and the service amazing. The views of the ocean spectacular. my standard room was a bit small.
staff very friendly. Amazing views of the ocean. location very central in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by D White

I like the Serena Inns.

Posted May 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
This Serena Inn was great. Restaurant was great, room was great, service was great. I have no complaints, execpt Wi Fi was expensive and policy needs to be adjusted. The location in Stone Town is the best. The touring service in the Inn did an excellent job. Big Joe at the front is a character. On my three trips to Africa I have stayed in a few Serena Inns and have never had a complaint with any of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuartfrom Norwich

The best hotel in Stone Town

Posted Apr 15, 2012
A fantastic hotel in which to relax whilst watching the dows go by. Friendly, helpful staff. A great base from which to explore Stone Town.