Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

MORE THAN PERFECT ... SUPER !!!

Posted Dec 1, 2011
Location: A couple of days at Stone Town is highly recommended to experience Zanzibar city town & do some sight seeing. Also, it will be better to do the tours (spice tour, dolphin tour, Jozani forest, prison island ...) while in Stone Town. Then can head North or East Coast for some relaxation & still enjoy beach experience.
Hotel staff were extraordinary in being friendly, cheerful, helpful .. They are all really great & were so willing to do anything to make us comfortable & satisfied. we had an unforgetable experience of Zanizbar cause of this hotel. I think no more proof of the excellence of this hotel other than Prince Charles & his wife Camellia chose it to spend their vacation there. Yes, we were so amazed to see them there on our last day !! Special Thanks to the people there: Charles, Rabeia, Maryam, Suleiman, Denis ... to name a few of the nice staff there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Serena stonetown

Posted Jul 25, 2011
Overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

A charming hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2011
We checked in to the Serena Inn with our son aged 14, our reservation was confirmed for 3 people but the hotel had not accounted for our son. They were extremely polite and made up a very comfortable bed for him in the lounge area of the suite. The staff were charming as was the ambience of the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin Ireland

Serena Hotel Zanzibar

Posted Nov 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
This is a great Hotel with a fantastic management team. We had just arrived back from a successful trek of Kilimanjaro and needed some TLC. We got it in spades! Great rooms, great food and a service to be proud of. I strongly recomment the Serena to anyone who wants to stay in a class hotel in Zanzibar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Planned to go every 2-3 years.

Posted Aug 29, 2010
As given at the beginning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Poor Management

Posted Jun 30, 2010
This is a very nice hotel, in a great location, with a very good staff. Unfortunately, the management is very lacking and appears to have little consideration for guests. While the stay was enjoyable, because of the problems encountered on arrival, and the management's response, we won't stay there again. For the very high cost of the hotel, compared to others in the area, I certainly expected better management attention and response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

This is a first class hotel with exceptional service. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting Z

Posted Jun 28, 2010
Absolutely fantastic hotel - location, rooms, hotel property, restaurant and best of all the staff. Suleiman Kanji and Yusuf Bhaloo gave us the warmest welcome ever and their exceptional service continued throughout our stay. Charles at the front reception was also exceptional as were the staff in the restaurant. This is a first class hotel with exceptional service. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting Zanzibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

The Zanzibar Serena Inn

Posted Jun 24, 2010 on Hotels.com
excellent location on the beach and close to services and restaurants. provides a private and very comfortable atmosphere. staff are respectful and very helpful. an earlier supper hour (in dining room) may be more convenient for those who wish to dine prior to 7:30 pm. suggest that transporation to and from the airport be included with charges.